We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #18 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed in a townhouse which for the price was perfect - modern, comfortable, tidy and well equipped. Great location too, fairly central to esplanade and shopping centre and easily walkable. Did use taxis at night when coming back from casino, restaurants etc, they are readily available and only $7 - $8. The managers were very friendly and helpful throughout our 9 night stay. All in all we had a fantastic time in Cairns and would highly recommend this property if you are wanting a self contained apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    97
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
179
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently in a 2 bed 2 bathrooom townhouse. We arrived at about 1pm and the room was still being cleaned but we were allowed to put our cases in the room and we then went for a walk to the Esplanade (Cairns has no real beaches) which is about 5 mins away and by the time we had lunch and bought provisions the room was ready. we stayed in townhouse 2 which is up a flight of stairs and there is no lift so the less able may struggle with this room. The townhouse has the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the top floor and the kitchen, living room and utility room on the ground floor. Overall it is well equipped and spacious.
The cleaning however could have been better with the top of the fridge and blinds not having been dusted in ages and a spatlua in the drawer than was melted - its often the attention to detail that makes the difference and this was a bit lacking. That being said when pointed out the next day to Kevin & Linda these were sorted.
Kevin & Linda were excellent and gave good advice on places to go and eat as well as trips out. Id recommend the Cock and Bull pub (HUGE portions and well priced) and the Sunlover Reef Tour (just watch out for expensive 'extras').
The Apartments have a small pool - quite cold as it's their winter - but a nice place to have a refreshing dip after a long day.
The apartments are very much 'self-contained' although this was fine with us.
Location wise its a 5 min walk to the sea and the lots of places to eat and 10 mins from a Woolworths for your provisions.

It is next to a (quite grubby) Backpacker hostel although this didnt disturb us at all re noise etc.
Overall I would have given this 3.5 stars as the cleaning did let it down a bit - its better than Average but not quite Very Good in my opinion

Room Tip: The townhouse was a good choice - nice to go 'upstairs' to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and found this a great place to stay in Cairns. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and the apartment was very well equipped. The managers Kevin & Linda are really lovely people who are extremely helpful and are a good source of information on activities and tours etc. It is far enough from the centre of town to be quiet but an EASY and pleasant 15 min walk into town. Boys loved the pool and the access to WiFi. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is very tidy and comfortable and well located in my view. The hosts - Kevin and Linda go the extra mile in being helpful regarding anything that you may need.

Judging from the exterior of the other places in Cairns, this certainly looks to be one of the best and would rate it 2.5 - 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprucewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vennesla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were three girls in our twenties who spent a week at this hotel, and we didn't regret it for a second!
The rooms are very nice, spacious and well equipped, and the staff/managers are great! Im sure that there are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns, but if customer service is important to you - this is the place to stay. Kevin, Linda and Denise were great, giving us tips on what to see and do, which excursions to choose etc. And they helped us book all tours and excursions free of charge, even after office hours!
We are very happy with our stay, and would gladly come back the next time we're in Cairns!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed with family of 4 in 2 bedroom townhouse very clean plenty of space kevin and Linda wonderful people always very helpful close to esplanade restaurants great pool bbq area will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koutso66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Quite a spacious apartment. Has a good living room, excellent provisions of washer- dryer, kitchen. But absolutely inadequate service - the office is closed at 6pm. No semblance of any service or security from 6pm to 8am.
Not a convenient location. You need to walk for about 10 minutes to get to any decent restaurant or to the heart of the seaside experience.
If you have a car, this is an ok place to stay with the family, particularly for a week or longer.
If not, you may be better off renting a similar apartment closer to the esplanade.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snathan-auh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing