We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely stay here again”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Norman O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a suitable environment for a quiet extended stay.”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Noisy neighbours caused a lot of grief during our 8 weeks stay.
Police were called due to loud music being played.
Also neighbours dog howling every day while property owners were not at home.
Very stressful environment. Left property early.
Even a letter addressed to the owner did not generate a response.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Z
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here with three kids in September and would highly recommend it to families. The Kingfisher local shop does some great pizzas for an easy meal on arrival, and there is a Coles shopping centre 5 minutes doesn’t the road. Definitely go and have a look at the Crystal Cascades, we went there on our last day and wished we’d gone earlier. Mary was an awesome host, nothing is too much trouble. It’s about a 25 minute drive into the centre of Cairns, so you definitely need a car to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Hi guys
So glad you had an amazing time. It's a hidden secret with the beauty and surroundings of the area. Hope we get to see you again.
Mary and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghzdtgv
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Relaxation - the rainforest to the reef”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family for the week to escape the rat race of the city and to explore cairns, I wanted the rainforest and ocean reef experience and this is exactly what I got and much more. The home is immaculate the photos simply do not do it any justice, it's simply amazing, we got much more than we expected and didn't realise the swimming holes and waterfalls were so close. Mary was the best host, my children loved her and we were all sad to leave .. we will be back Highly recommend to all.. The Connors

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
So happy you all had an amusing time. You have an awesome family and our doors are always open for your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithO21...
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely spacious modern house on edge of rainforest with swimming pool, barbecue and very well equipped. 20 mins from Cairns CBD and very central to main tourist areas around such as Port Douglas, Kuranda, Scenic Railway, Atherton Tablelands, Yungaburra. Mary a very hands-on host and will make bookings for you at the drop of a hat. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Hi Judith

so pleased that you found our property a great place to stay and you would 'highly recommend ' xxxxxx thank you and welcome back any day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smasham10...
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I would highly recommend The Rainforest Family Retreat, it has everything you could need! It was very comfortable and Mary totally went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of.

It was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Guys thank you so much for a great review and I am so happy you all had a great time. It was a delight to have everything perfect for you.

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We Stay with Mary all the time it's like my second home, at all of the locations.
Magic time with my daughters!
I travel all over the world and it so nice to have a second home that feels like home with a huge splash of luxury

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dave

You and the girls are a delight every time you stay at the Homestead BnB Redlynch Cairns. Thank you for a great review ...our aim is to grow with positive comments of such..we look forward to your next visit.
Mary and the crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne969
South Pacific
1 review
“Amazing House, Amazing Customer Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This property has absolutely everything you need. As we had a young baby with us the level of comfort, cleanliness and security was very important and this property ticked all the boxes. The owner obviously takes great pride in providing great accommodation and matches the quality of the property with excellent, friendly customer service. I would strongly recommend this property to anyone looking for a 'home away from home'. Lots of peace and tranquility, good location, excellent facilities and an easy transaction all round. Would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
What a great little family. We were delighted to have you stay and thank you for a fantastic review.

Mary and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing