We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piermonde Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Piermonde. Only stayed one night during the week, but would have loved to have stayed there longer. Requested an early check in. The room was ready when we arrived. Did not have to use the Park Regis reception as Peirmonde reception was staffed. The service was great. Our room was poolside which was fantastic as the pool area was immaculately presented. Would have been better though if the spa was heated slightly as even though the air temperature was warm 29degrees, the pools were still freezing. The bathrooms and walk in wardrobes were huge. Loved the size of the 2 bedroom apartment and the storage. Impressive. There were a couple of minor issues, eg. curtain rods to close and open curtains were broken and could do with a retouch of paint in some areas. But none of these little issues were a problem. As we booked a lower level room, we definitely got value for money. Would recommend the poolside apartments to families. Right next to Wharf 2 at the Marina and the convention centre. Walking distance to Lagoon and Esplanade. 5 to 10 minutes depending on which way you go and if you have someone with little legs with you.

Room Tip: Poolside suitable for families. The outlook is nice enough. If you want a water view from the apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear rochellet

Thank you for taking the time for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Piermonde Cairns.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff where helpful.
I will share this positive feedback with our team members.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is strongly committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your positive comments

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Piermonde Apartments Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Awesome facilities. Reception staff a little overwhelmed at check-out time.
$10 daily carparking fee a little unexpected. A little disappointing that room service didn't locate & return my Iphone charger left plugged into the wall socket... otherwise, an awesome place to stay : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Re: Recent Stay at Park Regis Cairns

Dear spaciousandairy

Thank you for taking the time for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay in regards to your charger.

Your comments have been received and will be investigated / Addressed fully with the Housekeeping department. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is strongly committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Piermonde which is half of the Park Regis resort in Cairns, it is more of the apartments and the City Quays is the hotel rooms. We had a 2 bedroom apartment.

Firstly, this would have to go down as one of my worst check in experiences in my life, in the world. I find most receptions friendly, and as you can see, I’ve stayed in a fair few hotels around the world.

This girl was poor, firstly not a smile, not one. In fact, not even a greeting, she just looked at me until I spoke. Now, I went to check in at the Piermonde, no one was there so I had to drag my luggage to the City Quays. It says on the door that the reception is manned between certain hours, it wasn’t.

I didn’t care, it was my birthday and nothing could bring me down…or so I thought.

Anyway, then Ms Surly Blonde, didn’t greet me. I said “Hi, I’m here to check in”. Blank, no response. Should I repeat myself, does she not speak English…nope, she just turns away, walks into the room near the reception comes back and says “name”. Well I gave it and things weren’t looking good. So this continued. She charged me for the room to my credit card, didn’t tell me I had to pay extra for using my credit card which was awesome, considering that if she had have told me I would have used a debit card. When I did raise this she shrugged her shoulders. Then there was car parking. $10 a night, I don’t get this, why don’t hotels whack an extra dollar on the tariff for all rooms and give free parking….can’t see the forest for the trees….anyway I digress….It is an allocated park with a number, so I ask, what happens if someone parks in our spot. I was told “That won’t happen, they are numbered”. Ok. I said “The last couple of hotels I stayed in had numbered parking and inconsiderate guests did this to me and I don’t want to do it to others, who should I contact if it does happen”. The reply I got was a puzzled look, followed by “The car parks are numbered”. Ok, too hard. She did manage to smile at the muscly New Zealand navy boy wearing a tank top who went after me though.

So I then parked the car, no help with our luggage, struggling all the way through the doors that swing back to leave the car park and the buzzer door to enter the property with luggage and children in tow. Thankfully a kind gentlemen from the hotel came to our assistance and my first response was a little surly to him, but I thanked him profusely by the end of the short journey. He got the response surly blonde should have got, maybe I should have worn a tank top.

We got into to the room with birthday cake that required immediate refrigeration, to find a fridge full of towels, open. Seems they were defrosting the fridge. Great. This was quickly fixed though.

The room itself was spectacular, apart from the beds, they were made of concrete. Not a spring amongst them. The rest was great, full kitchen, huge spa bath, however don’t expect hot water in the first 10 minutes of your shower. NO WIFI, sorry isn’t it 2013…..

Realistically, I should have been going on and on about the location, the room (apart from the beds and the hot water), but instead I was left feeling pretty ordinary about this place. A real shame.

Probably wouldn't go back, you can do better in Cairns for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wemarriedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Wemarriedinvagus

Thank you for taking the time for your review after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and will be investigated / Addressed fully with the Housekeeping Reception department. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is strongly committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Booked this hotel for a break after staying in Lucinda for a few days. We arrived early and were told that our room wasn't ready. The woman didn't even check. Then proceeded to charge us $1.50 for us to leave our bags.

Once we came back to officially check in the lady was still rude. Playing around on the computer rather than serving us. The rooms are very nice and very clean. We wanted to have a late check out, they want to charge $10 an hour for every hour past check out time. They also charge for Internet, $16.50 a day.

The thing that bugs me is that the room wasn't super cheap so the added extras is quiet frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMcGloin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear DMcGloin

Thank you for taking the time for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and your comment has been addressed with the relevant staff member concerned. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in a 14th floor 2 bedroom apartment. Lovely big room with huge living space. Very modern and clean. What irritated however were the little charges for extras. $2 for a pool towel. $10 per day for car parking. $40+ for 4 days internet - seriously guys, you can get unlimited internet in Asutralia for $29 per month. We wouldn't have minded if the room rate compensated but it didnt.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlMarx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear KarlMarx101

Thank you for taking the time for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and noted. Your comments will be discussed with our Head office team.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed during Easter in a 3 B/r with our grown up family. Great location and terrific views. We have stayed in quite a lot of accommodation in Cairns and this rates high for a large family. The 3 B/R apartments are huge - we were on the 12th floor overlooking the hills and outlet - fantastic breezes in the afternoon. I can however suggest a couple of improvements - need to get an ipod doc (for music) - no-one carries CD's anymore! Also would be great to organise wi-fi internet access.
Also need to put a notice on the door for guests to go to the Hotel next door to book in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candkadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here recently for 5 nights.
Pluses: excellent location, wonderful harbour views, roomy apartment, great deck, prompt attention to problem with both TV's

Minuses: slow service in reception (only 1 person on counter which meant long waiting times), very hard uncomfortable beds, superficially clean but an old potato chip behind TV, long black hairs in the vanity drawer, and dust & hairs behind furniture, TV remote needed new battery, pricey compared to a similar apartment further down the coast in another beach resort

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manxcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 64 in Cairns
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermonde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermonde Apartments

Address: 2-4 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £137 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermonde Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piermonde Apartments boasts some of the largest guest rooms in Cairns - making it the perfect choice for families and small groups in particular.Renowned for its spacious, stylish and superbly appointed 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained, air-conditioned apartments, this is a truly unique apartment hotel offering guests luxury and comfort in the heart of Cairns.All apartments feature huge bathrooms, spa or jet bath, full kitchen and laundry facilities, broadband internet, DVD players and video security intercom. Guests can enjoy the tropical sun from the privacy of their own oversized balcony with sweeping views across Cairns’ waterways and hinterland.Hotel facilities include outdoor spa, pool, BBQ and sundeck area. The 17-storey apartment hotel also provides undercover secure parking, business services, guest laundry, dry cleaning service, safe, luggage storage and tour booking expertise.Piermonde Apartments is located a leisurely stroll from Cairns’ famous Esplanade, Reef Casino, Marlin Marina and Night Markets as well as quality restaurants, shops and bars, ensuring handy access to all the delights this region has to offer. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.With the hotel’s fusion of luxury, home comforts and a sought after Cairns harbour foreshore location – you may never want to leave Piermonde Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piermonde Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing