We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in Cairns at Getaway”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great holiday in Cairns at Getaway”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My friend and I were delighted with our 2 bedroom apartment and help in booking tours. Owners very friendly and helpful. Great location within 20 min easy walking distance of shops and esplanade. Air conditioning in bedrooms and living area, well supplied kitchen - great for self catered holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    97
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
179
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Couldn't agree more with Skateheads review.
The owners are so friendly and courteous, the rooms are very clean, modern and quite spacious. The kitchen had everything you needed and the shopping centre was such a short driveaway for all groceries etc. We had a very quiet unit which was great (backpackers did not affect us as we were on the other side) and felt safe at all times there. It is a great price for everything that you get...I think the best thing for us though was LOCATION.
We are a small family (4 & 2 yr old) and location was just perfect for both Muddys and the Lagoon. My eldest easily could scoot along whilst we walked with youngest in stroller. We went down I think everyday, if not twice a day - the esplande is fantastic!
All in all though as an overall package it really is an awesome price - I couldnt find better so close to the esplanade and with such great reviews. Highly recommended (I dare say you will see us back again in the future). PS.Thanks also for the recommendation of a fantastic Karanda Rail/Skyrail trip - was truly a highlight (the driver/tour guide was fantastic)!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Very clean two bedroom apartment. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. Very clean! Beds were very comfortable. Free parking. Good location. Easy walking to restaurants. Only draw back is that it's next door to a backpackers hostil (although they did quiet down by 10pm each night).

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vaughancm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We recently stayed in Getaway and again had a really great Cairns experience. We would recommend Getaway with confidence for a great example of true value Cairns apartment rental.
It's plain to see why people would often review this property in terms of "can't wait to go back there again". The property is exactly as described (not always with others). Really spacious sized apartment (Unit 10, 2Br/2Ba Townhouse), very tasteful modern decor and well appointed and equipped (most especially for the price) when one considers the overall value.
A relaxed and comfortable feeling about the whole complex.
Location is quite OK for anyone with medium walking skills to Esplanade/Shields St/Mall /Lagoon etc. Nice walk along the boardwalk. This property is really positively managed by Kevin and Linda in a very helpful, personal but relaxed, low key (Cairns) manner.
You may find a better location, you may find a 5 Star room, or even a lower room rate, but (just as described by many reviewers!) Getaway hits the 5 stars for delivering the optimal "mix" that many experienced practical travellers truly seek. If that's your objective, you won't be dissapointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We spent 3 days in Cairns, and rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath at Getaway On Grafton. The unit was clean and spacious and met our needs quite well. During the days, we were touring and during the evenings we dined out. So basically, we used the unit for sleeping and showering. We especially appreciated the washer/dryer since we were on an 11 day trip and purposely packed light with the idea of doing laundry mid-stay. Dining, shopping and groceries were all within a ten minute walk. The staff was very friendly and eager to answer questions and help out in any way they could.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbw8461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was a great trip and a great place. The room was large and comfortable.
Kevin was very helpful, helped us plan our trip and gave great advice based on local knowledge. He also suggested the most appropriate tours for our needs. He was happy to help us in all our questions. Would love to re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had a really good experience here! The room is big,clean and good decorated.Bed is very comfortable.We stay in a family room with a kitchen. You can find all facilities and convenience in it.It's realy like in yor home.Hotel staff were very friendly. They gave us good service and detailed information for our tour.We will chose this hotal again if we have chance to be Cairns next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiaojing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thanks for your comments, it is always a pleasure to meet happy travelers! We hope to see you again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing