We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #16 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We arrived in Cairns on January 20, but were unable to stay at the Getaway our first night, as the office had already closed for the day. The next morning, we went to the office and Kevin showed us an available suite -- even though it was only 8:30 am, he said we could check in already! Three of us stayed in the two-bedroom suite for three nights, and it was more than enough room. It had a queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed and we also had use of the barbecue beside the swimming pool. We took advantage of that! The suite also included a dining table and a large sitting area with a television. Even though it was raining quite a bit during our stay, we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, watching the interesting goings on in Cairns. An added bonus was the washer and dryer, right in the suite! Both Linda and Kevin were very helpful, giving us suggestions of things to do and places to see during our stay. It is about a ten minute walk from the beach/night market. There isn't a lift, so we had to carry our luggage up/down the stairs, but that was a small price to pay for what we got. I would readily recommend this place as one that would be a great place to stay! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Getaway On Grafton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

With lots of options of places to stay in Cairns, this place was amazing. The location was within a 10 minute walk of all the restaurants on the esplanade. I'm quite fussy when it comes to where I stay, and this place was very clean and very comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, and it was of very generous proportions. The full kitchen had eveyrthing you needed to cook a feast, and teh bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, complete with 2 bathrooms.

The gentelman that checked us in at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as well.

The pool area was terrific, and it even had a barbecue that you could use to grill your Kangaroo Burgers! At $225 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment, this place is a steal. We loved it, and if we're in the area again, will return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the complex, I'd imagine.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Excellent place to stay in Cairns.............great location. Kevin and Linda are very nice and very helpful. This is our second time at Getaway and we will be back.S.hort walk to the esplanade, restaurants, beach,shopping casino. Kevin arranged deep sea fishing for the boys
Bill and Linda Steele, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doclindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Always nice to have visitors return! Thank you for your nice comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We all had a marvellous stay at Getaway On Grafton. The apartment was very spacious and contained everything that we needed to make us comfortable. The grounds and the pool were equally pleasing. But by far the most pleasing thing about the place were the owners who were friendly and helpful. Kevin and Linda organised our tours for us. We put ourselves totally in their care and thay came up with the goods. Our family had the most spectacular holiday in Cairns and we would reccomend the Getaway package to anyone. Thank you for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for your great comments, it is always easy to work with guests that know what they want! By bundling up packages you can save a few dollars but best of all, save on precious holiday time! We would love to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We LOVED staying at the Getaway on Grafton. Well worth the money we paid. Kevin and Linda are AMAZING!!! They know the geography VERY well and are brilliant at advising where to go and where not to waste your time and money. They tune right into your needs... We have 2 young children and we spent 10 glorious days in Cairns and got to have a fantastic holiday because of the assistance and advice they imparted on us. They offered us discounts on tourist attractions (where possible), detailed maps, weather predictions and recommendations for certain activities accordingly, photos and history on most things.... Advice on local dining, shopping, entertainment, suitable for the whole family.... and they always offered a friendly smile :)

Our townhouse was spaceous, very clean and extremely comfortable, even had some but minimal beach views from our balcony. Great, clean kitchen facilities and laundry with everything we could ask for. We had everything we needed and werent deprived of anything. We will be back someday for sure. Pool and spa downstairs with a fully functional BBQ as well. Shame there are no showers down there at all, so that after check out you can still use the pool until you have to go to the airport....

Located in a quiet area, we had zero disturbances from other guests or the outside world.

Thank you Kevin and Linda for making our first ever family holiday even better... we are forever grateful and wish we could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar, the size depends on your own needs, We had a street view which was lov...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen and Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Gee, thanks for your lovely comment. We do try and help you out where we can, we all get an idea that holidays are relaxing and amazing! Truth is, it can get quite confusing and stressful and that is where our tour desk staff are great at helping you navigate your needs and budget to best fit your time and experience.. thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked here for a week before the eclipse. We looked around and found that this apartment was the best value compared with other apartments and full service hotels. We had room 2, a two story apartment with a balcony on each floor facing the street. The property is on a quiet street, and there is a hostel next door, but we were not disturbed. There are so many hostels in Cairns, almost every hotel / apartment is near a hostel. The Getaway is close to everything, without being downtown. The Getaway is an apartment, and not a hotel. This means you have everything needed for a home away from home (dishes, utensils, laundry, towels, linens) and you are provided a "starter" kit of coffee, soap, tissue, etc. However, after that you must provide for yourself. Rooms are not made up daily, and you are expected to leave the apartment neat and tidy. We found the apartments very comfortable, and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elops_saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! and we are pleased you recognized we are "Holiday Apartments" Being a small group of self catering apartments you can feel that home away from home comfort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I shared a two bedroom apartment with friends within this complex for 10 days in November. The complex is around a 10 minute walk to the Cairns esplanade with its restaurants, shops and boardwalk. The walk is easy and relaxing and the atmosphere in Cairns is just so good you will not want to leave - ever.

The apartment was very clean and comfortable with tiled floors, air conditioning and ceiling fans. It is fully equipped with serving settings for four people and should you feel the need, there are basic cooking facilities, although there are several very good restaurants within an easy walk and a really nice pub just up the road about a 5 minute walk.

The management of the complex is run by a very nice and efficient couple who are always helpful and very knowledgeable about tourist places and events in and around Cairns.

It is our intention to come back, and as soon as we can. I give this place five stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregNightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing