We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place to stay opposite water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Terraces
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet place to stay opposite water”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a lovely place to stay opposite the water in Cairns. There is a bike path and walking path along the water into the city centre of 2 kms. It is a lovely scenic walk and most enjoyable. The accommodation includes 2 sofas and a good sized TV, dishwasher and fridge. It is lovely to have a terrace with a table and chairs too. There is plenty of room with a separate kitchen area. A very relaxing place to have a stay for our couple of weeks at Easter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    25
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
51
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
GA!
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Nice view over Esplanade with scenic walk into town. Nice pool area. Spacious apartment. Smooth check in and out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfTheRoad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in a 2Bd unit in February 2012. The unit was clean and had a beautiful view. The pool was well-maintained, and the location was great..not too far out of town, but far enough to be peaceful. The owner was great to work with. He booked 2 excursions for us - to the Rainforest and the Reef - and they were both excellent. (He even loaned us his hat for one of them!) In addition, I had some problems with allergies or sinus and we thought it might be aggravated by something in the unit. He allowed us to use another unit to sleep at no additional charge to see if it improved my allergies. (later found out I had a sinus infection). We travel a lot and are happy to recommend this unit. It is not as luxurious as a Marriott timeshare (which is where we usually stay around the world), but it was very pleasant and we would return. Don't miss the Reef Magic Snorkel Experience!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor..views were excellent from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyM264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in January, with my family. The apartment was spacious, clean and very well equipped. A little out of town, but a very pleasant meander along the esplanade for our evening meals. The pool was very good and we used it every day. Close to the bottle shop for our chilled wine to drink on the balcony. There was also a local supermarket. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable, and even gave us a lift into town. Would definitely stay there again, and my daughter says she would go there next time she went diving in Cairns.

Room Tip: we were in 21, a 2 bed apartment, but all apartments have sea views, and there was no noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed 5 nights in 2010 in a 1 br self contained apartment which was comfy and fairly well appointed.The view from the verandah over the Esplanade was nice for breakfast,and the location was a long walk into the centre of town,but pleasant along the very nice esplanade.
Our only contact with management was checking in and out so we couldn't say we encountered the 'friendly service'. The only real complaint we had was being awoken on 2 mornings by the guests upstairs dragging their suitcases across the floor at 5:30am, and as other reviewers have noted,the kitchen was lacking enough utensils,and overall it could have benefited from a good spring clean,basically an "attention to detail" thing.

Room Tip: To floor if u want 2 bedrooms and better view,1st floor are 1 bedrooms,and ground floor has direct p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Staff are great and good facilities. About 25 minutes walk to town or less by taxi. We enjoyed lazing around at the swimming pool and relax. However, it's more for families than for couples, but nothing to complain about. Would go again.

Room Tip: Away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A very nicely run place, with friendly staff and good self-catering facilities, with a nice clean swimming pool. It's about a 20 minute walk into town, or a 5 minute taxi ride. My only criticism is that they could do with replenishing the kitchen utensils and providing a few storage containers - I don't really want to have to keep cereal in the fridge, but there isn't much other option...but I would definitely stay here again if I was up in Cairns.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 64 in Cairns
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Property: Waterfront Terraces
Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing