We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do it!”
Review of Royal Palm Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palm Villas
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“do it!”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

we went to cairns for two weeks recently. i looked on wotif, then rang them directly. they gave us the same price as wotif, and we got this lovely little aprtment. sure the kitchen is small, but the top floor unit we got (16) was open plan, and the balcony had views to the mountains.
for 90$ a night - this was very good value, central to cairns - a 15 min walk to cairns central, and quiet.
the hosts are quirky, their poodle "Jed Clampet" is lovely, and most of the time there (school hols) we never heard another guest.
downside: they only service the apartment weekly, which is certainly stated upfront, but this means only sheets and towels... toilet paper and soap and washing detergent are extra...
a great place for a couple for two weeks...thanks.! good value

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea6372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
geelong
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The service was superb. we had no trouble with the management and it was exactly as they described.
the rooms were very comfortable and everything was there so you could do whatever
it was very quiet and restful (peaceful)
the location was a bit bad to go to town unless you enjoy a nice 20-30 minute walk
the best thing about staying at royal palm villas was (personally) the balcony. it was comfortable and it was never cold always a good temperature. it was very enjoyable.
THE WORST THING about staying at Royal Palm Villas was having to leave such a wonderful hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwarfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Very cute, spotlessly clean, well-equipped little hotel mini-apartment. We were delighted to have a washer and dryer in our suite. The managers were extremely pleasant and helpful. Two small problems: First, a backpackers' hostel was located behind the hotel where our room was facing and there was a noisy party going on there one night; second, oddly enough there are no drawers or shelves for clothes in the apartment. We spread out on the living room sofa and easy chairs our socks, underwear, T-shirts and anything else that couldn't be hung up in the small closet .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The photo we went by when booking looked enticing, was reasonably priced and it appeared to offer all we wanted however sadly mistaken and won't ever stay, or recommend others, stay there. The pool was filthy, the bathroom less than desirable and the hidden highlight that is certainly not part of their marketing advertisement is the sleepless nights you'll endure trying to get comfortable in a lumpy bed or if you happen to find some comfort it will be short lived due to the constant passing trucks and sugar cane freight trains. A bad mistake but a valuable lesson learnt!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This is a great hotel! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I especially liked the two pools that were onsite. There are a few restaurants and a grocery store nearby. A shuttle bus going downtown leaves the hotel every hour. If you are coming back late at night cabs are to the hotel from downtown are about $20.

I would definitely recommend this place for anyone that is looking to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

This was a great value if you are willing to not be by the main hub of the city. We love walking and seeing more of a city than just the main area, so this was idea for us. It is a 20-25 minute walk to the downtown/pier area, but cabs are easily accessible.

Our room was more like a one bedroom apartment. We had a kitchen dining/living area, seperated bedroom and a charming balcony. We only paid around $105 US per night during peak season. We also had the benefit of making our morning meal each day which really helped out since restaurant prices were very high in Australia. There is a grocery only 1 block away and a pub as well.

There were only two things that keep me from giving them an excellent rating. First they scheduled a tree removal at 7:30 in the morning. Luckily we were on our way out, but had we wished to sleep in it would have been impossible with the sound of chain saws roaring. The second thing was since this was more like an apartment, you were on your own for cleaning it. We stayed nine days and it was serviced once. I didn't mind cleaning the supplies were in the room. However, when I say on your own I mean it. Once we ran out of our 2 rolls of toilet paper, we had to pay $1 a roll for new ones.

Great stay though and very comfortable!

  • Liked — The value & kitchen option
  • Disliked — Having to pay for toilet paper
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicciS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

This is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed. The hosts are very pleasant and go out of there way to make your stay comfortable. My wife and I had an 8 month old baby with us and they provided everything that we needed.

Their self catered rooms are so convenient and have everything in there you could possibly need except there is no conventional oven. The rooms are very comfortable and well catered for.

The pool and bbq area is great as too is the convenient tour desk. They were great, recommend us a whole range of tours and made the bookings for us. Every day of our week long stay was planed by them, even the taxies were booked for us. They really do provide a very personal touch to there accommodation and I highly recommend this hotel to anybody planning a stay in Cairns.

PS dont book a car, the tour desk saved us $30 on a car per day.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank uktravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
1.0 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#41 of 64 in Cairns
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#34 of 64 in Cairns
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.4 mi away
Cairns Holiday Lodge
Cairns Holiday Lodge
#55 of 64 in Cairns
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Villas

Property: Royal Palm Villas
Address: 184 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing