We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and no privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piermonde Apartments
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked well in advance (4 months) to stay at these apartments asking for ocean views due to the good reviews given and also the fact that they were allegedly at the better end of the accommodation market in Cairns. When we checked in there was only one staff member available to take all check in, at a very busy time - 2.00pm. We got to our apartment and found that it is on the same floor as the pool, with all people using the pool being able to see right in to the main bedroom and living area of the apartment. Children playing is a nice thing, but the constant yelling did not make for a peaceful stay at all. We asked for another room but were abruptly advised that there were no others available and that was that.
Would not recommend this hotel for any visits, staff not very helpful, lift only goes to the upper level of parking, parking fees tacked on to the bill (I've never paid for parking at any hotel in Cairns before), furnishings and beds poor standard for the price paid to stay here.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerAust_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights, we had a 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartment on the 15th floor with a view of the harbour. Both rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and comfortable.
Beautiful to sit on the verandahs and look out over the water with a quiet drink. It is only a short walk to the Esplanade, Convention Centre (basketball), Casino and the shops. Will certainly return on our next trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I arranged a 3bdrm apartment here for a group of 7 people attending a conference in Cairns. The location was brilliant - 2 minutes from convention centre. The apartment was massive and had excellent quality furnishings, especially the couch and tv. We were on the 15th floor and had the harbour view, which was amazing too. The balcony is lovely for sunset drinks.
The main bedroom and ensuite were great. The other 2 bedrooms were comfortable enough, large and clean.
Downsides were not being able to check in until 3.30pm, 1.5hrs late. The complex seemed very understaffed for a very busy time of year. Also only having 2 keys for 7 people was very challenging.
Really good proximity to Cairns esplanade and shopping precincts.
Lots of walking options. But had free parking too :)

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManisNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We travelled to cairns for 8 days. We stayed in apartment 703 - 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom and extremely spacious. We had 5 adults and 3 children under 3. There was enough space for all of us without getting under each others feet. The apartments are located a short walk to the esplanade and about a 20 minute stroll to Muddys playground, which the children absolutely loved. The staff were very accommodating when we needed extra pots and pans and the apartment was serviced daily. The only negative was the beds were extremely hard and quite uncomfortable. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask questions about the quality of the room as they are independently owned. water view rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights on the 15th floor. The rooms was beautiful, neat & tidy, amazing water view and styled nicely. As I live in Cairns, it is in a good position as it is close to everything you need, and in a safe area.

The only negative we had was the neighbors were so rude to us in room 1501 as we were playing music in the evening (not even that loud) and he was kicking and yelling at the door- complete physco!!

I would recommend that if you have younge children or plan on making noise to request not to stay in room 1502. Beautiful spot if you plan on being absolutely quiet and do nothing.

Otherwise it is a really nice apartment facility

Room Tip: High floor with a water view. Plan on making noise & having fun then don't stay in room 1502
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touring4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Very comfortable. A special surprise of daily serviced appartments. Just off the main drag but close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Most appartments seem to have a balcony facing the river but make sure you get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelAnd John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

best apartments in cairns and so well located. Clean modern and spacious. I have been back many times. totally recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Harbour Lights
Cairns Harbour Lights
#15 of 84 in Cairns
816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vision Cairns Esplanade
Vision Cairns Esplanade
#14 of 84 in Cairns
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#20 of 84 in Cairns
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermonde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermonde Apartments

Address: 2-4 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £134 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermonde Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piermonde Apartments boasts some of the largest guest rooms in Cairns - making it the perfect choice for families and small groups in particular.Renowned for its spacious, stylish and superbly appointed 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained, air-conditioned apartments, this is a truly unique apartment hotel offering guests luxury and comfort in the heart of Cairns.All apartments feature huge bathrooms, spa or jet bath, full kitchen and laundry facilities, broadband internet, DVD players and video security intercom. Guests can enjoy the tropical sun from the privacy of their own oversized balcony with sweeping views across Cairns’ waterways and hinterland.Hotel facilities include outdoor spa, pool, BBQ and sundeck area. The 17-storey apartment hotel also provides undercover secure parking, business services, guest laundry, dry cleaning service, safe, luggage storage and tour booking expertise.Piermonde Apartments is located a leisurely stroll from Cairns’ famous Esplanade, Reef Casino, Marlin Marina and Night Markets as well as quality restaurants, shops and bars, ensuring handy access to all the delights this region has to offer. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.With the hotel’s fusion of luxury, home comforts and a sought after Cairns harbour foreshore location – you may never want to leave Piermonde Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piermonde Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing