We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation, poor housekeeping...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Apartments
Ranked #18 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, poor housekeeping...”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for a week at the Waters Edge Apartments in early October and booked a Swim out apartment. The apartment was excellent and the pool facilities great. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with most of the features you would expect in a "5 star" establishment. The location was also good, being in fairly easy walking distance to the centre of Cairns, restaurants etc.

The downside of our stay was the quality of the apartment housekeeping with beds and linen not being consistenly and well serviced. It was hit and miss which is something you shouldn't expect for the price you pay at a place like this. Disappointingly it did not get any better after we raised concerns with management which was disappointing.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vuemanager, Manager at Waters Edge Apartments, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Waters Edge Apartments Cairns and that the apartment and pool facilities were great. With regards to servicing of the apartment, we note that Waters Edge Apartments are self-contained apartments. At times this does cause confusion with the guests, as our daily service is not comparable to what is offered at a 5 star hotel. We do provide a daily service, and this entails replacing towels, making of beds and the rubbish is taken out. We are also committed to minimizing the impact we have on our environment. We have a policy in place with respect to replacing towels. If your towel is hanging up, the cleaners assume that you want to use it again, if a towel is left in the bathtub/shower it will be replaced. There are signs in both bathrooms which explain this procedure. The bed linen is not changed on a daily basis, but is changed mid-stay if the guest is staying for 8 days or longer.

I apologise that this was not made clear to the guest during their stay, and we have now implemented procedures to inform guests upon check-in of what the daily service entails. We have also provided guests with the opportunity to raise any housekeeping concerns directy to management during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    23
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gingin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

WOW-We stopped at the swim out apartments for five nights them went up to the apartment on the top floor and where extremely impressed with the cleanliness and facilities in these apartments. Definately a five star from us( 2 adults,16,15 and a 12 year old). The swim out pool was fantastic if you can manage to book that but in saying that the top floor views were magic. A fantastic location right opposite a playground/water park and cafe which is just ideal for a small children. A two street walk to the eateries but this is a lovely broadwalk stroll and we felt fantastic location. There was no external annoying noise like some of the ones down in cairns. Highly recommend these apartments!!!

Room Tip: if you like swimming the swim out apartments are just fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Such a beautiful place that has all of the amenities of home with the added benefit of some hotel perks such as room service and cleaning. If you needed anything you just had to call or go to the main desk and ask. They are very friendly people and have no problems helping you find your way around the city. Although when booking you have the option of an ocean view or a city view, I had a magnificent view of the ocean from the back balcony and a nice view of the city from the front! Best of both worlds! Would definitely stay there again! Thanks Nick!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed there in August and were very pleased with the reservation process. They accommodated us on very short notice. However, upon arrival we were met with a locked door and not a soul at the reception. We used the phone outside to call and left numerous messages with the "after hours" manager, but to no avail. This was not the start we were looking for our australian vacation with two young kids and one infant after nearly 21 hours of flying. Luckily, after about 20 minutes a guy drove up who supposedly works at their sister facility nearby and was there dropping off some stuff. He knew how to get us our keys which were available through the lockbox outside. Apparently someone forgot to email us the instructions for key retrieval. We could have been waiting all weekend otherwise. First strike.
We had also requested a cot for our infant. We found it in the room folded by the main door. Later on at night when we decided to set it up and out came several dozens cockroaches, running all over the kids bedroom. My wife horrified and again we were on the phone calling the front desk, emergency contact. Again, no response. We threw the cot outside in the common area and decided to go for a walk to get over this horrible experience thus far. Upon return there was another cot in our room. This one seemed clean but would not lock. Worse yet, the kids room now had cockroaches running around. Somehow after managing through the night, we found someone at the lobby in the morning and they moved us into a different unit and got a new cot. Second Strike
Finally, they location claims to be a luxury facility, however the rooms only get replacement towels. No vacuum or sweep. We expected more from a "luxury" apartment. The management did give us a bottle of wine for a all our troubles, but we decidedly to leave it at the apartment upon checkout. Its a great location particularly for kids given the park across the road and the cafe. A nice 5 min stroll on the boardwalk gets you to downtown where the action is, so the location cannot be beat. Beautiful views of the sunrise from our unit. We walked all of cairns from our apartment. Just wish it was kept better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alam555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here in a 3 bedroomed suite on the top floor. Fantastic views, spa bath, huge living ara and fully equiped kitchen. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Pool is good too. I considered getting a swim out room but I am glad we didnt as they have no view and not much privacy when others are in the pool.
Location is spot on as well, probabaly a 10 minute walk to the main strip of shops and a maybe 20 to the cruise boats.
There is the muddy beach conservation ara across the road with millions of crabs. Very interesting!
A nice quiet area.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here April/May 2011. The check-in was prompt and they allowed me to check in as soon as the room was cleaned (which was early) The apartments are fantastic, with quality fixtures and fittings, a huge amount of room (we stayed in a 3 bed apartment) we were on the first floor and I would say that to get views you would need to be on a higher floor, we had a perfectly pleasant view of the pool, trees and park opposite. There was everything you could need in the kitchen. The complex is opposite a childrens playground and water splash which is great if you have kids. It is located next door to a backpackers, which I was a bit worried about, but there was no noise at all, and we were there over a weekend too. The apartment complex allocates you a parking bay which is great, you know you always have a space, and it is VERY secure, you cannot get in uless you have your swipe key from the street or anywhere.

It is located towards the end of the esplanade and is just about 1km walk to the other end, which is great. One tip- if you are able to eat out early, most restauarants on the esplanade seem to offer discounts of between 15% - 30% if you are seated before 6.30pm. As we were eating with younger children and the cost of eating out in Cairns was higher than in South Australia, we took advantage of this. Pretty much everywhere we ate was good.

I would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rntmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Great location overlooking the waterfront and an easy walk to the centre of town. Contrary to a previous review, the apartment, common areas and pool were immaculate. Not only was the decor aesthetically pleasing, but everything was in perfect order. I was given all the help I needed from Kym at reception, including booking a trip to Kuranda and ensuring we knew were to go. I was surprised in an apartment like this to have daily servicing, but it was done well. I would return to these apartments as they made our family trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: The sixth floor certainly meant great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasnoclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Apartments

Property: Waters Edge Apartments
Address: 155 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waters Edge Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing