We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy melb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Chaparral Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Cairns B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy melb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found the accommodation to be quite good ( a little compact) . For a family of four we found it very neat clean and great value for money. Great BBQ facilities and clean neat pool ( which we often had to ourselves ) we had clean linen changes every three days and are at functional kitchen which served us well enough for a family to prepare some basic dinners , breakfasts and lunches.
Easy bus services just a few metres from the hotel or just a few min drive to main city. 20 min walk to City which was fairly easy too ... Free wifi which is a bonus.great zircon in every room. Very comfortable. ( another review writes you can't adjust temp of air con but we were able to adjust to suit us ) I would recommend for a value family friendly but not too budget accomodation . Only con ... The beds were definitely clean but not the most comfortable .

Room Tip: For a family go the two bedroom option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
11
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were impressed with our motel style accommodation when we stayed recently. The kitchenette was a bonus. Neat & tidy with well kept gardens. Would recommend this to anyone looking for value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed14 nights very disapointed with management allowing some of the rooms to be used by sex workers.Our room under 207 was exremely noisy with all the action that was going on .Made a number of complaints to management with regards of what went on,and it took 10 days to be relocated . Also I find the smoke alarm way to close to the cooking facility to make full use of it but the bbq area makes up for it

Room Tip: upper level is better less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 529wantirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

One nighter out early next morning, cheap is good. Dont need nothing too fancy, and the High Chaparral futted the bill, and was quite a suprise. It is exactly what it is, a good budget motel, big room, big bed, clean sheets, big shower, nice towels well clean. Well positioned for supplies, kebabs, fish n chips, local grocer come supermarket, pizza, 5 minutes gets you to the Cock and Bull where 15 bucks gets you what just be the the biggest meal going, so its well positioned. Theres a bit of a hike to town or the esplanade, 20 mins, but its well positioned for an exit by air. Great falue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were here for a couple of nights and whilst this place is not a world-beater it is fine. We had to move between rooms and I have to say they are spotless. It's an old place and on the highway. Well cared for. The staff are pleasant enough and we had no problems. A decent BBQ area and small pool. Don't expect 5 star and you'll be fine. It's a budget motel with 80s decor but decent.

You have to drive to the city centre or walk around 20-25 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The place is nicely located on Sheridan St. and in walking distance to downtown. The rooms are spacious and beds are good. Excellent WiFi-connection free of charge!
The rooms are not cleaned very well, if housekeeping shows up at all. It would need a thorough refresh. Otherwise nothing fancy, nothing bad. The owners seem to be pretty relaxed and not very interested in what's going on.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribtravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#30 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Chaparral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Chaparral Motel

Property: High Chaparral Motel
Address: 199-205 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star affordable hotel in the heart of Cairns, situated off of the Northern Approach to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your High Chaparral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing