We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place with fantastic managers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #16 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bentleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place with fantastic managers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Getaway on Grafton is about 5-10 minutes from the heart( ie from the pier). It's great as it is quiet and also the self contained townhouse has everything you need. Be reassued too that if you have any issues at all that Linda and Kevin will fix it immediately. Linda is also wonderful at arranging any tours for you and your family and looks at value for money and also helps by getting free pick ups from Getaway rather than having to pay. She can arrange anything for you and has plenty of maps etc for direction. We would definitely recommend staying here and would love to return again.
Thanks Lind and Kevin for a very memorable holiday.
Sue & Graeme

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBentleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    96
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

tried to save a few bucks while in Australia. Nice hotel rooms are over $250-this place could accomodate all four of us, cook in and do laundry for less. We read the varied reviews and took a chance. Well, here's the good and the bad.
THE GOOD: The couple who live here and run it are very friendly and helpful. Our 'townhouse' was roomy and well equipped. There was a washer/dryer, dishwasher, full oven, full refrigerator, microwave, and even some tea and coffee, sugar. The bathrooms had hairdryers. They supplied some laundry and dishwasher soap, and kitchen towels.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the Esplanade, and a little further to the harbour terminals.
THE BAD: The place is a little worn, and it was not completely clean- thick coat of dust on top of the refrigerator, ceiling fans and next to the washing machine. There was definitely stains on the blankets as stated in another review. The worst thing- it is right next door to "The Asylum" backpacker hostel and on a busy street. If the drunk and screaming twenty- something backpackers didn't keep us awake the traffic did. Unfortunately our room was right next to the hostel and on the street. I used earplugs every night and was able to sleep. Also as stated in another review we had ants in the kitchen the whole time in spite of using the bug spray they gave me on request.
If you want to save a lot of money and can live with some minor problems this place is an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the back of the property and away from the Asylum
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
It is disappointing to have guests whose expectations we fail to meet. We strive to meet our guest needs and respond to any grievances promptly, to ensure our guests enjoy both Getaway on Grafton and Cairns. In this case we consider the guest comments were harsh and it’s possible that Getaway on Grafton may not have been the right choice for them.

From personal experience, the Esplanade is about a 3 min walk from here, the lagoon is probably 10-15 min. (depending on your ability) The Esplanade is at least 1km long and depends if you interpret the lagoon area as “the Esplanade”.

The ‘thick’ coat of dust on the fridge & ceiling fans would be unusual as they are usually wiped and checked each time we clean. As we leave ceiling fans running at all times, static dust build up is inevitable, but to suggest a thick build up was present seems unlikely. We will however monitor this area of our cleaning more closely.

We use white cotton blankets which are regularly washed and any with bad stains are bleached or removed. If this guest had reported to management, stains on the blanket when found, a replacement blanket would certainly have been supplied.

We do have a back packers next door with sleeping quarters right next door and 3 buildings down is their casual area. From time to time they have events and they can get a little excited, but we have a good relationship with the owner and he is promptly advised if there is any interference to our guests. If we don’t hear it, (we live onsite) and guests don’t mention the problem, it is difficult to address.

We are not on the main highway or on a busy street as Grafton Street is on the edge of the CBD. Our complex is close enough to the city and esplanade to walk without the constant road traffic. Travel tips have advised travellers to carry ear plugs as sleep patterns are easily upset in new and different environments. This is particularly the case with known light sleepers and should ensure a good night’s sleep.

Cairns is located in a tropical climate with tropical insects. We have a pest control program in place and constantly monitor problem pests. Ghost ants are extremely hard to control in situations where food is left out and any reported problem is dealt with promptly. Initially, surface spray is supplied, as was the case in this instance, and if the problem persists, baits are placed near the affected area. We do not experience this problem often.

In summary, we manage a complex which is now 9 years old and most often meet or exceed our guest’s expectations. We pride ourselves on being in touch with guests and addressing any issues they may have and this is evident in the reviews we have received, and continue to receive, on trip advisor and other traveller sites. It is unfortunate we did not meet this guest’s expectations.

Kevin and Linda Mannion
Onsite Managers. Aug 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursday Island, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great location for walking to Cairns central, to catch buses (one around the corner), muddies, the esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica495005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

It's not cheap, but it worth that money. I'm an oversea student from China, and have a wonderful time there with my parents.Nice room, nice furniture, nice position, and nice person. Linda and Kevin, i appreciate everything you did for me~

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene_Xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

With a 5-10 walk into Cairns, a pool for everyone to use, and really nice and helpful managers Kevin and Linda, our experience in Cairns was very enjoyable. The apartment was big, comfortable, and very clean so I would recommend this apartment for anyone who would like to have a great time in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoKaMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you! Yes we are in a great location! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Comfortable for the two of us for 9 nights.Clean,comfortable with all the facilities we needed.Close enough to walk to Convention Centre and most shops .Friendly service while quiet at night.Very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindie041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Everything about our stay was enjoyable from the room to the location. The hosts could not be more accommodating. Easy walking distance to most of Cairns - Cairns Central is 10 mins walk, Esplanade and all the eateries and attractions 20 mins at the most. Lovely and clean, equipped just like home, very secure and all under cover so you park and if its rain or sun you are sheltered.

Room Tip: Value, rear rooms will be quietest, no real noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desert57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we do our best to assist you for an enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing