We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family getaway!”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #18 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent family getaway!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights and it was perfectly located with everything within walking distance but just out of the busyness of the tourist strip. This suited us perfectly and the late check- in was no problems. Staff all very helpful and provided great information.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you and your family enjoyed staying at Getaway and found our services helpful. We are always happy to help you choose and book tours or provide you with information to make the most out of your stay in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    97
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
179
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Getaway apartments on Grafton St Cairns for 8 nights during July 2014. The rooms are all very comfortable and have modern appliances. Our room had 2 bathrooms which was a great help as we travelled with teenage kids. We had an apartment at the rear which overlooked the pool and BBQ area. There is plenty of secure parking as only guests can access using a PIN code supplied. The shopping complex is a 10 minute walk or a short drive and the Esplanade is also a short walk to. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter. There is a backpacker hostel next door but the noise is managed well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sdpcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Getaway. Hopefully, we see you or friends of yours again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The place was nice and clean with modern decor and facilities. The beds were a bit hard but I suppose that is personal preference. Otherwise very helpful staff and nice good value accommodation. Good location too

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you, Eric, for your review. Sorry to hear that the beds were too hard for you. I agree that this a personal preference. I, for instance, find the beds in most accommodations too soft. Glad to hear that you found our apartments clean and good value and that you enjoyed the location and our help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just had a week to spare and were looking for somewhere close to everything in the city. Getaway was a great choice. The apartment was spacious and the balcony meant we could sit in the sun and have our breakfast. The weather was great for the week, even though the locals said it was quite cool! We had a very good stay and would return here the next time we go to Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I am glad that you experienced some sunshine and warmer temperatures than in Melbourne. Cool weather is all relative, up here it means that the temperature drops to around 12 degrees Celsius over night and daytime highs are in the mid-twenties.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallett Cove, SA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent 4 nights here in July 2014. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome by our hosts. Our flight from Adelaide was an early one, so we were in Cairns by 11am and far too early to check in. However, Markus at Getaway on Grafton was most helpful, storing our cases while we went for a walk into town for coffee and some lunch.

Markus rang me at 1pm to say we could check in early, the bags were in our room and key in the key safe. Now that's customer service.

Later when we got back Markus was again very helpful offering information about places to eat and by provisions for breakfast etc. Offered to help with tours too, but we declined as we were there just to chill out as we'd been to Cairns before.

The accommodation is great. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom family apartment and it was spacious and clean. Our family is 2 adults and 2 teenagers (17 & 14) and we were never under each other's feet - there is plenty of room. The kitchen has everything you need to cook meals if you don't want to eat out. There's plenty of convenience stores nearby as well as bottle shops and it's only a 15 minute walk into the city centre.

The pool and BBQ area is great, we used both while we were there. Plenty of space in the car park too and it's all secured by gates with codes to get in.

Reviews here complain about the backpackers next door, not sure what there problem is because the 'party' area of the backpackers is well away from the Getaway, we never heard a thing in the whole time we were there.

I thoroughly recommend the Getaway on Grafton and will be back next time we're in Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you, Iain, for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation, facilities and service. Even though our normal check-in time is 2 pm, we will do our best to enable earlier check-ins.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Getaway on Grafton last week for a total of 6 nights. The manager (Kevin) was very friendly and helpful, with nothing too much to ask. There was a cancellation the previous day, so knowing we had children, he changed our room to the ground floor, with direct gate access to the pool.

Kevin was a wealth of knowledge, providing tips and hints on how to maximise our stay, and he was all too willing to assist with bookings and enquiries. He even posted our daughter's postcard for us, on our last day there !! Such warmth, friendliness, understanding and willingness to go out of their way to help makes such a difference and adds to the enjoyment of staying at a place.

Getaway is great value for money. The rooms were spacious, clean and had all the necessary cooking, cleaning and washing accessories and detergent.

Our family likes to walk and exercise, so we didn't mind the 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Cairns, or to the main shopping centre. It is a very short walk to Muddy's playground, which is an exceptional kids playground.

I'd happily stay at Getaway On Grafton again, and would thoroughly recommend this as an option to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you, Ophet, for your very positive review. We are always happy to help with information and tips so our guests can make the best of their time in Cairns. Thanks also for mentioning Muddy's playground. Having this playground so close by makes Getaway's two bedroom apartments perfect for families.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just completed another very successful event tour in Cairns, making great use of the excellent accommodation and facilities at Getaway for our 3rd time in countless visits to Cairns over the past 10+ years. So we tried quite a few. Getaway really is as it's described. The rooms are genuinely spacious (2 Br/2Br on double story apartment provides incredible space and living area/s compared to a regular hotel room style box.) And everything just works.

Our rooms were clean, really well appointed and stocked with all the equipment one could ever need for a "getaway" vacation in tropical Cairns. Yes, even and iron and ironing board, and no we didn't ! The layout of the various apartments ensures good separation, you don't feel you're living in someone else’s pocket. The overall complex is well designed and located, it's a short and doable walk from everywhere (20 minutes to the Reef Terminal along the very pleasant boardwalk - and a lot less to anywhere else along the main side of Shields St etc.)

The property is extremely well managed by Kevin and Linda who go to a lot of extra effort to ensure everything is "just right". As we have said previously, in Cairns you can pay a lot more, or pay a bit less. But if true value and a great stay is what you're seeking, have a good look at Getaway.

The real score should be the number of guests who would re-stay there again and again. Getaway clearly runs on quality repeat client business, eschewing the fast buck in favor of a longer term quality business model. That's the sure sign of a great property, well managed presenting true value. Winner.

Thanks again, we look forward to be back.

Room Tip: 2Br/2Ba is a fantastic "luxury" of extra space and ideal layout for family or group of fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your repeat business and for taking your time to leave another review on this page. Hopefully, we see next year again.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing