We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay”
Review of The Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Cairns
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nice rooms, great location. We stayed here for a few nights at a time while travelling around Queensland, and were never here for more than a couple of nights at once, which was just right. While there's plenty to do within walking distance, the hotel itself is a bit basic and there's not much to do.
Staff are polite enough, but at times didn't seem as helpful as they could have been. One morning, our water was turned off at about 9:30am; when we told reception about this they didn't know about it and asked the maintenance man, who told us (without any apology) that the water had been turned off because he was doing maintenance work. Whilst this is understandable, it would have been nice to have had some notice (even if only ten minutes!) so we could have quickly showered or brushed our teeth beforehand.
Breakfasts are good but quite expensive if you have a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    152
    119
    51
    32
See reviews for
49
255
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Coming to Cairns for business a great option from normal corporate style hotels

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is more a 3 stars hotel not a real 4 stars, is a bit old and needs some refurbish but at the same time the restaurant is a top class restaurant ! Excellent food and exelent service ! We been there a lot of time with the local deal in the past 3 years and before was really ordinary nothing special now since they changed the management they going better and better think the manager did a great job but the only think we don't like is the bartender too unprofessional and rude . At reception depend who is working, some time you can have great service some time they can be rude and careless !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieCairns1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked The Hotel Cairns because the traditional old queenslander style of its exterior appealed to us. It is in a good location, slightly away from the madness but a short walk to the esplanade and main shopping area. We stayed in a plantation room on the second floor with a pleasant view of a slice of the Coral Sea. The rooms were clean although the bathrooms could do with an upgrade as could the internal corridors leading to the rooms. The service from reception is good and the breakfast is fine. Could possibiliy get better value for money at some of the newer hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussybutFair44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Any longer than 1 or 2 nights here would be to much. It is just ok. It is definitely older than other hotels in Cairns that we saw and could do with some improvements to the rooms. It has a lived in feel,which is ok but above average room rates I would have expected more. You also have to pay for breakfast which should really be included in the overnight price. It was a good choice of food though so didn't mind paying for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missymelb151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

From the outside this looks like an ok place. A bit dated with a colonial look but I never try to judge a book by it's cover. My wife and I arrived on the morning flight from Sydney and took a cab to The Hotel. Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk was on the telephone. I stood back and waited. For the duration of her almost 10 minute conversation (in Chinese) she tired once to ask my name. I gave it but she did not understand English well enough to get the point and (while still on the phone) had me write it on a piece of paper. After finishing her conversation she finally checked us in and gave us our room key.

This was the way we were to be treated by the front desk staff for the remainder of our two night stay in Cairns. The first morning I went downstairs to ask where a close place to get a cup of coffee for my wife and the girl on duty pointed out the front door and said "down the street" to "the main strip". I was asking for a recommendation, not directions. Also, when I called down later in the evening to book one of the complimentary Smart Cars the Hotel offers, they told me I needed to come down to the front desk for this. Ok. I went down and the same person I just talked to simply handed me the car sign in book and had me sign my name and room number.

I just seemed like every time we interacted with the staff they were too busy with tour group operators to deal with guests. The room had a nice balcony and was a good space, located within a short walk of most of the attractions in Cairns. But there are plenty of places to stay in town to put up with unhelpful, if not outright rude, staff. Especially considering we paid nearly $250 USD per night for one of the top level suites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EarlyElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel has a lot of character. It's a little older but is well maintained and has a comfortable feel to it. The restaurant is TOP NOTCH. The food is excellent and the service is very good. The breakfast buffet is the usual, but better than most. A must do when in Cairns. It's convenient to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasbella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Cairns

Property: The Hotel Cairns
Address: Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cairns, with its impeccably private and tropical ambience, is a 4 star resort hotel superbly positioned in the central business district of Cairns, one block from the famous Esplanade. Its architectural profile and exterior facade is one of the most beautiful examples of Queenslander heritage style, and is a popular talking point among many of the hotel’s visitors and guests. The hotel has undergone a complete remodeling and refurbishment to emerge as the classic accommodation of choice in Tropical North Queensland. Privately owned and operated by an Australian family, the Bakers, The Hotel Cairns is popular with international and domestic visitors and locals from the Cairns hinterland who appreciate quality and attention to detail. Set back from the street and well shaded by tropical trees and plants, The Hotel Cairns features a tour booking desk, a sparkling blue outdoor pool and spa, a modern, state of the art cardio gymnasium, a choice of function rooms, an onsite car park and a welcoming indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Plantation Bar & Grill. The Hotel Cairns is conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the Airport, and an easy 5 minutes walking distance to shops and eateries in Cairns’ CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing