We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piermonde Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
95
85
18
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
85
18
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentgreat locationpark regisfull kitchenuber rideoutdoor spathese unitspool levelgreat apartmentwithin easy reachthree bedroomwell equipped kitchenhuge balconysix nightsa wonderful staybeds were comfortablestayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and new year in a 3 bedroom apartment. Very spacious and clean. The interior decorations were beautiful. 5-10mins walk to everything including all the wonderful restaurants and bars. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank LeTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear LETT13
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, and had a great family stay and found our facilities / apartments spacious and that our staff were helpful throughout your stay.

I agree we here in Cairns have some wonderful restaurants and a great relaxed atmosphere.

I will share this positive feedback with our staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent a great week staying at Piermonde Apartments.The accommodation was very comfortable and clean,the terrace big enough to sunbathe on it (even though there is a swimming pool on the same level I chose to do it there) the bathrooms large and practical and with a very relaxing ambiance,but what I preferred the most was the modern kitchen and the location of the place:almost on the Esplanade itself and very close to shops,clubs,restaurants,the jetty and the famous Lagoon is only a ten minutes walk away

Room Tip: Maybe you should choose an apartment that is not on the 3th floor,on this floor are the BBQ area and the pool,people come and go from one to another and can see perfectly well into the bedrooms,the living area and the kitchen of the apartment we stayed in
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Salsaholic
Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff were helpful throughout your stay. And that you felt that it was Home away from Home
I will share this very positive feedback with our staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you back again, when you next choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The apartments are spacious, security by FOB and room key to access front door and room floor. Room 601 has very good view and very large balcony. Modern kitchen but limited cooking pans.

TV in living area too small with limited stations. TV in master bedroom stupidity small and none in second guest room.

Access to Internet is $10 per day on top of high room rate AND NO WIFI except in lobby in adjoining building (useless). Ethernet is available in room but added expense.

Everything is an add on: want a bottle of water .... Pay big etc.

Front desk personnel very poor : forget Sara who could care less.

Booked travel to and from airport and it was incorrect leaving: required a 35 minute wait.

Say they are upgrading to wifi in a month but I'd get that in writing with what limitations apply.

Room Tip: Get city view or pass on this
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time for your review after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

As discussed with you while you were here, we are also in the process of renewing our contract with a new internet provider, with installing of Wi-Fi for the near future.

Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

There is no reception in this building. You have to go to the next building. The lady who registered us was very nice. We were staying in a two bedroom apartment. This is their description:
Room features
Two Bedrooms
Large private balcony with sweeping views (most)
Reverse cycle air-conditioning and ceiling fans
Oversized bathrooms with spa bath
Broadband internet
DVD player
Work desk
Full kitchen
Full laundry facilities
Video security intercom
Direct dial phones with voicemail

Based on what I read, I assumed our apartment would have all of this. Here is what they don't tell you.....
There is NO WIFI. The broadband Internet, which they charge 1 hour: $8, 1 day - $16.50 and three days will set you back $34.95, is by Ethernet cable only.
When I asked about wifi, I was told they were wiring the building now for it. Another day, someone else said they had a six year contract for Internet that was ending this month. My husband said, since they don't provide wifi why didn't you get another provider in for that? The man didn't have an answer. The reality, here is a business that isn't truthful. I have a problem with that. A business is as good as its word,
In 2013, with fewer computers and more tablets, wifi should be available. They are technology challenged. The Hilton on the next street not only provides wifi, but lets anyone use it. When we were checking out, I asked if she could check us in for our flight and print our boarding passes. She asked why we couldn't check in. THEY DON'T GET, IPADS DON'T WORK WITH ETHERNET CABLES.
NO SAFE. That meant I had to carry my backpack everywhere. We weren't going to leave medications, passports and electronics laying around unsecured. Very inexpensive to install. Very convenient for guests. That must be why most hotels and cruise ships have them in all of their rooms.
Sweeping views. Perhaps if you are lucky enough to get an apartment on the water side. We overlooked the convention center and could see mountains in the distance. They are correct when they say the balcony is large, at least ours was. But, if you are on the front of the building, you had better enjoy the smell of exhaust from passing vehicles while you are outside on the large balcony,
DVD player. Not in our apartment. The television in the main area is small. I asked our friends if they wanted to borrow my binoculars to watch the television in their room, it was that small. All we had on our room was an outlet on the wall and what looked like a cable outlet. No television in the second bedroom. Actually, nothing but two twin beds, two night stands one functioning lamp and a closet. Nothing else in there. Our bathroom was not connected to our room and didn't have a spa. There was a spa tub in the bathroom connected to our friend's room. They had the same furnishings in their room.
I found the bed to be very firm, but comfortable. We had extra long twin beds. The extra length was good for my tall husband. The pillows were very hard. There was one pillow on each bed. The same. The two additional pillows in the closet, the same. It would be nice if the other pillows were soft so people could choose what worked for them. Our friend slept on a rolled up bedspread and towel as the hard pillow was painful for him.
There is a real kitchen with nice appliances. We had one frying pan and two small saucepans. Might work if you were one person. Didn't work for 4 of us. There weren't enough plates or glasses. They didn't match.
There was a washer and dryer. We didn't use it during our stay.
Since this isn't a hotel, they will charge you $100 if you call for something after hours, 9 pm, and it isn't an emergency.
There is one parking spot per unit. But, don't think you have access to it.,only if you pay $10 per night.
There is a pool. We didn't use it, but there is a 2$ charge per towel.
We used the reception lady to book our transfer from and back to the airport. She made an error on the return. Mistakes happen. The problem occurred when we went to reception to find out where our ride was. Sara was less than helpful. She didn't want to be bothered calling, though I gave her little choice. I'll skip the painful details. We eventually got the ride to the airport. With the rates they are charging, the staff should be willing to help especially when they made the mistake.
Security video. Not that we saw. The only security was the use of a key fob to enter the building and to use the elevator. Not what they advertised, but not bad. Though, I saw quite a few people walk in when other people were entering or leaving the building. Secure?
I could go on, but I hope you get the picture. The bottom line, it was a large two bedroom apartment. We were there three days. It wasn't worth the aggravation. They nickel and dime you every time you turn around, after charging a considerable amount for the room. Oh, forgot something at home, such as a toothbrush. They have a list of items, and what they cost. For what they charge, walk down to the grocery store and buy it. Most hotels provide that for free.
If you want a large space with minimal furnishings, no technology, exhaust fumes on your big balcony, guest services who are cold and don't want to help solve the problem, but just want you to go away, people who don't tell you the truth.... Then this is the place for you. Personally, I'm going somewhere else the next time I'm in Cairns.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gneiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time for your review after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff members.
As discussed with you while you were here, we are also in the process of renewing our contract with an new internet provider, with installing of Wi-Fi in the near future.

Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

While combining a conference at the Cairns Convention Centre and a family holiday afterward we stayed at the Piermonde Apartments. I cannot speak highly enough of the service and the 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in. Big airy apartments with great facilities. The kids loved the pool, the wife loved the views and the the family had a great time overall. Thank you to the Piermonde staff for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Sean C
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and that our staff where helpful throughout your stay. We are glad that you and your family had a great holiday
I will share your positive feedback with our staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews