We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place that ticked every box for us..”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #17 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic place that ticked every box for us..”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were tossing up between this and another hotel prior to arriving in Cairns. After arriving, we were so glad we had chosen getaway on grafton. The apartment was clean, spacious and close to the centre without being too close to the bustle. Air con downstairs worked a treat, bedroom ones weren't as powerful but we were never uncomfortable. Kevin and his team bent over backwards to help us out and nothing was ever too hard. We will absolutely be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourfamily47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. I think your description of Getaway being "close to the centre without being too close to the bustle" is very apt.
Looking forward to having you stay again with us.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    96
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were due to check out the morning of Cyclone Ita's arrival, not only did the manager call to enquire about our plans, they also offered to hold the room in case our flight was cancelled.

Accomodation was clean and functional.

Very happy, would recommend.

Room Tip: No lifts, request ground floor if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tamika08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you , Tamika, for taking the time to post your positive review. And we are glad that your flight was not affected by the cyclone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It was not a bad place with reasonable accommodation. Well equipped but a little tired. TV and and A/C remote did not work very well. Compared with other places a bit on the dear side.Also unable to use the pool for the last 2 days as some work was going on so did not live up to their side of the contract.

Room Tip: Better off with a room looking over the pool. Rooms facing Grafton Rd suffer from traffic noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Paul,
Thank you for your review. And our apologies that the pool repairs coincided with your visit. Of course the pool area did look a bit shabby during these repairs. However, we were able to offer the pool in the neighbour complex as an alternative. And then there is always the unique and popular Lagoon area on the foreshore as well.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

rooms are big. kitchen's my favourite part. fully set, with cooking oil and condiment.
quiet environment. convenient store and nice pizza in 5 min walk. a bit far from the harbour, 15-20 walk.
staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Nicole,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked our kitchen - after all these are self-catering apartments, so a good kitchen is very important.
Indeed, we are about a 20 minute walk away from the reef fleet terminal, which is our standard answer if this question arises. And isn't it a pleasant walk along the Esplanade.
Glad you enjoyed lots of the pros of our location with convenient stores and eateries close by and a quiet neighbourhood.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were welcomed by the very friendly owner/manager. The rooms were nice and clean with the softest blankets I have ever seen. Still wondering what materiel they were made of.
The only complaint I had was the Air conditioner controls as it was set on 25 degrees which wasn't enough and you cannot change the temperature with the remote.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tasmanian764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you received our email with the information regarding the blankets.
I am sorry to hear that your room was not cool enough for you. Yes, our controls are set on 25 degrees to do our bid in saving energy. Normally, the rooms are cool enough - after all a lot of visitors come to Cairns to escape the cold. However, it may have been that your air conditioner was not set on 25 degrees although the remote showed so. This can happen when someone tries to change the setting or when the batteries of the remote get changed. Unfortunately, we did not know that your air con was not working well for you.
Nevertheless, it is great to read that otherwise you enjoyed the room and the vibe at the Getaway.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Getaway on Grafton recently and had a fantastic time. The rooms were large and comfortable. Two bathrooms was a plus as we had our daughter with us. The washing machine also came in handy as we'd already had three weeks travel before we got there and most places we stayed didn't have a washing machine. The best part of Grafton was Kevin and Linda. They went out of there way to make it easy for us. We had a long list of activities we wanted to do (there were 7 of us all with different lists including rafting, fishing, snorkelling, horse riding etc) and Kevin and Linda made a lot of phone calls and managed to get everybody what they wanted. In order to make up the numbers and make Marlin fishing affordable Kevin even came along himself. We would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Dick,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities at Getaway, the help received from Linda and Kevin as well as a multitude of the activities on offer in Cairns. I am sure Kevin did not mind to leave the office for a day.

Thank you for your review,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a WONDERFUL STAY here at the Getaway & now know why it is NUMBER ONE on trip advisor. Kevin the owner, went out of his way to be helpful in any way that we asked i.e. He used duct tape to help us fix our ripped luggage (by Quantas no less); Gave us an extra 7 hours (free) wifi when we forgot to log off the night before; Helped us book all our optional tours (which he is VERY knowledgeable of), AND gave us 5% discount on each tour; gave us laundry detergent when we had to do a load before our flight; loaned us an electrical plug adapter;and giving us GREAT restaurant recommendations. His wife, Linda, was equally helpful in the computer dept; helping me reset & reboot my iPad when I had trouble logging on his wifi; emailing scuba diving photos, on a flash drive, to my iPad, so I could share them w/friends; and solving an array of computer problems that I had. WHAT A GREAT BUNCH OF FRIENDLY & HELPFUL PEOPLE!!!

Our room (#12 in particular) was a good sized 2 bed 2 bath With All the comforts of home & GREAT VALUE for the price. The rooms were spotless, spacious, & tidy w/full kitchen, washer/dryer, HD TV, & even TWO French Press coffee carafes. Both bedrooms & the front room had powerful air conditioners and ceiling fans too; so staying cool is not a problem. No, this is not the Ritz Carlton & you will not be fawned over by some gofer. REMEMBER these are apartments & not a hotel. However you can't beat it for good comfort. Our room, #12, had a private secluded patio that joined w/the pool area; which has a BBQ area w/utensils for you to use; it even has sauce!! NICE!!! Also, when our doors were closed we did NOT hear others in the pool. Kevin has an 8 AM- 9 PM pool/spa hours so it's very quiet at night.

LOCATION
The Getaway is very conveniently located; a short walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, esplanade and a major supermarket, Woolworths,
DON'T WORRY about the ASYLUM backpackers hostel just down the street. These are just friendly young travelers w/little money looking for a cheap place to stay.
WE NEVER HEARD THEM AT NIGHT, & THEY WERE FRIENDLY WHEN WE WALKED PASSED.

RESTAURANTS:
The restaurants at the Esplanade are very good but rather pricey. Expect $40/person for dinner. GO WITH KEVIN'S RECOMMENDATIONS... There are many great & moderately priced restaurants just around the corner.

Raw Prawn (at the esplanade) - good food BUT it took A LONG time just to get our drinks & even longer to get the food. And the place WAS NOT even crowded.

Lan's Vietnamese Restaurant (just around the corner) - Very good food & good value. We even saw Kevin & family here, so if he eats here, it must be good.

Little Ricardo's Trattoria (just around the corner) - absolutely FABULOUS food & service. Waiters, Giovanni & Jade will make you feel special & want to come back. And the owner, Julie Ann Conlon will introduce herself & make sure everything is just right. Matter-of-fact we ate here several times as it is sooooo good, with great value too.

P.J. O'Brian's (near the esplanade)- Good food, great atmosphere, great value. The staff are really friendly and the food was really delicious w/large portions. They have a great $13 option - meal and a drink from the bar. We had lunch here.

In conclusion: STAY HERE. STAY HERE. STAY HERE

** One caveat - the front doorknob is very close to the door jam so watch
pinching your finger the 1st time you open/close the door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moe8-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wow...thank you for your comprehensive and detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed staying at Getaway on Grafton and that you found some good places to eat while in Cairns. Also, we are always happy to assist in any way we can.

Many thanks,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing