We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay there”
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't stay there”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

What a hovel. Even though the staff were very willing to help us the so-called two-bedroom unit was filthy so we asked for a cleaner room. Not much better, dirty, torn, faded upholstery on the cane couch and chairs, two dirty coffee cups, 3 mis-matched glasses, mis-matched plates, dirty toaster, dirty beds which we had to ask for clean sheets, dirty undies found under the bed. This for four people. Shower had to be cleaned as best it could, flushed toilet and it sounded like a fire alarm. No tea, coffee or washing up liquid. Hard to believe really isn't it, but it's all true. Sheets were stained and grey as were the towels.Pillows were stained, dirty and smelly.No internet which was advertised. We walked out after contacting the booking agent who sent someone round to check it out, and whooppee we got a full refund. Stay well away.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    25
    16
    26
See reviews for
12
18
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nites. I would not stay here again. The only thing that is good about it is the location- however there are soooo many other places in similar and in better locations.
The rooms are v basic. Also the corridors are dark and dingy- gives u the creeps when walking around at night. Lights in corridors don't work. No kettle in the room- just a sink in the 'kitchen'. Lighting did. Internet broken.
However the bigger thing that frustrated me was the staff/ the MOST unhelpful and unfriendly people ever! Also not 24/7 reception so if u try and check in after 7pm you have to call them- which can b v hard if u don't have an aus phone!
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is for the budget conscious. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. It is very close to the centre of Cairns. More for the hardy back packer that doesn't mind the basics.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We found this place through hostelworld, where it had a great rating. We called them up on our way into town and got a quote for a double room. Their price was higher than expected, so we told them our budget and they accepted. It ended up being an awesome price for what we got (a massive room, a double bed and a single bed, a kitchenette, own bathroom and access to their pool and communal kitchen. It was clean, so no issues there. The staff were friendly. There's a free computer with internet in the lobby and a couple of ethernet cables to connect your laptop if you've got one. There's no wifi that was accessible unfortunately. It's in a great location, just two blocks away from the esplanade, and from there just a few blocks to the lagoon. It's a few minutes to the hustle and bustle, but a few minutes from the noise. So there was no issue with noise at night. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked this hostel for 1 night needing a place to crash before heading down the east coast. We have already stayed at 2 other hostels in cairns and this was by far the worst at similar prices.
The room was a 6 bed dorm and instantly smelt of mould. The bathroom was grim, dirty and needed a complete overhaul. The bed's were comfy however we didn't feel comfy in our room and spent as little time as possible in the room. We even tried to book another and leave that hotel. The kitchen and social area was filthy. The sofa's ripped and there was no way we would cook in the kitchen. The hostel did provide a meal voucher for a local pub which was great..however most hostels offer this in the city.
I would not advise people to stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunalovegood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at Koala Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Hey Luna,

Thanks for your feedback. We are actually under new management here at Koala Beach as of 2 weeks ago and it was immediately obvious that the kitchen and courtyard were in need of some TLC. We actually just re-painted and cleaned up the kitchen a few days ago (HUGE sigh of relief), filled it with new pots and pans, and have fixed the pool table in the courtyard (which is FREE!). Anyways, if you're ever in Cairns again, I hope you'd give us another shot. The first 2 nights are on us.


Koala Hugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had a blast here - cool crew of people, easy staff, rooms were really nice! Ours had its own bathroom and kitchen, which was a great change after months using a community kitchen. It's right in the city center, which is good since there are some sketchy people in the city and you dont want to walk too far at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for a total of about 3 weeks whilst in cairns. Loved the place and the staff were amazing. Great location on lake street and just a 5 minute walk into town. The rooms in this hostel are massive, not only do you have a fridge in the room you also have a small lounge area to hang out in each dorm. Small pool located on the other side of the hostel if you want to take a swim and a good bar if you want to hang out and meet some people. Would return again even though a little more expensive per night than other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
342 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Property: Koala Beach Resort
Address: 137-139 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing