We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip Advisor--you misled me!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor--you misled me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this motel based on it being ranked #2 hotel in Cairns (although I see now that it has fallen in its standing). Although the proprietor was nice (even giving us a ride to the marina to catch our ferry), this didn't make up for a number of other deficiencies. Although the room was large and clean, the hallways had a musty odor and the room looked worn and furniture cheap. View was of a tin roof and some other worn down buildings. The location, although quiet, didn't seem as though it was in the best part of town. There were few eating accommodations nearby and the marina appeared to be a hefty hike (possibly 20 minutes). I had thought breakfast was included, but was told it would be an extra $5. We decided to take a pass on this--and I'd suggest taking a pass on this motel unless you can get a very good rate there. Our rate was $155/night, and I'm sure we could have done better for this price elsewhere. I would recommend something closer to the marina, which is much more scenic and has many restaurant choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am not sure where you obtained the #2 rating, the Heritage has rated between #5&#6 for the past 2 years and this can easily be verified by looking up Trip Advisor. We do not profess to be a 4 or 5 star hotel (not a a motel) we rate 3.5 Stars and charge accordingly. You then make rash statements about cheap furniture which is nonsense, the odor in you describe are fairly normal in the tropics and have nothing to do with cleanliness, it is simply humidity.
You may not be aware, we do not rate hotels, it is done through AAA and in the case of Trip Advisor through our guests who continue to rate the Tropical Heritage in Cairns highly and as I said previously consistently.
May I suggest next time you write a review you should check your facts.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    192
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
83
246
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place is very basic. If all you need is a place is a place to sleep this is the place. No frills. But you will be very surprised at the exceptional service they provide. The staff go over and beyond doing what they can to make your stay comfortable and hospitable. And they are not fake about it. They are truly genuine about helping you with directions, advice, booking a tour, towels for a reef tour, etc. They know all they tricks of the town and went out of their way to help a couple of foreigners. The price was just right but the memory of being treated heavenly was priceless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Cairns Heritage and in Cairns, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night before boarding a live aboard dive boat. The staff could not have been nicer. They loaned us the towels needed for the boat even though we were not returning there after the dive trip (yes, we did return the towels!)
We booked two studios online and the staff contacted us to revise the booking to a suite with a connecting studio. Same price and more space. Very thoughtful.
They also suggested we eat at the RSL Club on the Esplanade - cheap eats in an otherwise pricey place.
The location is an easy walk to the Esplanade and town.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Heritage. Rosemary does go out of her way to provide the best service possible and this reflects in the consistently good reviews. Hope to see you in the future
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the harbor. The front desk was exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My only complaint was the breakfasts which were very bad. There were plenty of good breakfast places five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil4947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you're looking for a high class, pricey, hotel, this is not the one to choose.
If you're looking for a very friendly, charming, convenient, and "mom's apple pie" type hotel, this is it.
We were very happy with the personal attention of the staff, the helpfulness, and the friendliness of the staff. It was more of a Bed & Breakfast type stay, versus a hotel.
The general Manager even gave us a free ride to our Great Barrier Reef tour on the morning of our tour.
Sometimes, you just want to see more of the personal side of a city when you're traveling and on vacation, and the Tropical Heritage staff added that touch

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, as you say, we are not the high price hotels, but we do try to give our guests a "local" experience and ensure that they remember Cairns positively.
hopefully you may return some day and we can look after you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is only a ten minute walk to the boardwalk/esplanade... Quietly located, which is a bonus since central Cairns can be quite busy/noisy. It is clean, and well run.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess - Rosemary? - who took us in her car to our various pick-up points. Thank you. Conclusion - Try it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to provide the best in service and value , and whilst we are not on the Esplanade, as you say we have a quiet location , close to everything, plus you can get a good sleep.
we are glad you enjoyed Cairns, hopefully you will return one day.
Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the boardwalk and only ten mins from the airport. Good value in comparison to other hotels in the area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. They catered very well for my wife's gluten free diet at breakfast which is a standard breakfast if cereals, fruit etc.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwenThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased rosemary again has been of assistance with special gluten free breakfast for your wife and look forward to you visiting Cairns again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing