We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - recommend try elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Ranked #38 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed with this accommodation. The rooms are dated and small. The washing machine, dryer and air conditioner in our room were extremely old and produced poor quality results. We were advised to open the doors and turn off the air con to stop the dryer from over heating, and open the doors when cooking to stop the smoke alarm from going off. The kitchen is in the main walkway - a frustrating design flaw. The room needed a thorough clean - while it was clean on the surface, there were depths of dust on some rarely used surfaces and embedded mould in the shower. The pool was in good order and an enjoyable space. It is a fairly good location with a short stroll to town and the esplanade. We had a toddler and stroller and there are many steps to negotiate to get to the street and carpark. We are regular visitors to Cairns and thought we'd try something new - we know we can get better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Banambirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

My Son and I stayed at Villa Vaucluse from Nov 7 to Nov 12, 2012. The location is good, the rooms are clean, the air conditioning was good, and the cooking & laundry facilities were a real money saver. Brett (resident manager) was very helpful getting us situated and pointing out the right tours to take and those to avoid. We saved money by walking over to Woolworth's (5 minute walk) and bought breakfast, dinner, and laundry supplies. We ate breakfast & dinner in the room and bought lunch out during the day....much cheaper. We did several loads of laundry and came home with almost no dirty clothes.....all-in-all, this was a perfect venue for my son & I to stay at in Cairns.

Room Tip: Brett has a table downstairs where people leave nonperishable items at the end of their trip. Before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d4davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights in a 1 bed-roomed apartment, which was spacious i.e. large lounge, separate bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom that also had an automatic washer and tumbler dryer.There was underground parking and a small swimming pool with sun beds.The location was superb as it was only a 5 minute walk into the heart of Cairns but far enough away so as not to hear any noise.This accommodation made Cairns an ideal base for our 6 day base. Also by staying 6 nights we got a special rate which made it very, very competitive with other establishments.

Room Tip: Ourapartment overlooked Grafton Street but it was still very quiet, it was on the first floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I normally don't stay in apartments, I don't find that they are worth the effort of having to stock the kitchen and make the beds. For short stays it really isn't worth it and my three day stay in Cairns confirms this observation.

The apartments in Villa Vaucluse are mostly privately owned and then rented out by the live-in manager, This means that the attention isn't perhaps what you would hope for, Our apartment was very basic, bits and pieces kept falling off, and other bits and pieces either didn't work or worked poorly.

The good thing about Villa Vaucluse is that they are a 5 to 10 minute walk from the city center, so you don't need a car or bus for anything, most tour operators will charge around 20$ to pick you up and drop you off, multiple this by 4 or 5 people and you have for a nice night out.

Anyway back to the apartments personally I've seen better, having said that if you are on a tight budget and need to be close to the city center then they are ok, but only just.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endevaour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We normally stay in a more up-scale type of accommodation while travelling but this time we wanted to try something different. We were not disappointed. The property uses the word "Luxury" a bit loosely, or perhaps it means something different in Cairns, as the apts are not "luxurious" by our standards, but are clean, well located, and fairly comfortable.

The very old air-conditioning struggled a bit to remove humidity and maintain a comfort level for us, even though we followed the instructions exactly. However I believe it would be fine for most people.

The $5/day internet is great for those of us who need to maintain contact with the office without breaking the bank, and the room rate is better if you book directly through the property website. Bret the manager was VERY helpful with every question we threw at him.

The location is close enough to the esplanade, centre of town, and Cairns Central shopping mall that everything is only a few minutes walk away, but not so close that you get lazy. This was particularly appealing to us as we enjoy a little unscheduled exercise, and a nice walk after a big meal. Nevertheless there are plenty of very close shops and restaurants for those that are a little less mobile.

Overall the experience was good and I recommend to anyone looking for self catering budget accommodation in Cairns. Be sure to note the apts are NOT serviced AT ALL (for free) unless you stay more than a week, and you will have to clean it yourself. However you can pay a small charge if ever you want it serviced. I think it would make a great stay for people wanting to do a lot of touring and activities outside the apt.

Room Tip: Book from the hotel website for the best rate. Take top floor apt for better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at this accommodation for two weeks. We were very pleased to find the apartments to be situated in a convenient location for all services and amenities in Cairns CBD. We found the apartments to be very clean and well furnished and the kitchenette had everything we needed during our stay. Brett was very helpful and knowledgeable and assisted us whenever we required him to do so. We particularly enjoyed his sense of humour and had many a laugh and joke with him. He has a liking for chocolate and red wine (and peanuts)!!!! We would not hesitate to stay again upon our return to Cairns in the future. We will recommend this place to friends. Cheers Brett.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked this acomodartion at the last minute on Wotif without knowing anything about it. It turned out a good choice. The manager was friendly and gave us good advise about sightseeing and other information. We have been travelling for a long time and liked to prepare our own food for a change. There is a littel kitechenete fully equipedd with every thing needed. The location is close to everything and parking for the rental car was free.

Room Tip: Nothing to complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#35 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vaucluse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vaucluse Apartments

Address: 141 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vaucluse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vaucluse Apartments are located on Grafton Street (between Aplin and Florence Streets) in Cairns' inner city - you are just seconds away from shopping, restaurants, entertainment, culture and business. The vibrant city of Cairns is in the heart of tropical North Queensland and provides the ideal base from which to explore in all directions. It combines the sophistication of cosmopolitan restaurants, boutique shops and casual pavement cafes with colorful open air markets in a relaxed and informal environment. Villa Vaucluse is quiet, secure and a perfect place to holiday for couples, solo travellers or business travellers looking for the privacy of a self-contained apartment room with secure under cover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Vaucluse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing