We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #14 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We spent 4 nights in our appartement. Had booked 1 bedroom appartement and were upgraded to a really large 2 bedroom appartement with fully equipped kitchen, flat-screen TV, washing machine, dryer, aircon. Staff was very friendly and helpful with booking our trips to the Great Barrier Reef. Place was very quiet - we did not hear the backpackers from next door. Everything very clean, carpark included, nice pool and BBQ. 5h WLAN complimentary. Takes about 15min walking to Cairns Esplanade and Lagoon. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank The_Lassnig_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    96
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The place was clean, spacious (2 bedrooms) and the pool was clean and nice.
There is Wifi in the rooms, but you have to pay for it. We nevertheless got 5 hours free use when we booked.
Recommended for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiviti2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was OK. It had everything we needed. It was quite a walk into central Cairns. The pool area was small but there was a poolside BBQ which we used a couple of times. The air conditioning unit in the main bedroom was very noisy in fact we had to turn it off the first night, which unfortunately meant that we could hear the noise from the next door backpackers hostel. Like I said it was just Ok but would probably stay somewhere else if we were to visit Cairns again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
These photos are over 4 1/2 years old and not only have the owners changed in this time the rooms have had 2 upgrades since they were taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

Unit was very spacious. We had 2 bed but only one bathroom 2way entrance, which could be a little difficult if 2 couples sharing. Only supplied with one towel each no change during the week. Staff helpful when booking barrier reef trip. Further from the city centre than it appears on the map. We had some disturbed nights as there is a Backpackers next door.

  • Liked — Unit was spacious
  • Disliked — Lack of towels 1 each and no change 2way bathroon caused some problems with door into bedroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jancarlraydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
New managers and have been here since March 2010, Sorry to hear about your expectations. 2 Bedroom 1 bathroom is a Superior and the cheapest of the range, they are still fully self contained and quite spacious, but budget on the bathroom side. The apartments are self catering with full cooking, dishwasher, washing facilities etc. There should have been fresh linen by the 5th day (clean towels, fresh bedding, tea towels etc) We are about 10 - 15 min walk from the CBD, the city is flat, so easy to walk. The backpackers next door have had moments in the past , and nearly 18 mths ago they have had curfews put in place. Most of the time you don't know that they are there, but we do keep in touch with the owner to resolve any noise complaints. Hopefully this helps any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Just returned from 8 nights at Getaways On Grafton. We stayed in a 2 bdm townhouse suite which was spacious with the 2 rooms on the second floor. The suite itself was clean but the rugs, carpets and fabric cushions were full of stains. The "wireless internet" available was only available within a close proximity to the office (in the pool area) and the first 2 hours per stay is complimentary. The one computer in the office for customer use was down during the entire 8 nights we were there. So, if you have a laptop and you don't mind sitting by the pool to use the internet it's not a big problem. The hotel itself is away from the touristy shops and restaurants yet still within walking distance about 15 minutes to the Esplanade and downtown. It is also located beside a run down hostel which is ironically named the Asylum. The inmates did come to life at night and may keep the light sleeper awake if you are staying on the side close to Minnie St. On the fourth day there was a change of linen and towels and the garbage was emptied. Other than this you are on your own for cleaning the suite. The living room only seats 3 people in outdoor wicker furniture, strange for such a spacious suite. Also, there is no stereo or dvd player or bbq on the deck. Not a bad place to stay but for close to $200 per night a few luxuries would have been nice.

  • Liked — spacious, comfortable beds, modern kitchen
  • Disliked — lack of internet in the room, lack of comfortable seating in the living room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing