We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed for 8 nights, room smelt like stale cigarettes and decor is out dated. Hadn't stayed here before. It's location isn't too bad, still a bit of a walk to the Esplanade. Has undercover parking and a nice pool area. Staff were very helpful. Would I stay again? Probably not, only because of other available accomodation within Cairns.

Room Tip: Check other available apartments first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed for 5 nights; the first impression wasn't pleasant due to the musty smell; otherwise I knew what to expect because we recently stayed in Il Palazzo - the apartments are the same. Good for two people, not more. Good bed&bathroom - the shower head kept drooping on my head but when I reported in the reception, a guy came on the same day to repair. Airconditioning is okay, you can hardly hear it. Reception staff - one lady okay, very helpful, the other one not caring much - at least in my European view. Room without broadband and when I attempted to use wi-fi in the guest room on the first floor, it worked for 5 minutes.
It's close to the Cairns Central, the shopping centre, and within walking distance to wherever one wants to go in Cairns.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My family and i recently stayed at the appartments for family wedding and stayed for 5 days
we ordered a 2 bedroom unit and were only told when we got there that they were all 1 bedroom units, second bed was a sofa lounge and was very uncomfortable, room cramped, dont get the street side as the noise was constant with the court house across the road, no cleaning on week-ends so no clean towels, was charged more than quoted over phone, would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawrtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, the apartment was clean and had a comfortable bed and was nice and quiet. It is situated close to the shopping center and restaurants which are just up the road, and it's just a short walk to the Esplanade making it a really great location. The girls at the reception desk were great, they booked us on some tours and organised our hire car. (couldn't have been more helpful) .This 3 1/2 star apartment is great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debnbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at Il Centro for five nights in March 2011. We booked a room with broadband access but were given a room without (please be aware that not all rooms have broadband). The original room was a bit of a let-down as the carpet looked quite worn and dirty and there was a musty smell to the room. This room was on the top floor and overlooked the back of buildings and had a side view of the pool. The manager moved us to Room 28 which did have broadband access ($15 for three hours) and this was much better as it had new carpet. The outlook was over the street at the front of the building and overlooked the courthouse. It was a much better room than the original. The room was quite comfortable, clean but not spotless, large bathroom with washer and drier and shower over the bath, small kitchenette which was well equipped. The linen is very poor as the sheets are worn and off-white and even had holes in them and the towels are thin and well worn. The room is serviced from Monday to Friday. The girls in reception were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. The position is excellent as it is in a quiet area but not far from all the restaurants, ferry terminals, shopping centres etc. The outside of the premises is in a pretty poor condition. The whole exterior needs a really good clean and uplift as it looks very neglected. There is mould over everything, the lift is dirty, the pool is stark as all of the gardens have been stripped out, there are broken lights which have not been repaired etc. We paid $97 per night which I feel was good value for the room. I would recommend Il Centro only if you get one of the rooms with new carpet and can ignore the outside state of the premises.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is a solid 3 star "apartment" hotel with the friendliest staff we have ever encountered anywhere. The management went above and beyond to accommodate all our whimsical requests. The carpets in some units may need a professional cleaning so just don't walk around in white socks or barefoot unless you want black soles. However for the price, it makes a great "home base" while enjoying cairns. We also stayed at the Harbour Lights close to the water and in the middle of the heaviest rainy season the il Centro room was dryer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This place was a real find. Close to the Cairns downtown area and all you could ask for. Quiet and away from the noisy part of town yet walking distance to the main shops, train st5ation and the Esplanade.
The apartment has a separate bedroom and a great little kitchen.
Staff were friendly and helped us with a tour booking. No trouble at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#32 of 63 in Cairns
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Rydges Plaza Cairns
#58 of 63 in Cairns
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
1.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 63 in Cairns
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Centro Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Centro Apartment Suites

Address: 26 - 30 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £81 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Centro Apartment Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Centro Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Centro Apartment Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing