We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!!!!”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had such a great in Cairns. We didn't know what to expect and we were very happy that we we had booked such a great place. It was clean, spacious and beautiful. Our son enjoyed the pool and the BBQ is very nice. Linda and Kevin helped us with all the bookings and for the things to do in Cairns. You will need a car and drive arround. The town center is an easy walk. I recommended this place to a friend who is going to visit Cairns and I would recommend it to anyone. Don't look elsewhere.

Thanks for the lovely stay.
Christian, Isabelle and Philippe

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Getaway on Grafton and for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Adviser reviewers. We loved having you stay with us , it is such a long way from Canada. We have your lovely drawing of Nemo the Clown fish displayed in our office on on our facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    97
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
179
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moranbah
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had intended to use our camping trailer but due to the heavy rains previous we decided to stay in apartment for few days. Kevin and Lynda were excellent host with lots of local knowledge. The rooms were exceptionally clean and modern. The pool and BBQ area was great also.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a great stay at the Getaway. Close walking distance to the Esplanade. Clean and spacious accomodations (we rented a 2 bedroom). The office staff was very friendly and helpful in answering all of our questions. We would definately stay at the Getaway again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grafton, nsw, australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

had a great stay at getaway, the facilities were great but the best thing was the personal service given by Kevin and lynda, they really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texwhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! Linda and I enjoy meeting people and like to help make your stay a great memory!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We arrived in Cairns on January 20, but were unable to stay at the Getaway our first night, as the office had already closed for the day. The next morning, we went to the office and Kevin showed us an available suite -- even though it was only 8:30 am, he said we could check in already! Three of us stayed in the two-bedroom suite for three nights, and it was more than enough room. It had a queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed and we also had use of the barbecue beside the swimming pool. We took advantage of that! The suite also included a dining table and a large sitting area with a television. Even though it was raining quite a bit during our stay, we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, watching the interesting goings on in Cairns. An added bonus was the washer and dryer, right in the suite! Both Linda and Kevin were very helpful, giving us suggestions of things to do and places to see during our stay. It is about a ten minute walk from the beach/night market. There isn't a lift, so we had to carry our luggage up/down the stairs, but that was a small price to pay for what we got. I would readily recommend this place as one that would be a great place to stay! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

With lots of options of places to stay in Cairns, this place was amazing. The location was within a 10 minute walk of all the restaurants on the esplanade. I'm quite fussy when it comes to where I stay, and this place was very clean and very comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, and it was of very generous proportions. The full kitchen had eveyrthing you needed to cook a feast, and teh bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, complete with 2 bathrooms.

The gentelman that checked us in at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as well.

The pool area was terrific, and it even had a barbecue that you could use to grill your Kangaroo Burgers! At $225 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment, this place is a steal. We loved it, and if we're in the area again, will return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the complex, I'd imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Excellent place to stay in Cairns.............great location. Kevin and Linda are very nice and very helpful. This is our second time at Getaway and we will be back.S.hort walk to the esplanade, restaurants, beach,shopping casino. Kevin arranged deep sea fishing for the boys
Bill and Linda Steele, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doclindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Always nice to have visitors return! Thank you for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 64 in Cairns
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing