We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I wanted a non expensive hotel in Cairns within walking distance from the Beach/Town.
So decided after reading the reviews on The Tropical Heritage.
This is where Trip Advisor gives you the advantage.
Everything was just as expected even better thanks to the help of Rosemary and Cynthia.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Just loved the place.
(More than I can say for the Cricket)
Paul, Bristol UK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timemachine-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very appreciative of the many excellent reviews, but we do not rest on our laurels - we always try harder and we are very fortunate to have Rosemary and her fantastic staff who never cease to amaze us with their generosity and time taken to satisfy our guests by going the extra mile.
Rosemary is away on leave until early February 2014, the Tropical Heritage Cairns is being managed by Bruce who continues to maintain good guest relationship in Rosemary's absence.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    192
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
83
246
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great little hotel. The staff were super helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It takes around 10mins to walk in to town which can be a sweaty walk in the middle of the day in summer! I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stallo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very appreciative of the many excellent reviews, but we do not rest on our laurels - we always try harder and we are very fortunate to have Rosemary and her fantastic staff who never cease to amaze us with their generosity and time taken to satisfy our guests by going the extra mile.
Rosemary is away on leave until early February 2014, the Tropical Heritage Cairns is being managed by Bruce who continues to maintain good guest relationship in Rosemary's absence.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at The Heritage. Staff were extremely helpful with all wants and needs including late checkout. Rooms are basic but have everything you need and are clean and quiet. 10-15 minute walk into town. No problems with air conditioning and will definitely book in again for our next stay in cairns.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms were extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very appreciative of the many excellent reviews, but we do not rest on our laurels - we always try harder and we are very fortunate to have Rosemary and her fantastic staff who never cease to amaze us with their generosity and time taken to satisfy our guests by going the extra mile.
Rosemary is away on leave until early February 2014, the Tropical Heritage Cairns is being managed by Bruce who continues to maintain good guest relationship in Rosemary's absence.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida, usa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Tropical Heritage for three nights.The rooms are not glamorous, but more than adequate for a short stay. The bed was comfortable, and the A/C kept the room nice and cool.
Rosemary and the staff were very helpful. We got directions and recommendations for restaurants in the area. You can purchase a do-it-yourself breakfast for a very reasonable price.
For me, the location was perfect. A 10 minute walk from the Esplanade, but far enough away to keep this location quiet, both day and night. We were able to use the internet, which was free to guests at the hotel. Internet speed was OK.
All in all, a really nice stay. I definitely would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very appreciative of the many excellent reviews, but we do not rest on our laurels - we always try harder and we are very fortunate to have Rosemary and her fantastic staff who never cease to amaze us with their generosity and time taken to satisfy our guests by going the extra mile.
Rosemary is away on leave until early February 2014, the Tropical Heritage Cairns is being managed by Bruce who continues to maintain good guest relationship in Rosemary's absence.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A few of us spent Christmas Day at The Heritage and as usual, Rosemary came up trumps.
All Hotel residents received a gift under the tree...
All residents were invited to share Christmas lunch...
Crackers and hats were optional but enjoyed...
Thoughtful and enjoyable for those on holidays away from their family.

That just about sums up The Heritage,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithPortMoresby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
what an extraordinary person, i know of few hotel managers that would cook for the entire guest so they could enjoy a christmas dinner with other guests, this gesture indicates the type of person rosemary is, she did this at her own cost, simply to make guests feel at home and the review is typical of the comments we constantly receive.
rosemary is now on a months leave for a well earned rest with her family in victoria, she will be back in february, in the meantime bruce is carrying on her tradition of make our guests feel at home.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

we picked this place because it was rated so high. when we first got there and into our room, we turned on the AC and it leaked water. they told us to just wait to see if it stops and when it didn't, they moved us to a bigger room (only one available), which was a nice upgrade. but even with the upgrade, there's really not much to rave about at all. location isn't the best, as it is several blocks away from all the good stuff. not ridiculously far, but enough to be a factor/pain when going out and coming back late at night. I would suggest finding a place closer to the esplanade.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finncomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I beg to differ on your opinion stated in your review. if it was "just an average" hotel why so many positive comments and a rating of #6 out of 68 hotels in Cairns. These are the reviews of guests who write of their own free will stating that were totally satisfied. The Tropical Cairns Heritage has never promoted itself as a 5 star international hotel, it is a good quality, clean hotel, well maintained and run by an extraordinary manager and a fantastic staff that have made the Tropical Heritage one of the most sought after hotels in Cairns since we acquired the property in 2011.
The tariff provides excellent value for money. We hope to see you again in the near future
Sir Peter Bartetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for four nights. We arrived after reception had closed but as discussed with Rosemary beforehand, she left us with directions for an easy check-in. The room was large and comfortable. The bed and linen were very good. The bathroom was large and clean. The kitchenette was well equipped. However, the best part about this hotel is the staff who are friendly and helpful. Rosemary is lovely and helped us organise a hire car and gave us advice about our drive up to the Daintree. We loved the thoughtful touches such as refillable jugs of drinking water and the sunscreen, insect repellent and ponchos for use down in the foyer. It's about a fifteen minute walk to the main part of the city or a short $10-$12 taxi to the Reef Fleet Terminal (where lots of boat trips depart from). Free wifi vouchers are provided. I'd happily recommend this hotel and would come back when next in Cairns.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heretoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate your review which is made available to the staff. All comments are taken seriously and we continue to do all possible to provide quality accommodation at an affordable rate in an environment of hospitality. Thank you for your review.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing