We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, Fun hostel, BIG rooms!!”
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The rooms here are wicked! so big and you get your own living area in each room! crazy. Fun vibe, good value and really helpful staff. nothin wrong really! Ill be back fo sho xx

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hey, I stayed in Koala Beach Resort for more than one month and it was just amazing. The stuff is so friendly and the BBQ on Wednesdays and Saturdays I couldn't make better..
The pool is clean and quite, so it's easy to relax in the sun..
If I had a chance to stay longer in this amazing hostel, i would do it definitly..

Greets to Hendrik, Max and all the others.. ;)

Room Tip: all rooms are clean, big and with fridge and couches.. doesn't matter which room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonas89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We got off the Greyhound coach and called Koala as they advertised that there was a free shuttle bus service that would pick you up........no joy there which didn't get us off to a good start!! We stayed in a 1 bed unit with a bathroom. It was reasonably clean but minimal with ancient sofa coverings and a rather musty smell in the air which you got used to after a while. There was a kitchenette with a random selection of cutlery and bowls/plates but that was about it, no wine glasses - not good!!. You seemed to have to pay a deposit for anything extra you might need (which was quite alot!!). Went to use laundry but couldn't change $5 note into coins at reception when it was advertised that they would. No bar open for the whole time we were there. Finally our last night at the place was a little noisy as there appeared to be some skinny dipping going on until quite late along with some rather frisky backpackers having loud sex in the pool!! Woke up the next morning to see a couple of trollys in there - nice!! I just hope they clean it although didn't see much evidence of that while we were there.......... enter at own risk!! To end on a positive note the location was OK.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed in the hostel side with some mates which was great. From what I saw the property is split in 2 with the other side being a motel so make sure you ask for the right side when you book. The rooms were clean and nice and it was easy walking distance to everything. Staff were friendly and told us what we should do while in Cairns.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen82097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I stayed for 2 nights in a 2-bedroom unit at Koala Beach Resort in Cairns with my sister and adult son. We had to pay a $10 cash deposit for each key. From the outside the place appeared very run down and unkempt. The pool surrounds and the outsides of the units were dirty and littered. On opening the door we were almost knocked out by the powerful stench of stale urine, mildew, and rising damp. All parts and furnishings inside were shabby, unclean, mean and minimal. There were just two thin raggy grey-ish towels provided, depite the booking being clearly made for 3 people. There was an electric jug but no cups, glasses, cutlery, or dishes of any kind provided. The guy at reception said we would have to pay a deposit of $5 for a set of these items. So I paid, the guy disappeared and returned after several minutes with a plastic box containing 1 disposable plastic tumbler, 1 baby sippy-cup, 1 stained plastic mug, 3 small plastic plates, and a few mismatched and dirty cutlery items. I think this place is beyond redemption. The only way to deal with it is to run the owners/managers out of town and send in a demolition crew.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RowenaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

When I booked I did not know it was a backpackers hostel. As I did not pay backpacker price. Room was old, cushions covers old and dirty, shower had mould and mould and scum on the shower door. Really only for the young and couldn't care less. Beach Resort ... what a laugh.!!!!! Certainly not "in the heart of it". But only a 10 minute walk. No telephone, no bedside lamps, no clock radio. Nothing to cook with, but they did have a common BBQ. Staff were helpful and friendly however.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shortie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Koala Beach Resort is a great place to stay when you visit Cairns; it's cheap, claen, centrally located and has great staff who will help you with anything!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeBee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.5 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Address: 137-139 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £23 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Koala Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing