We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
104
73
26
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
73
26
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglenda and chrispleasant holidayfree wifi worked wellstudio apartmentfoxtel channelsfull size fridgeoutdoor areagreat apartmentserviced weeklyrusty's marketbefore bookingwashing machinefully self containedwalking distance to the esplanadegreat place to stayseparate bedroomsecure parking
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

First impressions where ok. Pool was small and unappealing. Location was a good 10 to 15 min walk out of town so not very convenient at all. The studio room was pleasant enough but the "king bed" was actually two single mattesses in a king frame with a gap down the middle which made it impossible for a couple to sleep together. In was also very uncomfortable as the mattresses were so old you could feel the springs...we had terrible nights' sleep. We told the staff we were unhappy with the bed and they made the excuse that that's what they slept on and had no problems (which was totally irrelevant to our complaint). The TV did not face the bed so you could only watch from the chairs which had very thin cushions which were very hard and not suitable to relax in.
We asked to check out a day early and they would not comply with our request without charging us.
Consequently we felt like prisoners, not guests, as we simply did not want to be there. Not a very good customer relations strategy for the sake of one night's revenue.
We found the manager was good at acting pleasant if all was well but who's personality would "turn" when one would politely raise an issue.

So in conclusion find somewhere better than Cascade Gardens Cairns.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Julesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Comfortable convenient studio and 2 room suites close to the centre of Cairns. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Spent a week here in June. Able to be self sufficiant, full kitchen facilities and washing machine. A quiet area and a short 10 min walk to city centre. Helpful managers. The only little thing we found was that our room was a bit dark at night, probably needed stronger light bulbs, strained my eyes writting my travel journal(pages and pages, did and saw heaps). Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooshlowerhuttNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Well other than having the most powerful shower I have ever experienced the accommodation is really useful, practical, central, and safe.

Everything is within a 10 minute brisk walk. So if you have hired a car it can be parked safely in a gated pin secured compound leaving you to walk into town, have a meal, cinema or anything else.

Staff very welcoming and helpful no matter time of evening or morning. Staff really keen to please and encourage any genuine feedback to improve profile and experience of the hotel. Even encouraging direct contact to make bookings as opposed to using aggregator websites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We came back a week ago from a fantastic 5 night stay in Cairns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cascade Gardens. Glenda was extremely nice and helpful to us from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much, and was really helpful with info on things to do and see while we were in Cairns. Was really nice to have such good friendly service, even after hours.

Good secure hotel, the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. Well equipped for someone wanting to cook meals etc. Especially loved the pool and outdoor area, and had a great bbq area to enjoy in the evenings.

Good location, good walking distance to the esplanade, restaurants, shops and night markets.

We absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone one wanting a well priced self contained place to stay.

Thanks again Glenda and team for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back next time were in Cairns.

Debbie, Sue and Della.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews