We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are nicer places to stay in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #16 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“There are nicer places to stay in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment on wotif. On the day we were due to check in we realized we would get there at 11am (check in 2pm) at 9.30 am I called to ask whether this would be ok, the lady (Sharon) said it would be fine, and if the apartment wasn't ready when we got there that we could leave our baggage and she would call us as soon as it was ready. We arrived at the apartments about 11.15am, I spoke to the same lady as I had on the phone and she told us to go out and get some lunch and she would call us. So we did.
Come 13.45pm we decided to call by the apartments to see if they had forgotten about us. When we got there we realized that reception had been closed from 12-2!!! I called the # for the aparttments and a lady opened up reception to check us is (finally!!).
The apartments are pretty basic and functional, however on our first morning I opened the oven to find it full of grease skits & crumbs :-( . I called reception as they 'charge' a fee for any extra cleaning they have to do for you as I didnt want to have to fork out for someone else's dirty oven.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linniebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We receive numerous requests for both early check-ins and late check-outs and try to facilitate where possible, as many guests arrive early from various flights and other hotels in the area. Often, as was the case on this occasion, we are dictated by departure times of the previous guests, as departure time is 10.00 am and cleaning can only occur after that. We try to determine guest departure times on check in and work our cleaning roster around these times, however, these guests informed us they were departing early, but didn’t actually leave until after 10.00 am. This then meant we had to change our cleaning roster around and, as you can appreciate, complete your apartment later.
Normally, if guests arrive early and the apartment is not ready, we store luggage and inform the guest once the room is completed but cannot guarantee it will be done before 2.00pm, which is the official check in time, for reasons stated above.
We request that guests leave the apartment tidy with rubbish removed and dishes either washed or in the dishwasher to prevent any potential ant problems in the units, which are a constant threat in the tropics. All other cleaning is done by our cleaning staff.
If you have any issues with the units, please don’t hesitate to contact us and we will endeavor to have them rectified.
Yours sincerely
Kevin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    96
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the getaway. Fantastic 2 bed townhouse, all the luxuries of home including a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher. A real home from home. Great location 5 minute walk to the esplanade. Very comfortable stay for a family of 5, we loved the pool and the BBQ area, well used by us on our trip. Kevin and Linda were great couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank missey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed in a townhouse which for the price was perfect - modern, comfortable, tidy and well equipped. Great location too, fairly central to esplanade and shopping centre and easily walkable. Did use taxis at night when coming back from casino, restaurants etc, they are readily available and only $7 - $8. The managers were very friendly and helpful throughout our 9 night stay. All in all we had a fantastic time in Cairns and would highly recommend this property if you are wanting a self contained apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently in a 2 bed 2 bathrooom townhouse. We arrived at about 1pm and the room was still being cleaned but we were allowed to put our cases in the room and we then went for a walk to the Esplanade (Cairns has no real beaches) which is about 5 mins away and by the time we had lunch and bought provisions the room was ready. we stayed in townhouse 2 which is up a flight of stairs and there is no lift so the less able may struggle with this room. The townhouse has the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the top floor and the kitchen, living room and utility room on the ground floor. Overall it is well equipped and spacious.
The cleaning however could have been better with the top of the fridge and blinds not having been dusted in ages and a spatlua in the drawer than was melted - its often the attention to detail that makes the difference and this was a bit lacking. That being said when pointed out the next day to Kevin & Linda these were sorted.
Kevin & Linda were excellent and gave good advice on places to go and eat as well as trips out. Id recommend the Cock and Bull pub (HUGE portions and well priced) and the Sunlover Reef Tour (just watch out for expensive 'extras').
The Apartments have a small pool - quite cold as it's their winter - but a nice place to have a refreshing dip after a long day.
The apartments are very much 'self-contained' although this was fine with us.
Location wise its a 5 min walk to the sea and the lots of places to eat and 10 mins from a Woolworths for your provisions.

It is next to a (quite grubby) Backpacker hostel although this didnt disturb us at all re noise etc.
Overall I would have given this 3.5 stars as the cleaning did let it down a bit - its better than Average but not quite Very Good in my opinion

Room Tip: The townhouse was a good choice - nice to go 'upstairs' to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and found this a great place to stay in Cairns. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and the apartment was very well equipped. The managers Kevin & Linda are really lovely people who are extremely helpful and are a good source of information on activities and tours etc. It is far enough from the centre of town to be quiet but an EASY and pleasant 15 min walk into town. Boys loved the pool and the access to WiFi. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is very tidy and comfortable and well located in my view. The hosts - Kevin and Linda go the extra mile in being helpful regarding anything that you may need.

Judging from the exterior of the other places in Cairns, this certainly looks to be one of the best and would rate it 2.5 - 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprucewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vennesla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were three girls in our twenties who spent a week at this hotel, and we didn't regret it for a second!
The rooms are very nice, spacious and well equipped, and the staff/managers are great! Im sure that there are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns, but if customer service is important to you - this is the place to stay. Kevin, Linda and Denise were great, giving us tips on what to see and do, which excursions to choose etc. And they helped us book all tours and excursions free of charge, even after office hours!
We are very happy with our stay, and would gladly come back the next time we're in Cairns!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing