We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed here a few days ago and were quite pleased with the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very large and the location was good. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily4112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    199
    52
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
252
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. arrived early dropped off bags and went for a walk as our room was not ready (we new this, because we were early, no problems).
collected room key. bed was made up as king. had asked for twin when booked over the phone. reception staff went out of their way to find us another room. she checked on the other floors but said our original room was in a better location, so she called housekeeping and had them change the king into a twin (the king was just 2 beds pushed together anyway). we also booked a couple of tours with them. overall very pleased we choose to stay at this hotel. good for the price also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Spent three nights. Only 20 minutes from airport ($20 taxi) and 20 minutes walk from main shopping/entertainment area. Just far enough away from all the crowds and noise. Staff was very helpful/friendly. They can book most attractions and arrange for pickup. Had opportunity to talk to about a dozen other travelers in Cairns and compared notes -- all thought Heritage was the better deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This was a great place to stay with it's good location, clean rooms but
mostly because of the very helpful staff. Marianne & Cynthia at the reception desk gave us wonderful advice regarding a GBR trip and told us what seasickness medicine to get. That advice made our trip so enjoyable because while we were enjoying Reef Magic, the majority on the cruise were seasick.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulMo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Great rooms (Could be better but for price it is excellent)
Reasonable price
Extremely quiet
Short walk to the beach and shops
The manager (owner) knows the local shops&restaurants
Service Staff really polite (they knock and ask if you want to be serviced if you're in the room)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VuN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is a good, family owned hotel, great budget accommodation. It is located in Cairns, a very small town north of Sydney. This town is the starting point for reef and rain forest tours. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the boardwalk, and just a few blocks away from downtown. The establishment accommodations are simple but provide all services expected from a hotel. You cant go wrong for its price.

The owners are very flexible and willing to provide as much help as possible. On our way to Cairns our flight was delayed by a day due to mechanical problems, the hotel management helped us modify our itinerary to shorten our stay in cairns. When we finally got there they were very helpful, providing us with dinning and tour recommendations. On our final day at the hotel, we had some scheduling conflicts with one of the tours, the hotel managers worked everything out with the tour company and they even drove us one hour outside Cairns to the Kuranga National park, for no additional charge.

If you are traveling on a budget and want friendly service, this is the place to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed here en route to Papua New Guinea, arriving at midnight. The manager not only stayed up to welcome us but also made certain that we did not miss our transportation to the airport at 4 am. Stayed here again on the way back from PNG and we had the same welcome, making sure that conditions at the GBR were suitable for a trip. Fortunately, Ann advised us against it as it was stormy and found a different tour for us...a great saving as others who disregarded the conditions said that the trip to the Reef hd been a nightmare. The hotel is now under new management but the new manager was also very friendly and even offered to drive us into town as it was raining. A great find - welcoming, friendly, and comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolanog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing