We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes .”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #14 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Comfortable for the two of us for 9 nights.Clean,comfortable with all the facilities we needed.Close enough to walk to Convention Centre and most shops .Friendly service while quiet at night.Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindie041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Everything about our stay was enjoyable from the room to the location. The hosts could not be more accommodating. Easy walking distance to most of Cairns - Cairns Central is 10 mins walk, Esplanade and all the eateries and attractions 20 mins at the most. Lovely and clean, equipped just like home, very secure and all under cover so you park and if its rain or sun you are sheltered.

Room Tip: Value, rear rooms will be quietest, no real noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, we do our best to assist you for an enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The managers, Kevin and Lindy were most obliging and helpful in every respect and we knew from the outset that we would like it here. The 2 bedroom apartment was very well appointed, spacious and left nothing to be desired.It is centrally postioned to be within easy walking distance to the hub of the city, restaurants, shops, lagoon, etc.

Our apartment was located directly above the carpark which did generate some noise that we found disturbing but otherwise our stay here was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our family of six stayed here for a very reasonable rate. We stayed in one of the townhouse rooms which is on two levels, with two bedrooms and baths on the upper floor and a combination kitchen, dining and living area down. We had our own laundry facilities and all of the usual kitchen items including dishwasher. The location is quite nice, just 4 blocks from the Esplanade and boardwalk and about the same distance to the train station/shopping center. The front office staff where very accomodating and helpful with dinner recommendations plus they can book any outings that you want to make. Their new wi-fi system had a few bugs (works fine with laptops but not so well with handheld devices) but was priced right and will probably get sorted out soon.
There is a nice pool and what would be a hot tub if it was not connected directly to the pool and thus the water is the same temperature as the pool which is not heated; this probably works great during the summer when you want to cool off, but during the nominally cooler winter months it is just too cold to swim. Not to worry though, the fabulous downtown ocean front swimming pool is just a short walk away on the Boardwalk and is a great place to hang out and enjoy the sun and fun.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Fantastic hosts. Good sized apartment, bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen all very comfortably sized. Good location convineint to hospitals, esplanade including a comfortable walk to muddies for little people. Comfortable walk to city centre.

Room Tip: Ground floor unit great with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hotel located just two blocks from the Cairns Esplanade. Great location for families with small children. Kevin and Linda were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to meet all our needs, from alerting us to the possibility of flight delays to providing a complimentary baby buggy. We could not recomend them highly enough and would not hesitate to stay there again or to recomend them to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerryagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had a wonderful holiday for a first trip to Cairns the weather was excellent.
We found the service and help provided at Getway on Grafton by Linda and Kevin to be exceptional. They were so helpful and knowledgeable when organising and booking our tours. Getway on Grafton is in the perfect position close to the esplanade, within walking distance of shopping and resturants. Our room was excellent and very clean.
I also enjoyed swimming in the pool even though it was a bit cold at this time of the year.
My husband loved the spa and sat in it everyday!!!!
I also like that there is a security gate for car parking.
We had a great holiday and would recommend Getaway on Grafton has a great accommodation in Cairns I have already recommended it to all my work friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £102 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing