We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for it's class” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Vaucluse Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Ranked #36 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for it's class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We normally stay in a more up-scale type of accommodation while travelling but this time we wanted to try something different. We were not disappointed. The property uses the word "Luxury" a bit loosely, or perhaps it means something different in Cairns, as the apts are not "luxurious" by our standards, but are clean, well located, and fairly comfortable.

The very old air-conditioning struggled a bit to remove humidity and maintain a comfort level for us, even though we followed the instructions exactly. However I believe it would be fine for most people.

The $5/day internet is great for those of us who need to maintain contact with the office without breaking the bank, and the room rate is better if you book directly through the property website. Bret the manager was VERY helpful with every question we threw at him.

The location is close enough to the esplanade, centre of town, and Cairns Central shopping mall that everything is only a few minutes walk away, but not so close that you get lazy. This was particularly appealing to us as we enjoy a little unscheduled exercise, and a nice walk after a big meal. Nevertheless there are plenty of very close shops and restaurants for those that are a little less mobile.

Overall the experience was good and I recommend to anyone looking for self catering budget accommodation in Cairns. Be sure to note the apts are NOT serviced AT ALL (for free) unless you stay more than a week, and you will have to clean it yourself. However you can pay a small charge if ever you want it serviced. I think it would make a great stay for people wanting to do a lot of touring and activities outside the apt.

Room Tip: Book from the hotel website for the best rate. Take top floor apt for better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    39
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at this accommodation for two weeks. We were very pleased to find the apartments to be situated in a convenient location for all services and amenities in Cairns CBD. We found the apartments to be very clean and well furnished and the kitchenette had everything we needed during our stay. Brett was very helpful and knowledgeable and assisted us whenever we required him to do so. We particularly enjoyed his sense of humour and had many a laugh and joke with him. He has a liking for chocolate and red wine (and peanuts)!!!! We would not hesitate to stay again upon our return to Cairns in the future. We will recommend this place to friends. Cheers Brett.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked this acomodartion at the last minute on Wotif without knowing anything about it. It turned out a good choice. The manager was friendly and gave us good advise about sightseeing and other information. We have been travelling for a long time and liked to prepare our own food for a change. There is a littel kitechenete fully equipedd with every thing needed. The location is close to everything and parking for the rental car was free.

Room Tip: Nothing to complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a referral from the Information Centre.Very happy with the apartment,clean, tidy and quiet,. Great location very handy to the city centre,nice pool area to relax in after a morning in the shops. Good not to have to take the car every time we went out. We did not require major cooking facilities,and what we had was more than adequate.Manager Brett got top marks from me for finding the All Blacks test live on TV,when all I could get was AFL. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank insleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here for 9 days whilst attending a conference at the Cairns convention centre. The apartments are very conveniently located for all the amenities and entertainment in central Cairns. The apartment itself was clean and nicely furnished. It was also quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Brett the owner/manager was very welcoming and helpful. A very nice touch was the provision of some milk on arrival and some tea/coffee, just what was needed after a long journey from the UK! If I ever return to Cairns I would certainly stay here again. I chose this accommodation on the basis of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. I should also add that there were three other conference attendees staying at the Villa Vaucluse and they also said how much they enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ureilite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had a very comfortable 4 night stay. It was nice to have a balcony and a separate lounge area. Very conveniently located, walking distance to all major attractions. Overall we were satisfied but not impressed. Believe we could have got more for the price elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastionLismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Location is the best feature of this hotel as it is within walking distance of shopping, lagoon, Kuranda railway. Secure car parking appreciated. Apartment was clean. Price reasonable for what we got. However, we found our apartment a bit cramped, no convenient space for luggage, uncomfortable pillows. Supplies of tea/coffee/soap etc were not replenished after the initial supply even though we were there for 4 nights. Even the hotel info. book had a stern tone to it compared to other hotels. Overall it was OK but I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#39 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#49 of 89 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairns Central Apartments
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vaucluse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vaucluse Apartments

Property: Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Address: 141 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vaucluse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vaucluse Apartments are located in Cairns' inner city - you are just seconds away from shopping, restaurants, entertainment, culture and business. The vibrant city of Cairns is in the heart of tropical North Queensland and provides the ideal base from which to explore in all directions. It combines the sophistication of cosmopolitan restaurants, boutique shops and casual pavement cafes with colorful open air markets in a relaxed and informal environment perfect for the intimate holiday for couples, if traveling alone a singles paradise or if on business the privacy of a self-contained apartment room with secure under cover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Vaucluse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing