We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koala "Back-packers" Beach Resort”
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Koala "Back-packers" Beach Resort”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Known locally in Cairns as Koala Back-packers this establishment claiming to be a Resort is anything but.
They should not be allowed to advertise as they are currently, More 1 Star Quality than 3.
Dirty bathroom, Dirty interior and exterior facilities, free wi-fi (If you like the walk to the local McDonalds for it), Kitchenette should be advertised as 'Microwave Supplied'....
You have been warned!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RLMAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    25
    16
    26
See reviews for
12
18
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid November, 3 adults and 2 kids. The 2 bedroom unit was clean and tidy albeit a bit dated. A small kitchenette provided everything we needed, extra large bathroom and generous bedrooms ( 2 singles in 1 room, and a queen and a single in the other). The location is fantastic!!! 2 blocks to the esplanade, 2 blocks to Cairns Central and railway and only a short stroll to everything else a tourist could want!! The grounds were neat and tidy and secure and even though half of the complex is dedicated to backpackers we had no noise problems. The only downside was no door seperating the bedrooms from each other. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor unit and found it very satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesnDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The photos should be overlooked as they are completely misleading. To call the premises a Resort is a joke. The whole unit is disgracefully filthy, even to the point of used condoms on the path surrounding the pool. Evidence of rodents mean that the rubbish bags throughout the bar area are a breeding ground for further filth and livestock. We would have found alternative lodgings had we not arrived in Cairns so late. In my opinion the place should be closed until improved standards are met.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Yes, resort is not the best description. It is a convenient basic hotel with fairly clean rooms but the outdoor areas and the pool are in great need of a clean-up and renovation. A quick dip in a hotel pool is something to look forward to in the hot weather but I certainly did not feel like going in. The young backpackers working there are friendly and helpful and it was good to be able to walk to all the restaurants on The Esplanade. It was reasonable value given that all the major hotels were heavily booked and had put their prices up a lot because of the solar eclipse. However, I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check that the showers are working OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is no resort the photos are totally untrue, it is dirty, very run down and you would have to be a total idiot to venture into that POOL! The staff were very pleasant. The location is convenient for downtown Cairns but there is some rather colourful establishments around. Not cheap for what you get, look around there is MUCH better!

Room Tip: Don't t think there can be any as they are all really out dated and had nothing done to them for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with any questions or concerns that I had. You couldn't ask for a better location, everything you need is within a 2-10 min walk.
The hostel itself was a bit dated and could use some work but for the budget traveller it has everything you need. Plus each room has a bathroom and small living space which was great. Its an awesome hostel to meet people with a central courtyard and free pool table. I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Dreadful accommodation. Everything was dirty, beds, sheets, pillows, etc etc etc. It was obvious that the beds had not been changed and rooms had not been cleaned following the exit of previous guests although the bed was made up as if it had been changed. A rotten fish was found in the freezer part of the fridge. It was an absolute hovel. Certainly not what one would expect from the advertisement, i.e. a two bedroom apartment. We were aware that this was not the most expensive accommodation in Cairns but no matter how cheap accommodation is it ought to be clean and tidy, and this place was neither of those things. We could not stay there so left and found other accommodation.

Room Tip: No good rooms I would say. We looked at two and they were both awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#32 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#44 of 64 in Cairns
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Property: Koala Beach Resort
Address: 137-139 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing