We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a hostel should be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything a hostel should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great value for the price; one of the cheapest hostels in Cairns and definitely one of the best. A friendly atmosphere between all guests, great for backpackers and all travelers, with a free pool and snooker table to enjoy with the people you meet. Although definitely not a 'party hostel' (quiet after 10:30) you can always find something to do at night with the hostel just a stones throw away from the best clubs and bars in Cairns. Perhaps the kitchen area is a bit small but you definitely cant complain with fridges in most rooms and amazing air conditioning in all. If you don't feel like cooking you can get vouchers for 40% off meals at Wool Shed or a large meal with a pot of beer/wine/soft drink for just $6.50 at P.J O'Briens! In a great location, excellent staff (shout out to Teresa) and great value for money; why go anywhere else!?!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    23
    16
    25
See reviews for
12
18
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was already two times in Cairns for 4,5 month in total and I have stayed until now in Koalas. I've met the best people in this hostel. The manager Teresa is great and helped me always out where ever she could. The cleaning staff do basic cleaning, topping up toilet paper and changing bins every morning and they changed my bedsheets whenever I wanted to. It has been a great place to live for me, because it suits perfect to me. It is a very social hostel and you get very close to everyone. It is a great place for people who want to relax and a great place for those who like to have a drink, or two.

I found it very fun to read a few references here. I have never seen any hostel during the last 10 month of traveling which offers those facilities for that amount of money. Own bathroom: shower, sink, towelholder, toilet - aircon - most of the dorms have a small living room with sofas/seats, tables, a fridge and another sink. For 15 - 20$ ?!

If you have 5 star expectations, pay 100$ per night in pullman international or hilton. If you can't afford it than the Koala beach resort is the best and cheapest place I've lived in and it was always a home for me. Everyday vouchers for a cheap meal at woolshed or PJO (6,5$ for a meal + drink). 3-5 minutes to the esplanade/lagoon, restaurants, clubs, woolworth, bottleshop. 6-10 minutes to the mall, habour, more clubs, more restaurants, more bottleshops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian_d983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

After being in four different hostels in Cairns I decided to stay in the Koala Beach Resort. The price is probably the lowest in the city, and the location is really good with only a few minutes walk to the lagoon, grocery stores and the biggest night clubs. The rooms I stayed in the Koala had a fridge, a small kitchen and a bathroom. The hostel is perfect for anyone looking for staying in Cairns for longer, but also good when you're searching for a place to rest for example between day trips – there is no loud noise after 10.30 pm. The pool area was in daily use, and a free pool table was a perfect spot to invite friend for a couple of beers before going out. This is not the best well known hostel in Cairns, and therefore it's a great pick with a low price but good services.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joona117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed two times at the Koalas and enjoyed both stays. I've been there with a friend and we had big rooms each time with ensuite, kitchenette and air-conditioning. The rooms were clean as was the pool. The kitchen isn't too big but sufficient and plates and cutlery is available at reception. You recieve a voucher for an Irish pub every night which gives you 50% off the usual price.
The staff was always very friendly and we felt very welcome.
The hostel is located right at the city center, not far from the lagoon and the Cairns Central.
I would recommend the hostel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel had no social life which could be prevented by a bar or serving food.

You will need to provide your own cutlery and plates, since you don't find that in the lousy kitchen.

The receptions opening hours are insufficient and the hostel itself could need a great renovation. Air condition was the only good thing about the room!

I minor detail was that I couldn't get a refund for prepaid nights, nothing special, but annoying.

Stay somewhere else while you are in cairns.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingfreddyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights & we were really happy with our stay. It had a huge living area and kitchenette with a small fridge. The pool area is really nice & it's in the centre of town. Reception staff were helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtimesinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights, was a great price for a basic but clean 2 bedroom appartment. Pool was clean and front desk lady was very nice and let us do a late night check in and late check out. Bonus is its close to everything in the centre and short walk to the lagoon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedmorticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#47 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Property: Koala Beach Resort
Address: 137-139 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Koala Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing