We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterfront Terraces
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great place and facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2007

It was absolutly lovely to stay Waterfront Terraces. My mother who come from Japan arrived early morning, (who does not speak English) and they let her in the room at 6am already. It was so helpful for her as she doesn't speak English, (owner speaks Japanese), and can check in early.

We arrived later evening but the owner came to check make sure everything is fine. The room is clean, kitchen is fine (although they might need new fry pan), other than that, everything you need is in the room.

The swimming pool is comfortable and clean. BBQ facility is clean.

Nothing to say anymore...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    23
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
49
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2006

My husband and I stayed here in November 2006. We found this place in one of the Lonely planet books. It is an apartment style hotel. We stayed a one bedroom apartment. It was spacious and clean. The kitchen had everything that was necessary to prepare simple meals and there was a barbeque near the pool that you could use. This facility is owned by a lovely couple who were very helpful and friendly. They will give you advice about excursions and help you book them. We opted to not have maid service since we were only there for 5 days but we did you the laundry facilities in the apartment (this was handy). We recommend several day trips: Passions of Paradise for diving/snorkelling the reef, Frankland Islands for a more personal trip to a beautiful beach. Port Douglas, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation are easily accessible if you rent a car and you can explore more this way rather than on a tour. It is definately somewhere would I would stay again.

  • Liked — Small place with few rooms/very personalized
  • Disliked — The center of town is a 15-20 walk
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dstinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

We stayed for 5 nights at the Waterfront Terraces in May 2005 and was not disappointed at all. After much searching through brochures for hotels in Cairns, Waterfront Terraces caught our eye for being luxurious but homely. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Very helpful in arranging transfer transport to Cape Tribulation, our next port of call, which took the hassle off us. Accomodation was spotless and had everything you needed, including a dish washer! The view from our balcony was very tropical and the wildlife wonderful. Would definately recommend staying there and we would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2005

The Waterfront Terraces is a terrific place to stay and is a real home from home. We stayed there for 4 nights in Feb '05 and had a wonderful time. Unfortunately the taxi took us to the back of the property which belies the internal quality of the apartments at first. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 adults which had plenty of space and privacy. The bedrooms were comfortable with ample space. The kitchenette was well fitted out with all appliances (inc dishwasher!). The lounge was comfortable, leading out to a balcony which overlooked the sea. Other facilities included a small pool and BBQ area. The staff were particularly helpful and gave good advice regarding trips etc. The main centre of Cairns was a little walk away (15 mins?) but taxis were plentiful and reasonably priced. Definetly recommended.

Helpful?
7 Thank sisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Property: Waterfront Terraces
Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing