We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of their $100 special deal”
Review of The Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Cairns
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beware of their $100 special deal”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel has a well-known special offer. If you spend $100 or more in the restaurant you get one night's accommodation thrown in for free. Here's the trap.
1. In order to take advantage of the offer you need to upgrade to a more expensive room. No matter when you plan to stay the basic room will not be available
2. The prices in the restaurant and what you get for the price will ensure that you spend way over $100 just to not leave hungry
3. The food was VERY unimpressive. You have to cook your own meat/fish AND vegetables on a small hot plate. Consequently the vegetables do not cook, and the meat just keeps cooking, not until it's ready but until you eat it.
You can do much better for what you will end up spending. I don't mind what i paid, i just felt ripped off, which i really don't like.

Room Tip: The room choice is not the problem, it is the 'special deal' that is the problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    147
    115
    47
    29
See reviews for
44
248
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Conveniently located close to the CBD, The Hotel Cairns is reasonably priced, has comfortable rooms and a really good restaurant at a good price. They also offer a huge breakfast buffet.
This is my first choice when staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan7005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times a year for the past 14 years. Since the new owners took over some time ago now I have seen this premise improve each visit until recently. I called to ask the best price for a two night stay and was told $100 per night, I did think this was a very good price and one I hadn't been offered in the past. I checked in and found the man was uninterested and not very welcoming (this hotel never has records showing previous stays so its as if you have never visited before), I was surprised as I had seen him there most visits in the past. My first nights sleep was disrupted several times by a large tour group, when I went to reception looking for a iron which was annoying I was told basically to bad that's what you get when you pay for a cheaper room not on the 4th floor. when I checked out I was charged $250 not $200 as quoted. The girl was apologetic and explained the man Warwick who checked me in had set the price at $125 per night and there was nothing she could do about it besides give me Warwicks business card. I asked for someone to call with the hope I would get a $50 refund. No one called so I sent a email to Warwick and have had no response. My advice is get your quoted price in writing and stay on the 4th floor where it's quieter.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower if you don't want large tour groups waking you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Kapaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great small hotel. Provided SMART CAR for a small fee on $45.00 for 24 hours. Rooms were
clean airy and attractive. Breakfast packages are available. Close to downtown, but far enough so no noise. Service was good. Luggage storage provided for late departures. WiFi very strong and reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels with private veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAIRNS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A hidden gem in the heart of Cairns. I am local and took 3 of my friends and their families to stay there and we all had a great time. We had family rooms which were lovely, clean and comfortable. The staff placed us all next door to each other and there was a large outdoor area just next door to our rooms where we could all meet for a drink and nibbles. We paid $145 for a family room which included a hot breakfast for up to 4 people. My friends who were all from out of town were impressed and everything was within walking distance. The shops, the movie theatre, the restaurants, the liquor shop (very important, ha ha). The staff were also lovely and 1 guy in particular liked to have a joke. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We took advantage of the "spend 100.00 on dinner and stay free" deal. Found the staff very helpful, and the rooms nicely done, although old and could have been cleaned better. The waitstaff at the restaurant were awesome, and it was lovely sitting out in the garden with twinkling lights in the trees. We didn't feel rushed at all, and the main came with soup (pumpkin)and dessert (trio of sorbet - awesome!). The house wine was very good, if a little pricey for a glass at 9.00. I had steak and prawns and my husband had the seafood mixture. He found it a little fiddly to cook, but I felt it was the best steak I had ever had in my life.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

we got a great deal whereby if you spent $100 at the restaurant you got your room free! room was nice, clean, everything you need in center of town. the restaurant was nice, not much choice but good quality food, all hot rocks menu (they bring out the rock, you cook the food). nice wine list and helpful staff. reception staff were a bit patchy in terms of service, but for the most part ok. it seemed in both the restaurant and reception they were short staffed, but did their best. if you get a chance try an espresso martini from the bar...you will be bouncing off the walls!!! not a quiet hotel, so if you want a really good sleep go elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tactnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Cairns

Property: The Hotel Cairns
Address: Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cairns, with its impeccably private and tropical ambience, is a 4 star resort hotel superbly positioned in the central business district of Cairns, one block from the famous Esplanade. Its architectural profile and exterior facade is one of the most beautiful examples of Queenslander heritage style, and is a popular talking point among many of the hotel’s visitors and guests. The hotel has undergone a complete remodeling and refurbishment to emerge as the classic accommodation of choice in Tropical North Queensland. Privately owned and operated by an Australian family, the Bakers, The Hotel Cairns is popular with international and domestic visitors and locals from the Cairns hinterland who appreciate quality and attention to detail. Set back from the street and well shaded by tropical trees and plants, The Hotel Cairns features a tour booking desk, a sparkling blue outdoor pool and spa, a modern, state of the art cardio gymnasium, a choice of function rooms, an onsite car park and a welcoming indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Plantation Bar & Grill. The Hotel Cairns is conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the Airport, and an easy 5 minutes walking distance to shops and eateries in Cairns’ CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing