We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #20 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the getaway. Fantastic 2 bed townhouse, all the luxuries of home including a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher. A real home from home. Great location 5 minute walk to the esplanade. Very comfortable stay for a family of 5, we loved the pool and the BBQ area, well used by us on our trip. Kevin and Linda were great couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank missey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed in a townhouse which for the price was perfect - modern, comfortable, tidy and well equipped. Great location too, fairly central to esplanade and shopping centre and easily walkable. Did use taxis at night when coming back from casino, restaurants etc, they are readily available and only $7 - $8. The managers were very friendly and helpful throughout our 9 night stay. All in all we had a fantastic time in Cairns and would highly recommend this property if you are wanting a self contained apartment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently in a 2 bed 2 bathrooom townhouse. We arrived at about 1pm and the room was still being cleaned but we were allowed to put our cases in the room and we then went for a walk to the Esplanade (Cairns has no real beaches) which is about 5 mins away and by the time we had lunch and bought provisions the room was ready. we stayed in townhouse 2 which is up a flight of stairs and there is no lift so the less able may struggle with this room. The townhouse has the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the top floor and the kitchen, living room and utility room on the ground floor. Overall it is well equipped and spacious.
The cleaning however could have been better with the top of the fridge and blinds not having been dusted in ages and a spatlua in the drawer than was melted - its often the attention to detail that makes the difference and this was a bit lacking. That being said when pointed out the next day to Kevin & Linda these were sorted.
Kevin & Linda were excellent and gave good advice on places to go and eat as well as trips out. Id recommend the Cock and Bull pub (HUGE portions and well priced) and the Sunlover Reef Tour (just watch out for expensive 'extras').
The Apartments have a small pool - quite cold as it's their winter - but a nice place to have a refreshing dip after a long day.
The apartments are very much 'self-contained' although this was fine with us.
Location wise its a 5 min walk to the sea and the lots of places to eat and 10 mins from a Woolworths for your provisions.

It is next to a (quite grubby) Backpacker hostel although this didnt disturb us at all re noise etc.
Overall I would have given this 3.5 stars as the cleaning did let it down a bit - its better than Average but not quite Very Good in my opinion

Room Tip: The townhouse was a good choice - nice to go 'upstairs' to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and found this a great place to stay in Cairns. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and the apartment was very well equipped. The managers Kevin & Linda are really lovely people who are extremely helpful and are a good source of information on activities and tours etc. It is far enough from the centre of town to be quiet but an EASY and pleasant 15 min walk into town. Boys loved the pool and the access to WiFi. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is very tidy and comfortable and well located in my view. The hosts - Kevin and Linda go the extra mile in being helpful regarding anything that you may need.

Judging from the exterior of the other places in Cairns, this certainly looks to be one of the best and would rate it 2.5 - 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprucewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were three girls in our twenties who spent a week at this hotel, and we didn't regret it for a second!
The rooms are very nice, spacious and well equipped, and the staff/managers are great! Im sure that there are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns, but if customer service is important to you - this is the place to stay. Kevin, Linda and Denise were great, giving us tips on what to see and do, which excursions to choose etc. And they helped us book all tours and excursions free of charge, even after office hours!
We are very happy with our stay, and would gladly come back the next time we're in Cairns!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed with family of 4 in 2 bedroom townhouse very clean plenty of space kevin and Linda wonderful people always very helpful close to esplanade restaurants great pool bbq area will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koutso66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#13 of 84 in Cairns
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vision Cairns Esplanade
Vision Cairns Esplanade
#14 of 84 in Cairns
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#22 of 84 in Cairns
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waters Edge Apartments
Waters Edge Apartments
#17 of 84 in Cairns
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £98 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing