We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with Il Centro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My wife and I stayed in April and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms and facilities at Il Centro. We chose this hotel mainly because of its central location and were also very happy that, even though we were in the centre of town, our room was very quiet and protected from outside noises. We were given a fantastic rate over the phone for our 5 night visit and considered the deal to be excellent value for money. I highly recommend Il Centro as a very good place to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed in Cairns for several days on our holiday and stayed at this hotel as it is central to everything, and it even had a lift to get up to our rooms instead of stairs. If you drive there is plenty of secure guest parking under the hotel.
It was a very short walk to the esplanade, and around the corner from the movie theatre and major shopping centre yet far away from everything for a very quiet nights sleep. Just across the road from the Convention Centre as well.
The hotel is in need of refurbishment, but talking to the manager the refurbishment has just begun. So shortly this hotel will be in a class of its own and up there with the best.
Currently a bit dirty and run down but there is a lot of potential with a refurbishment to spring new life into this hotel to make it one of the best in Cairns.
The rooms were roomy, bathroom quite large, the pool was great. But as from previous comments about this hotel, the carpets were a bit dirty and in need of clean but I believe they are being replaced soon.
The tour desk was absolutely amazing, soo many tours to choose from and can be booked from reception, no need to call the tour operators themselves to book it, book everything from the hotel and pay there as well.
Thr rooftop was looking good as well, you can see lots of things from up there, definately worth a visit when you stay here.
I will definately be returning to see the completed refurbishment on my next stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loves_Da_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

we stayed al ll centro as the first week of our holiday as we are from the area and we were flying out of the country. we found the staff very rude and not accommodation maybe due to the fact that we complained. when we walked in the apartment smelt of dust and mould, as soon as we sat on the bed the leg broke, the fridge did not keep anything cold, the washing machine overflowed when we went to use it the list just seemed to pile up. instead of trying to help us and maybe move us to another room the staff were just rude. i would not recommend this accommodation to anyone although the location is not bad II plazzo near the markets is the same price range and 100 time better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We entered the room and it smelled of mould. Fortunately the weather was nice and so we lived with the windows open for the entire stay of 7 days.
The apartment is carpeted except for the kitchenette and the bathroom and you don't notice it at first but the carpet is terribly filthy. How did we find out ? We left our shoes by the entrance and wore slippers and I can tell that after a few hours the soles of my slippers were black instead of pale blue.
If you are someone who likes to read in the evening, don't expect to do so, because the lighting is one for watching TV only. Very poor lighting indeed.
Apart from all this, the apartment is ok, but I wouldn't go back, unless the rate/night would be under 100$, that's all it's worth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed here for eight nights. We found the staff, service and rooms very good. The rooms were serviced daily and nothing was too much trouble. We booked our tours with them as well without problems. As we did not have a car, we found everything we wanted within easy walking distance. The only thing I noticed was that the carpets in the room were a bit smelly most probably from the high humidity in the summer. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellybean_357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Kate on reception was absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she happily booked all our tours. The other reception staff weren't quite as obliging though and a little bit rude.
The apartments were nice but not as good as we were expecting although we did get a very good rate. The location was very central and within easy walk of most things.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KazPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

we have just spent a month at il centro. the one bedroom apartments are as shown in the brochure. we found them spacious compared to many others we have stayed in. automatic washing machine and dryer a big plus. the management and staff were friendly and the cleaning staff friendly and helpful. rooms were cleaned regularly. the major shopping complex and the reef hotel casino a short stroll. restaurants coffee shops and post office all in close proximity. the beautiful tropical atrium in the centre of the building with its lipstick palms and garden statues give a feeling of peace and tranquility. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly stay at il centro again on our next visit to cairns. we have recommended it to our family and friends.
eddie and margaret piggott
coolangatta qld
to sum up "good value for money"

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank rmurray33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#36 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 64 in Cairns
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Centro Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Centro Apartment Suites

Address: 26 - 30 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £87 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Centro Apartment Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Centro Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Centro Apartment Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing