We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$360
US$192
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
66
36
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
36
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp kitchencaravan parkpowered siteshort walk to lakebarron gorgegreat parksausage sizzlemilitary museumhuge sitevan parkskuranda sky railquiet parkcrystal cascadesensuite sitestayed a couple of nightsclean amenitieskitchen area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice spot to camp with our new camper-van and we found it. We had to arrive late one night and it was no problem. The amenities they provide here are excellent. Clean washrooms and showers, washers/dryers/ clothes lines, a nice pool, and a top notch barbecue/kitchen area! We were only going to stay the one night but booked another just so we could cook another nice dinner for ourselves. They also have little cabins to stay in that look nice as well. Would definitely stay again! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sachaslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello Sachaslh, Thank you for your review of our park, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. All the best with your future travels and hopefully we will see you back in Cairns one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rules of this park are that your dog has to do its 'business' outside of the park grounds which is not always possible so if you can't abide by these rules do yourself a favour and go to a true pet friendly park. To be bailed up by the manager and berated for my dog not following these rules was not only humiliating but totally unneccesary. I always pick up after my dog and was doing just that at the time he approached me. The amenities are old and tired looking, toilets are clean but the showers could do with a good scrub. The sites are very tight and often a tractor is needed to get your van on-site because it is impossible to reverse on-site in many cases. The grounds are immaculate and a credit to the staff. For the exhorbitant prices charged it should have been a perfect stay, but management clearly need to learn the 'customer service' ropes to gain repeat business and to keep the campers happy who are currently talking about not returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our park. We ask all our guests who travel with their pets to be considerate of other guests in the park and not allow their dog to "do their business" on other guests campsites. Our guests who are pitching tents and sleeping in swags definitely do not appreciate left over "dog business" on their campsites. With regards to our tractor it is a service we provide for our guests and to date everyone has been extremely happy to have assistance when placing their vans onsite. Many of our guests return every year and travel many kilometres to get here and they appreciate the service. Our rates are listed on our website and June - August is our peak season. The amenities blocks are cleaned every day and checked again each afternoon. Our friendly cleaning staff would have been more than happy to rectify any problems within the showers if they had been made aware of your concerns. Our reception is open everyday from 8am to 6pm and we wish that you had come to us with all of your concerns so that we could have addressed each one directly with you. We want our guests to enjoy their stay and we strive to present a clean and tidy park with gardens and grass areas that everyone can enjoy. We hope you travel safe and find a location that suits your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We are caravanning with 2 dogs and this place ticks most boxes. Green grass, shade, concrete slabs, tele connections, clean but dated ammens. Owners are friendly and helpful. Lovely walking paths and tracks to exercise dogs.
However sandflies were very friendly and dump points are not well placed. We would stay here again if visiting cairns as shopping is close and you are out of the hustle and bustle of city folk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hello RayF,

Thank you for your review of our park. It is a lovely slice of paradise and as you have mentioned close enough to a major shopping centre. Since taking over last October we have been planning changes and upgrades to the park. The amenities are to be renovated once the high season has ended and we are currently upgrading other areas of the park including dump points, roads, reception, shop etc. We hope that you will return next time your travels bring you back to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not really big dog friendly I was travelling from Sydney to Weipa and stayed here unfortunately just as Cyclone Ita decided to come through we were booked for two nights but needed to beat the cyclone so only stayed one night, so didn't get to see the place to have much of an opinion. Make sure if you take dogs you have dog runs with you as there is no where to put your dogs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our park, all our pet friendly cabins have a large undercover deck area for pets so it is unclear as to why there was no room for your dogs. In consideration of the weather at that time we were advising our guests that their pets should not be left unattended as they may experience anxiety and stress. Due to the approaching cyclone and for the safety of our staff and guests it is was necessary to implement our Emergency Plan and some services in the park were limited. Unfortunately it was not an ideal time to visit our park due to the impending cyclone and we are sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. As previously extended to those guests who had their stay with us shortened over that weekend, the offer of free accommodation upon a return visit is still applicable. Please keep the email that was sent to you as your reference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We needed a long term caravan site option in Cairns and Lake Placid Tourist Park came up trumps. The park is nestled under the mountains and surrounded by lush tropical scenery. We have a 27' 5th wheeler and they gave us a long site with a concrete pad that had plenty of room for our rig and our tow vehicle. Hosts Roger & Michelle and their friendly staff were very helpful and accommodating providing good advice and assistance during the recent cyclone threat. As it turned out the park is in a naturally sheltered location and the effects were minimal, well worth remembering if you are venturing to Cairns in the summer months. Lake Placid is also a pet friendly park and our two cats were also very impressed with the facilities. The amenities were clean and regularly serviced and the pool, a must in Cairns, was beautifully maintained at all times. Lake Placid is a 15 minute drive from Cairns CBD, close to the Skyrail, Kuranda Scenic Railway and has easy access to the Atherton Tableland via the Kennedy highway 5 minutes up the road. The park itself is on the scenic Barron River and on a quiet cul-de-sac with a quality restaurant right next door. The park has excellent tourist info, a small kiosk for those essentials and is 5 minutes from Smithfield shopping centre for the more serious needs. We can thoroughly recommend Lake placid as a great base when you visit Cairns

Room Tip: Book early in the winter months
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hello Franndon,

Thank you for your review of our park. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Just a reminder that there is always as spot here at the park for you if you decide to travel this way again. We wish you many safe and happy travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews