We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific, friendly and affordable place to stay in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2009

I am a regular visitor to Cairns on business. The Heritage is always well maintained, offers friendly service, has spaceous rooms which are very clean. Ann, Stuart and their family make you feel very welcome. It's my choice of accommodation in Cairns. Try it, you won't be sorry!
Thanks Anne & Stuart

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2009

Reviews of this hotel are accurate - very nice rooms, clean, large. The location is a few blocks off the main strip but very walkable. It is a family run business and the desk staff are very helpful. They are a bit judgmental if you choose to go with tour companies that they didn't recommend, but they do seem to have good recommendations. If you don't mind someone with strong opinions arranging for your entertainment I'd suggest reaching out to them before you arrive for help.

One amenity I would have liked is free wireless. There is 1 computer that is free to use in a common room, and an ethernet cable you can connect to down there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnzerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We came for day and stayed a week! Location is quiet and yet only 5-10 minutes stroll to the Esplanade and Cairns centres. The hotel is modern and well furnished with all facilities necessary for a base - including free fast internet that worked. No restaurant but self-help breakfast ingredients provided and so many good restaurants nearby. The manager, Stuart, and desk staff offered advice, arranged tours and searched out hotels for trips away. This is a jewel in the Golden Chain marketing group and probably the best mid-range hotel we have stayed at over 5 months travelling around Australia. Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in early October. We were travelling on a family holiday with our 2 year old and 9mth old. The family running this place could not do enough to help us out and make our stay comfortable. From lending us their own grandchilds highchair, to driving us to the airport (free of charge).
The family suite was great as we could put the kids in one room and have the main area to ourselves. The hotel is only a couple of blocks back from the esplanade and a FANTASTIC childrens playground. Bit of a hike in to town (10 - 15 min) but good exercise.
All in all, very good value for money. Very clean and well run.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed here for three nights and loved it so much we came back for an extra night later in our trip - we wouldn't look anywhere else in Cairns.

From the outset we were welcomed so warmly by Stewart and Anne who did everything they could to make our stay easy and relaxing and made sure we got the best out of our trip. They recommended the best day out on the reef and booked this for us, arranged airport transfers, arranged car hire and offered us towels and bags to take out for the day all at no extra charge.

The rooms are clean and a decent size all with air con, a fridge, a comfy bed and a really good and powerful shower! There is also a pool, free parking, guest laundry, kitchen, BBQ, computer with free printer and internet. The hotel is only a 2 minute walk to The Esplanade and a few blocks into the town centre. The main reason to stay here though is the exceptionally friendly service you'll get - worthy of all the great reviews on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The Heritage Cairns is located 10 mins away from the airport by taxi and just 3-4 blocks away from the center of town. We originally decided to stay at this hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and also because it was reasonably priced compared to the Shangri-La and Hilton.

Right from the moment, we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owners of the hotel at the reception who immediately booked us on the best tour to the Great Barrier reef. They also provided us with some very helpful travel advice which allowed us to save a few more dollars. Even though the room furnishings were basic, it was extremely clean and came equipped with the necessities (A/C, mini-fridge, TV, etc.). All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Inn and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Finding a hotel/motel room for a family of 5 presents its challenges, however, The Heritage Cairns more than met our needs. The "family suite" that we booked was huge, with a room with a King Size bed for my wife and I, another room with 2 beds for our daughters, and a living room with a couch where our son slept. We stayed for 6 nights and having so much space made our stay all the more comfortable. The man at the front desk, Stuart, always went out of his way to meet our needs and to make us feel at home. I used the BBQ facilities on 3 nights, and just when I was trying to work out how to get thing going another of the Heritage team was on hand to give assistance.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 64 in Cairns
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing