We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Terraces
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed at Waterfront Terraces in Cairns for 8 nights - late July/early August 2010. The room was exactly as depicted on their website, no disappointment there. It was very clean and had everything we needed, even dishwashing powder for the diswasher! The service was excellent, nothing too much trouble for our lovely hosts. Books and magazines to borrow (at no cost) was a welcome bonus. The pool and grounds were clean and well maintained. A 10-15 minute walk along the beautiful Esplanade was both enjoyable and good exercise, much better to be in a peacful location. A wonderful place to stay, wonderful staff - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuffafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    25
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
51
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have visited Cairns on a number of occassions and always choose self catering accomodation, Waterfront Terraces to me represented great value for money.

Located directly across from the Esplanade, enjoying a cup of coffee on the private balcony overlooking the palm fringed pool (beautiful tropicl gardens!) and the sea is an excercise in tranquility in itself. All of the balconies/patios are extremely private and surrounded by lush tropical planting of palms and orchids.

A huge flatscreen tv (and complimetary in room dvd player) were perfect for those odd days of rain, and the delightful management have a huge selection of books and dvds for you to use.

The kitchen was very well stocked for a holiday apartment, coffee plunger, and a huge variety of pots/pans/glassed etc and every kitchen implement you could possibly need. There is even a BBQ (free) and outdoor dining area next to the pool. Because this is a boutique resort (is small) there was never any waiting timetouse these facilities which was great.

Plantation shutters on the patio doors are a lovely touch as is the deep deep bath (bliss!).

Management were fabulous and friendly, extremely knowledgebal about the area and which excursions to tackle ( they will book this for free) and even order youup a massage if the need arises.

My flight arrived very early in the morning (cheap tickets!!!) and they graciouslu allowed me to check in at 10.30 at no extra charge.

I would highly reccommend anyone visitng Cairns to stay here ( a beautiful 10 min walk along the esplanade into town but away rom all the noisy backpackers).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed in a 2 brm apartment with 3 adults and 2 children (3yrs and 7 months) and it really felt like a home away from home. Water, park and pool views from the balcony! Unlike other places, the pool is heated so you can swim at night! Caretaker and family extremely helpful - thoroughly recommend this place and we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

These are a great set of holiday apartments night on the north edge of cairns. It is a small place (20 or so total units) with an owner that is very accomidating and helpful. They will book all of the travel desintation and trips right from the front office (great barrier reef, skyrail, etc...). Positives included a CLEAN BBQ that for guest use, wireless internet (for a fee) as well as a bottle store next door and seafood/grocery stores close-by. Overall it is a great little place to stay if you want an apartment environment instead of a typical hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We (family of four adults)stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the Waterfront Terraces for a week. Two bedroom apartments are on the second floor (which is the third floor in the US) and there is no elevator lift) so be forewarned. Andrew who operates the Terrace hurried right out to help get the ladies bags up the stairs, and repeated the favor when we left.The apartment was very clean, and well furnished, with a wonderful small balconey overlooking the esplanade. The kitchen had enough pots and pans, and other necessities to make it easy to make breakfast and dinner (the BBQ in the pool area was also great - and kept very clean by the staff.)

Andrew could not have been more helpful and knowledgeable for the duration of our stay. He arranged a great rental car for the week, tours to the reef taking into account the forecasted weather conditions so that we could make the most of our trip despite visiting during the low season. He also arranged our trip to the Aborigine Culture Center.

If you are going to Cairns, a self-servicing apart like this is a great way to go. Food and drink in Cairns are very expensive by American standards (A$10.50 for breakfast plus A$4 for a cup of coffee and dinners in the A$35-A$40 range when you include a drink, but not tip). The shopping mall, a good walk or easy drive from the Terrace has two grocery stores where you can get everything you need, and on the right day the farmer's market about two blocks away has a wealth of fresh fruits and vegetables.

Internet is not included in the rental (as we found in every place we stayed in Australia and New Zealand). The cost for unlimited wireless services was US$31 for the week.

when we return to Cairns, we will definitely be staying at this lovely establishment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed in 1 bedroom apartment (Apartment 1) for 5 nights.
Positives - great location, 15 min leisurely walk to centre of town. Quiet street. Lovely setting - pool and BBQ area at the opposite side of the property so no pool noise, lovely garden in front of the apartment to sit and watch the world go by (the plant could do with water and dead leaves removed). The room was modern and tastefully decorated, the linen crisp and the bed very comfortable. Ample space and storage for 2 people. Great big TV/DVD in the lounge. Fans and air con worked fine. Wireless internet available (I bought 48 hours for around $30.00).
Negatives - Overall the apartment needs a facelift. The once shiny new appliances look a little worse for wear, on the outside at least. We didn't use the Smeg dishwasher so can't comment on working condition but the fridge was missing a shelf in the door which limited its storage capability (we had a lot of food and drink). Replacing the old cupboard handles in the bathroom would really improve the look. The panel in the bathroom ceiling was water damaged and hanging down (probably due a leak at somepoint as the door was also slightly water damaged along the base). We couldn't use the TV in the bedroom as the picture quality was very poor (maybe interferance from the aircon or fans upstairs). The left bedside light had a faulty switch (kept turning off and on). I had to buy a salad bowl and the knives were blunt.
The negatives are all minor issues but certainly impacted on our overall experience.
All in all, this apartment was excellent value at $85.00 per night and the 4.5 star rating is appropriate given the facilities. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiouslyrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Great location on the Esplanade and a very nice apartment. As long as you don't mind stairs, this is a great place!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#31 of 64 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Property: Waterfront Terraces
Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing