We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will consider staying again but not during summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Ranked #40 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Will consider staying again but not during summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

These apartments are well located and well equipped for the price and the proximity to Cairns CBD including own laundry, kitchenette and a lovely pool. We had driven some hours and being mid summer it was hot and humid. Even though we arrived late and the manager had agreed to leave the key, he was there and showed us through the apartment. However there was no airconditioning on and the apartment was sweltering hot. It is one of those systems where the electricity is put on when the key is inserted into the wall, so once you leave the apartment you also disconnect the electricity. While I appreciate it is an apartment, I believe anyone paying $110 per night in Cairns in mid summer would expect to arrive to an airconditioned room and to be able to cool the room down quickly. There were signs saying not to run the airconditioning below 24 or 25, and this took forever to cool even just the bedroom. Shame. Would consider staying again, but would not want to stay here again in the summer.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main street but the glass is double glazed and we couldn't hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitcasedwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    39
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here early September. I would give this place more like 31/2 stars. There are some pros and also some cons. We are a family of 4 with two 7yr olds so we like to stay in 1 bedroom accomodations when we can. This place fit the bill. We get the space we needed and also a well equiped kitchen so that we could have breakfasts etc. Place is a little dated but overall clean and fine. has a balcony large enough to sit outside on and it looks over a nice pool area. Location is very good - only about 3 blocks to beach. Only downside is that they seemed to nickel and dime you on extras. for example you are not allowed to take towels out of the hotel. they have some you can "borrow" but you need to pay $5 for it! that's per towel! when we checked out we asked if they could hold our luggage as our flight wasn't until later. We were told to leave our bags outside the front desk. There is no luggage holding room I guess. Brett also did not offer to put the bags behind the desk or in the office area. When I made a concern about the security of this he seemed annoyed and said that he is always there and keeping an eye on the luggage. So we left our main luggage but I did end up taking my laptop with me just in case and we left. My son said he had to go to the bathroom so we came back 5 mins later and walked thru past the front desk. Guess what? No one at the front desk at all or anywhere in that front area. our luggage still sitting there right out front. Anyone could have just walked by and taken our stuff. at this hotel there is also no daily cleaning and you have to take out your own garbage. Yes, the policy does specifiy that and we were fine with it. therefore, my recommendation is unless you get a good rate I would try somewhere else. I would only recommend this place if you definately need the extra space/kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at the Villa Vaucluse Apartments in August, for a few night before and few nights after a 4wd 10 Day Cape York Safari we had booked with Australian Wild Escapes / Frontier Safari..

The apartments were lovely, well equipped, clean, with everything we needed, nice quite room over looking the pool, could not have asked for more.. Sadly the 4wd was not so good, the vehicle broke down twice in the first few day, and the holiday was cancelled on day 4, and we all flew back to Cairns and spent 5 nights in Bay Village Hotel.. There was No satellie phone on board (as advitised on the web site), and the cook and driver told us they had not been paid their wages for the trip.

Brett the Manager is so friendly and helpful, and always goes out his way to help you.. We got directions to the "Office of Fair Trading" about the safari and headed down there..

The apartments were only a short walk into Cairns town, it was perfect..

We did take the safari matter further but the "Office of Fair Trading" told us later, "Grant Charlesworth, owner of Australian Wild Escapes/Frontier Safari had Liquidated the Company", BUT they are still trading under "Australian Wild Escapes (Oceania) Pty Ltd ~ check small print on their web site..

We did a Barrier Reef trip with "Tusa", which was amazing (see photo)

I would recommend Villa Vaucluse Apartments, enjoyed our stay there..

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank john536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Brett was a most helpful host, who does everything at this property from aiding with tour excursions to apartment maintenance and laundry. We stayed there for two separate one night stays, in different units. Each was just fine, offered everything advertised, including washer and dryer in each unit, a definite plus. Dryer was rather slow, so pace your laundering. Location is exccellent, walking distance to everything (even for two sixty somethings bearing much luggage).

Room Tip: Couldn't tell that there was a difference among rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed with this accommodation. The rooms are dated and small. The washing machine, dryer and air conditioner in our room were extremely old and produced poor quality results. We were advised to open the doors and turn off the air con to stop the dryer from over heating, and open the doors when cooking to stop the smoke alarm from going off. The kitchen is in the main walkway - a frustrating design flaw. The room needed a thorough clean - while it was clean on the surface, there were depths of dust on some rarely used surfaces and embedded mould in the shower. The pool was in good order and an enjoyable space. It is a fairly good location with a short stroll to town and the esplanade. We had a toddler and stroller and there are many steps to negotiate to get to the street and carpark. We are regular visitors to Cairns and thought we'd try something new - we know we can get better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banambirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

My Son and I stayed at Villa Vaucluse from Nov 7 to Nov 12, 2012. The location is good, the rooms are clean, the air conditioning was good, and the cooking & laundry facilities were a real money saver. Brett (resident manager) was very helpful getting us situated and pointing out the right tours to take and those to avoid. We saved money by walking over to Woolworth's (5 minute walk) and bought breakfast, dinner, and laundry supplies. We ate breakfast & dinner in the room and bought lunch out during the day....much cheaper. We did several loads of laundry and came home with almost no dirty clothes.....all-in-all, this was a perfect venue for my son & I to stay at in Cairns.

Room Tip: Brett has a table downstairs where people leave nonperishable items at the end of their trip. Before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d4davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights in a 1 bed-roomed apartment, which was spacious i.e. large lounge, separate bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom that also had an automatic washer and tumbler dryer.There was underground parking and a small swimming pool with sun beds.The location was superb as it was only a 5 minute walk into the heart of Cairns but far enough away so as not to hear any noise.This accommodation made Cairns an ideal base for our 6 day base. Also by staying 6 nights we got a special rate which made it very, very competitive with other establishments.

Room Tip: Ourapartment overlooked Grafton Street but it was still very quiet, it was on the first floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#42 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.2 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#50 of 85 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Central Apartments
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vaucluse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vaucluse Apartments

Property: Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Address: 141 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870 , Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vaucluse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vaucluse Apartments are located in Cairns' inner city - you are just seconds away from shopping, restaurants, entertainment, culture and business. The vibrant city of Cairns is in the heart of tropical North Queensland and provides the ideal base from which to explore in all directions. It combines the sophistication of cosmopolitan restaurants, boutique shops and casual pavement cafes with colorful open air markets in a relaxed and informal environment perfect for the intimate holiday for couples, if traveling alone a singles paradise or if on business the privacy of a self-contained apartment room with secure under cover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Vaucluse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing