We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Moonambel
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We (2 Adults & 2 Kids 13 & 10) booked a 2 bed 2 bath deluxe unit for 7 days and got the surprise of a lifetime on arrival when we were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade to a townhouse! Absolutely lovely managers, extremely friendly and helpful. The room was so luxurious it made our holiday. It was walking distance to shopping, Muddys playground, the lagoon and esplanade. Great secure parking, puts you at ease with the hire car safely tucked away. The pool is beautiful and makes you really feel like you're living a rock star lifestyle. The BBQ area has utensils for you to use, it even has sauce!! The managers Kevin and Linda have really thought about how to make a holiday really enjoyable and memorable. Great job guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    98
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
181
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I and our two young children stayed for a total of nine nights in late July/early August 2013. While the apartment was certainly spacious enough and the service was excellent, we were given an apartment on the third floor and without a lift, this meant we were lugging two young children up two flights of stairs on numerous occasions each day, which became rather tiresome. Also, while the pool looked lovely and inviting, it was absolutely freezing, even the spa wasn't heated. This meant the kids had very little interest in swimming in the pool and when you are holidaying in Cairns, swimming with the kids should be one of the highlights. One last criticism was that there was often noise from the accommodation next door and various noises from the plumbing that impacted a couple of times on the kid's sleeping. Overall, the apartment was reasonably priced and as previously mentioned, the service could not be faulted. I think next time we stay in Cairns though, we might spend a bit extra on accommodation more suited for a stay with young children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Getaway is a small group of apartments with no lift (we have mentioned this plenty of times throughout our advertising), For those of you reading this review, thought I would let you know how the levels are, Most of our Deluxe apartments are on the First level, with most of the Townhouses are on the second level, the Superiors vary from first level to second level. The Townhouses also have stairs internally, taking you to the bedrooms, each with private bathrooms.

1 Ground Level (2 x Deluxe only)
2 First Level - 1 set of stairs of about 13 steps
3 Second Level - another set of stairs of about 13 steps

The pool is not solar heated and the spa runs off the pool water.. (not many hot tubs in the tropics) The water through the depths of winter will get down to about 22-24 deg.. so not quite freezing!, to make up for this our days are generally around 26-28 deg. The water temp from Nov to Mar will be in the high 20s and on occasion in Feb it has bee as warm as the coral sea of around 30 deg.. glide in temp.

You were unfortunate about the plumbing noise, it took a few days for the plumber to resolve the knocking..but as attended to as soon as Kevin knew. (he was quite frustrated with it too!)

Thanks again for feedback it often helps us to resolve issues or myths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

on our recent visit to cairns with two friends we shared a 2bedroom 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the pool. we couldn't have been happier with the location, service, price and ammenities. kevin was more than helpfull with advice on places to eat at reasonable prices and local attractions, a good bloke to have a chat too.we stayed for a week, returning after travelling for two weeks for a final night before flying out.GREAT VALUE, in every way.

Room Tip: we were 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay immensely... our 2 bed apartment was clean, spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated. The hosts were very friendly and really helpful. The Getaway is very conveniently located, walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, esplanade and loads more! Kids loved the pool even though the pool was a little chilly! Only drawback was the backpackers next door, could get a little rowdy but never too late and we never felt unsafe. Overall it was great accommodation and we would recommend it others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrangerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed a total of six days at Getaway on Grafton in Cairns, one day before traveling to the Outback and five days after the trip. It is important to understand that Getaway is not a hotel, it is a self contained apartment, which means you are responsible to manage your own residence. That being said, Getaway was a perfect place for our stay in Cairns. Additionally, Getaway stored my extra luggage for the week I was in the Outback. When I returned my luggage was waiting for me in our unit.

Our fully furnished unit, #5, had a well equipped kitchen including a dish washer, microwave, and refrigerator, washer and dryer, covered parking, dining area, and a large living room with flat screen TV and DVR. With the warm weather in Cairns we found the washer and dryer especially helpful. The Resident Managers, Kevin and Linda, were very attentive to my needs and willing to help provide travel assistance for the Greater Cairns area.

The location is a couple of blocks from the beach and city center, with a major supermarket within walking distance. Every apartment has an outside porch with furniture, and use of the swimming pool, spa, and BBQ facilities. If you willing to make your own bed and clean-up after yourself, Gateway is dandy!

Room Tip: Two bedroom superior units offer two bedrooms with King beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi, thanks for your review, always great to meet people from different places! Makes our job enjoyable when meeting people like yourselves! :)

Getaway is a small group of self - catering apartments, so it is more like staying in a rented apartment than a motel room. We do provide the linen and towels, which are changed mid stay if staying 5 nights or more. (every 5th day), apart from arrival, the linen change is the only other time we make your bed.. so you have the place to yourself!..

Jut a little TIP: The Superiors are Queen and 2 x Singles - the singles can be made into Kings if advised prior to arrival date.
All our other apartments have the capacity to be 4 x Single bedding or 2 x King (or a mix of both), To have anything other than the standard (King and 2 x Singles) we ask you notify us prior to arrival as on check in (during office hours) there is a housekeeping fee for changes to the bedding configuration (after hours would be too late)
PS.. change of bed config prior to arrival is a FREE service :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Spacious well equipped apartments, great pool and location. Only drawback the party central asylum backpackers next done - had to sleep with earplugs every night and still woken by yahoos most nights at least once in early hours. Nice hosts and very helpful. Only the backpackers will stop us returning.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the end away from the backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth Town
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Getaway on Grafton offers reasonably good value accommodation, 10 - 20 mins walk into the tourist restaurant and bars. It is a good place to base your Cairns holiday if you are looking to take day trips to the reef etc. It is not a resort! The pool is small but unheated, it was too cold even for us Tasmanian's to use in July! but would be ok in summer. The rooms though are large. we had a two bedroom, two bathroom unit. The beds are very comfortable and they have all that you want. Not luxurious, just starting to show some signs of age but very comfortable and functional.
It has free parking. The very untidy asylum backpackers is next door. we had the room next to it but we had no hassle with noise from there as some reviewers commented on.
If you want a self contained holiday base for exploring the region this is a top option, however, if you are after a resort type place or want to be nearer to the action and restaurants I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing