We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We spent a week at Heritage Cairns in July 2010. And with great success. The hotel is a small family run hotel with a hotel innkeeper Stuart and family. It is probably one of the best hotels we have stayed at and I will gladly recommend it to everyone.

Kind regards
Allan Schlundt

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlundt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

We found the Heritage in the Golden Chain directory. We had no reservations and when we arrived at 6pm on a Friday night the only standard room left was a twin. We were looking pretty dishevelled after a 350km trip from Undara and only wanted to stay one night, but the lovely owners upgraded us to an Executive suite for a discounted price. It was a great room, very clean and well maintained - heavenly compared to some of the accomodation we stayed in during our travels in FNQ.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We were in Cairns for 3 days (June 30-July 03, 2010), and we chose to stay at the Heritage Cairns after reading the positive reviews at Tripadvisor. It is a nice motel-clean, spacious, great staff, and good location. Stuart and Ann were really nice, helpful, and warm. We also loved Ruby and Friday (two wonderful pet poodles-Ruby was especially friendly and charming, and she loved to pose for the cameras)! We had some hiccups with a tour company-they charged us extra for the Kuranda Scenic tour. However, our thanks to Stuart and Ann, they resolved the issue very efficiently. We would recommend this motel to anyone visiting Cairns. It is value for money, but the best part is the wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Really loved it, great location, spacious room (with jacuzzi and balcony), friendly and nice owners.

And thanks a lot for keeping our jackets, which we forgot into our room and came back later to retrieve :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I stayed at the Heritage in April and had an excellent stay. Stuart and Ann were very helpfull and made great recommendation on trips etc. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The location is only about 5mins walk from the centre of town and a few mins to the esplanade. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed at Heritage Cairns for 5 nights. My room was quite big. I had a private room ], a living room/bedroom and small kitchen which was quite handy. The hotel is no frills and reasonably clean. Hosts were nice but the women who serviced the rooms were really noise, disruptive, did not make my bed for the whole time I was there and seemed to just replace tea, coffee and towels everyday.

Rooms get a lot of noise from the corridor, from the rooms above and from the next door church which hosts functions, dance classes ( I woke up on Sunday at 8:00 with someone practicing the piano!!!) and the sounds of bells.

The hotel is at the far left end of the beachfront, where you find restaurants, bars, shops.

But be aware that you will have to walk to get to restaurants, banks, shops and depending on the season it can be a nuisance.According to the hotel owner during the "wet"( rainy season) walking for ten minutes under the rain can be a challenge!!!

But overall I could not find any explanation why this hotel is so well ranked. There are literally hundreds of Motor Lodge type of accommodation in Cairns and my suggestion is, shop around, I am sure there are better options for the same price.

I would not go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lichenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage9, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Sorry you found your stay with us noisy. Our houskeeping staff have been with us for many years and start work at 8 am each morning. They are very concious of noise when they start so I am not sure what has happened here?

We are located next door from the Primary Anglican Church in Cairns and around the corner from the Catholic Cathedral. Both call ther parishioners to worship with a church bell on Sunday mornings. We completly understand this can be a nuisance to our guests however the law exempts a church from Sunday morning call to worship via a church bell. The piano is used by the large congregation who worship at the church.

We are also frequently amazed at the satisfaction level expressed by our guest on Trip Advisors except to say we try hard as a family business to meet our guest expectations. We often have guests who are noise sensative and if they convey this to us when booking or on arrival or during their stay we will do everything possible to locate them in a quiet area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The hotel isn't very fancy, but the rooms are clean and decent. It was a far better room/hotel than I was expecting for that price!

The owners were extremely knowledgeable and helpful as we figured out what we wanted to see in the area after we finished diving.

Note that you have to walk a few blocks to get to the ocean and more blocks after that to get to the heart of the town and nightlife. It wasn't bad, but just know that you aren't downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tttravelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage9, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

A previous reviewer stated "cheap but there are problems" June 28 2010. Yes we are economy (cheap) priced but No we are not located "down town" If we were we are sure that previous reviewer would have had no sleep at all because Cairns Central BusinessDistrict (CBD) has a very busy night life which can go until five in the morning. Regards our location as a 64-year old I can walk to the Esplanade in 2/3 minutes & to the CBD in 8/10 minutes. CBD taxi cost is about $5 and we happily call them for no charge. We are in a quiet street but we do have a church next door which can disturb some guests on a Sunday morning when it rings its bell for about 30 seconds on a Sunday morning around 8 am

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing