We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Getaway On Grafton
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
US$150
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
175
105
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
105
34
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom townhousethe kitchen was fully equippedbackpackers hostelhighly recommend this propertyminute walkstay there againbbq areaapartment was cleanwasher and dryerself containedwithin walking distancesecure parkinggreat place to staypool areamuddy's playgroundgreat apartmentafter hours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The appartment was a two bedroom apartment with heaps of room for two couples. It was clean and the kitchen was well equiped. The pool was very welcome in the humidity and the BBQ box beside the BBQ was a great idea. It was close to town but in an area that was not too noisey.The owners were very helpful in discussing and booking local tourist attractions. Would love to stay again when next in Cairns :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hi Lee!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Cairns is a beautiful place and we are glad that we had the opportunity to share it with you.

Many thanks for the kind words,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We arrived at midnight but had very clear instructions on how to get into the free parking after hours and picking up our key from the safety box. On trying to punch the code into the parking garage we saw a group of drunk young males approaching but disappeared before reaching us. It wasn't until we went out the next day we saw the back packers next door to the Grafton which didn't look very inviting. However thanks goodness we weren't staying there as it looked horrendous.

We stayed here for 3 nights on a fleeting visit to Cairns in a two bedroom apartment and found it was just what we needed. Very clean and comfortable and close to the city. Very quiet also with aircon and 5hrs of free internet.

I only put average for sleep quality as we had a nesting pidgeon outside our window that hooted through the night but I am a light sleeper!

Would stay here again it was great and very helpful at reception for tours and stuff to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesaustin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Getaway is a very well managed property. The owners go out of the way to be helpful. The rooms were clean with most of the mod cons. The only downside is that the location is a couple of blocks away from central Cairns (and near a dodgy looking hostel).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

we just had a great two weeks in cairns staying at the getaway on Grafton in a deluxe two bedroom ground floor apartment
due to our ageing legs.and it definitely deserved its four and half star rating. the rooms were very clean and all the linen was changed regularly , the kitchen was fully equipped including a dish washer we didn't want for anything . the pool and spa was just outside our patio, the BBQ had all utensils, condiments and plates provided, the whole complex was carefully maintained by Kevin and Linda and their staff nothing was to much trouble. we would definitely stay there again the next time we are in cairns. we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barb1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to review us and thanks for the kind comments! It is always nice to meet great people!
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Firstly, a HuuuuUUUUuuuuge thanks to Kevin & Linda who were the stars of this trip...we checked in at 5:50(10 mins before reception closed...). We let them know that we only had a couple of days and wanted to see as much as possible. A map was pulled out and they circled a dozen or so attractions that we could do the next day as we had our own car. They also booked our Great Barrier Reef tour with who we believe are(and were) the best in Cairns and added it to our room tab. The room we booked, number 20, was on the top floor and overlooked the carpark and pool area. Two bedrooms, one with a king sized bed and another room with two single beds, possible doubles(we didn't need or use this room..). The apartment had two bathrooms, three toilets in total(one in the laundry...) and every thing you would possible need for your stay including fridge, microwave, washing machine, all kitchen utensils etc..... The rooms had fans and aircon in each. The only fault i could possibly have was that the aircon unit in the main bedroom was horribly loud so we didn't use it and just turned the fan up which was more than adequate. We couldn't find a remote for the loungeroom aircon unit either but we didn't spend any time in there anyways....i'm sure this could have been resolved if we'd asked reception though...On our last day we were advised of a few great locations as we headed north and we went on our way. I'd definitely stay here again. I used the pool only once and the bbq area looked great as well beside the pool...we had our own car so we just drove into town everytime. Free parking after 5pm which was easy come dinnertime...our car was parked in the secure gated carpark at no extra cost as well....a great nights sleep was had every night. Nice and quiet...

Room Tip: Room 20 has plenty of room for a family with two kids...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jace_disgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hi Thank you for your great comment! We have done most of the tours that we sell through our tour desk and this have proven handy for helping guest select their style and budgets! We don't sell and forget.. .you come back past our desk!
thanks again
Kevin & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews