We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a fantastic stay at Getaway.Kevin and Linda were great hosts and did all they could make it a holiday of a lifetime.The 2 bedroom unit was ideal and wanted for nothing.There was 2 couples in the unit for 10 nights with plenty of room and privacy for all.The pool was clean and the bbq facilities were great.Position of Getaway is ideal and within walking distance to sea front,shops and good restaurants.Many thanks again to Kevin and Linda for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Getaway On Grafton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff were amazing, so friendly, helpful and easy going. They really looked after us, gave us directions, advice and fun service! The apartment was great value for money with everything we needed, we enjoyed BBQs and cocktails by the pool, as well as being within walking distance to everything. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaylesMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Kevin and Linda were helpful from the time we arrived. Kevin helped plan our adventures and made our bookings for us.

The 2 bedroom apartment we had booked was great, everything we needed. We have 2 teenagers and we were all comfortable. Place itself was clean quiet and very comfortable. We used the pool there and only a couple of blocks from the Esplanade we were close to everything. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs then tell Kevin and Linda to book you on the lower levels. We have top...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for your review, Linda, Denise and myself have done most tours around Cairns, Denise is a local lady and can be quite informative! Our little tour desk has access to all the live allotments and we can ring and book for you free of charge! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed here in a very spacious 2 bed apartment for 6 nights.its just a short walk to the main esplanade in cairns. Kevin behind the desk was A1 very helpful when it came to picking a boat trip to c the reef and with other enquiries. The apartment was spotless along with the pool and the wifi was very affordable at $5 for 2 hrs not like other places. I just want to thank them for making our stay a pleasant one.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kieranmrn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a townhouse for 9 days for the four of us (2 adults and 2 kids) and loved it. It's big, roomy, self contained with a washing machine, dryer, fridge, microwave, oven etc so all we had to do was buy some groceries and we were set. Both bedrooms had an ensuite with shower and both were air conditioned, which was great cause it was hot and humid when we visited. There is a BBQ in the pool area complete with BBQ kit which contains sauces, tongs ect, which was a great touch. We had quite a bit to do with the owner Kevin, and he was friendly, helpful and knew heaps about Cairns and it's surrounds so if we had any questions he was a great help. We had to stay overnight in Palm Cove for a wedding, but kept our room, and we let Kevin know this out of courtesy and came back to our beds made up and fresh, clean towels on our beds. It was so nice to walk into that, it was a great touch.
Our room was next to the backpackers accommodation next door, and yeah they are everywhere, but seriously with the air conditioner going all night and having the ensuite door shut you wouldn't know they were there, so no complaints.
Overall, we loved this accommodation. It was a nice 10 minute walk to the main part of Cairns, the hosts were great, our kids loved the pool and we really loved it.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again nor would I hesitate in recommending Getaway on Grafton to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's old, tired, ne t toa noisy backpackers dump and in a horrid part of town.
No milk on arrival, rationed tea bags, smoking allowed on balcony.
Families living there full time.
Will never trend save money again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

WOW.. obviously you did not do your research properly!, Sometimes travelers come with a different attitude towards life and people? There was milk in the fridge, sorry.. no endless supply of tea bags? Families living here full time? Did you do a census? While we do our best towards customer service, we are not here to be abused.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The town-house was very modern and it was good to have two en-suites as we were two couples sharing the unit. Getaway on Grafton was very conveniently located to the esplanade and only a five to 20 minute walk to all sites along the esplanade and Grafton Street including supermarkets, tourist centres and restaurants. The furtherest walk was the 20 minutes to the Pier where we caught our cruise for the Barrier Reef. We expected the area to be noisy due to the nearby backpackers, however we never heard a sound when inside the unit. The beds were very comfortable and the unit had everything required to self cater, although there were a lot of great food outlets a short walk from the Getaway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the Getaway on Grafton to family and friends.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the townhouses for two couples or couple with adult child.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TazFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £100 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing