We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed, very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Chaparral Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Cairns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights in early November; very comfortable. Great to have the well stocked kitchenette. It was just down the street from a small market where we got some breakfast items for the room, and several fast food venues, plus a nice restaurant, so something for everybody. The staff helped us with printing out a voucher for our reef tour the next day and also made reservations for us for Kouranda, so very helpful. They called taxis for us, which were the best way to the pier terminal for the reef tours as well as back to the airport. Excellent value and good location, just across from a park, not too far from anything so taxis were affordable, easier and cheaper than a rental car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here while waiting to go on our Coral Princess Cruise of the Great Barrier Reef. We found it to be clean & comfortable. We found the staff to be most helpful & pleasant. It's in a good location, close to a bus stop, public phone, supermarket, liquor store and plenty of eat in or take away food outlets. The kitchenette facilities were great too. We were comfortably able to walk to and from Cairns Central shopping centre & The Pier & Swimming Lagoon. As we had been to Cairns before we did not hire a car, so this location was good. It rained quite a bit, so we were happy to enjoy the in-room movies available. Air- conditioner worked well, but it was great to also have the choice of opening the windows & having a ceiling fan, as an alternative. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting and others were enjoying it. Will definitely keep this motel in mind when making our next trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: Ours was a downstairs motel unit with kitchenette. Small but comfortable with a little outside area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We are a family of four and stayed 9 nights here. We found this to be a comfortable place to stay in the 2 bedroom apartment. Like others have said perhaps a little compact in the living area but as it was really only a base (as most of our time was out exploring the area) it was not an issue. Bedrooms were a good size and beds comfy. The full kitchen was great and very handy.

The bbq / outdoor garden area was used lots by us as it was a great spot to eat meals. The pool was larger than it looks in pictures and is very clean. The motel is within walking distance to Cairns (which we did a couple times) however the use of a car we found handy as it is not super close (reef tour departures are about 2.5km away). There are numerous small shops, a supermarket and takeaways a short walk away - including a nice fish and chip / burger place across the road from the Captain Cook statue (you'll spot this easily).

A bonus was being able to access the room at 7am, the morning we arrived, as it wasn't occupied the night before. We were thus able to have a sleep in the morning and recover from jet lag quicker.

Overall a nice place to stay and base a family when in Cairns on holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found the accommodation to be quite good ( a little compact) . For a family of four we found it very neat clean and great value for money. Great BBQ facilities and clean neat pool ( which we often had to ourselves ) we had clean linen changes every three days and are at functional kitchen which served us well enough for a family to prepare some basic dinners , breakfasts and lunches.
Easy bus services just a few metres from the hotel or just a few min drive to main city. 20 min walk to City which was fairly easy too ... Free wifi which is a bonus.great zircon in every room. Very comfortable. ( another review writes you can't adjust temp of air con but we were able to adjust to suit us ) I would recommend for a value family friendly but not too budget accomodation . Only con ... The beds were definitely clean but not the most comfortable .

Room Tip: For a family go the two bedroom option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were impressed with our motel style accommodation when we stayed recently. The kitchenette was a bonus. Neat & tidy with well kept gardens. Would recommend this to anyone looking for value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed14 nights very disapointed with management allowing some of the rooms to be used by sex workers.Our room under 207 was exremely noisy with all the action that was going on .Made a number of complaints to management with regards of what went on,and it took 10 days to be relocated . Also I find the smoke alarm way to close to the cooking facility to make full use of it but the bbq area makes up for it

Room Tip: upper level is better less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 529wantirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

One nighter out early next morning, cheap is good. Dont need nothing too fancy, and the High Chaparral futted the bill, and was quite a suprise. It is exactly what it is, a good budget motel, big room, big bed, clean sheets, big shower, nice towels well clean. Well positioned for supplies, kebabs, fish n chips, local grocer come supermarket, pizza, 5 minutes gets you to the Cock and Bull where 15 bucks gets you what just be the the biggest meal going, so its well positioned. Theres a bit of a hike to town or the esplanade, 20 mins, but its well positioned for an exit by air. Great falue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Chaparral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Chaparral Motel

Address: 199-205 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star affordable hotel in the heart of Cairns, situated off of the Northern Approach to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your High Chaparral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing