We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

on our recent visit to cairns with two friends we shared a 2bedroom 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the pool. we couldn't have been happier with the location, service, price and ammenities. kevin was more than helpfull with advice on places to eat at reasonable prices and local attractions, a good bloke to have a chat too.we stayed for a week, returning after travelling for two weeks for a final night before flying out.GREAT VALUE, in every way.

Room Tip: we were 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay immensely... our 2 bed apartment was clean, spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated. The hosts were very friendly and really helpful. The Getaway is very conveniently located, walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, esplanade and loads more! Kids loved the pool even though the pool was a little chilly! Only drawback was the backpackers next door, could get a little rowdy but never too late and we never felt unsafe. Overall it was great accommodation and we would recommend it others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrangerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed a total of six days at Getaway on Grafton in Cairns, one day before traveling to the Outback and five days after the trip. It is important to understand that Getaway is not a hotel, it is a self contained apartment, which means you are responsible to manage your own residence. That being said, Getaway was a perfect place for our stay in Cairns. Additionally, Getaway stored my extra luggage for the week I was in the Outback. When I returned my luggage was waiting for me in our unit.

Our fully furnished unit, #5, had a well equipped kitchen including a dish washer, microwave, and refrigerator, washer and dryer, covered parking, dining area, and a large living room with flat screen TV and DVR. With the warm weather in Cairns we found the washer and dryer especially helpful. The Resident Managers, Kevin and Linda, were very attentive to my needs and willing to help provide travel assistance for the Greater Cairns area.

The location is a couple of blocks from the beach and city center, with a major supermarket within walking distance. Every apartment has an outside porch with furniture, and use of the swimming pool, spa, and BBQ facilities. If you willing to make your own bed and clean-up after yourself, Gateway is dandy!

Room Tip: Two bedroom superior units offer two bedrooms with King beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi, thanks for your review, always great to meet people from different places! Makes our job enjoyable when meeting people like yourselves! :)

Getaway is a small group of self - catering apartments, so it is more like staying in a rented apartment than a motel room. We do provide the linen and towels, which are changed mid stay if staying 5 nights or more. (every 5th day), apart from arrival, the linen change is the only other time we make your bed.. so you have the place to yourself!..

Jut a little TIP: The Superiors are Queen and 2 x Singles - the singles can be made into Kings if advised prior to arrival date.
All our other apartments have the capacity to be 4 x Single bedding or 2 x King (or a mix of both), To have anything other than the standard (King and 2 x Singles) we ask you notify us prior to arrival as on check in (during office hours) there is a housekeeping fee for changes to the bedding configuration (after hours would be too late)
PS.. change of bed config prior to arrival is a FREE service :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Spacious well equipped apartments, great pool and location. Only drawback the party central asylum backpackers next done - had to sleep with earplugs every night and still woken by yahoos most nights at least once in early hours. Nice hosts and very helpful. Only the backpackers will stop us returning.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the end away from the backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Getaway on Grafton offers reasonably good value accommodation, 10 - 20 mins walk into the tourist restaurant and bars. It is a good place to base your Cairns holiday if you are looking to take day trips to the reef etc. It is not a resort! The pool is small but unheated, it was too cold even for us Tasmanian's to use in July! but would be ok in summer. The rooms though are large. we had a two bedroom, two bathroom unit. The beds are very comfortable and they have all that you want. Not luxurious, just starting to show some signs of age but very comfortable and functional.
It has free parking. The very untidy asylum backpackers is next door. we had the room next to it but we had no hassle with noise from there as some reviewers commented on.
If you want a self contained holiday base for exploring the region this is a top option, however, if you are after a resort type place or want to be nearer to the action and restaurants I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My friend and I were delighted with our 2 bedroom apartment and help in booking tours. Owners very friendly and helpful. Great location within 20 min easy walking distance of shops and esplanade. Air conditioning in bedrooms and living area, well supplied kitchen - great for self catered holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Couldn't agree more with Skateheads review.
The owners are so friendly and courteous, the rooms are very clean, modern and quite spacious. The kitchen had everything you needed and the shopping centre was such a short driveaway for all groceries etc. We had a very quiet unit which was great (backpackers did not affect us as we were on the other side) and felt safe at all times there. It is a great price for everything that you get...I think the best thing for us though was LOCATION.
We are a small family (4 & 2 yr old) and location was just perfect for both Muddys and the Lagoon. My eldest easily could scoot along whilst we walked with youngest in stroller. We went down I think everyday, if not twice a day - the esplande is fantastic!
All in all though as an overall package it really is an awesome price - I couldnt find better so close to the esplanade and with such great reviews. Highly recommended (I dare say you will see us back again in the future). PS.Thanks also for the recommendation of a fantastic Karanda Rail/Skyrail trip - was truly a highlight (the driver/tour guide was fantastic)!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#9 of 83 in Cairns
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
0.1 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#25 of 83 in Cairns
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing