We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in the center of Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good value for money in the center of Cairns”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 5 days at Villa Vaucluse and we really enjoyed the place. The manager is friendly and helpful. The apt was convenient with everything we needed. Walking distance from the center of Cairns. There is also an indoor garage. It is a fine place and good value for money. Somebody before me wrote that it is "no means Luxury". Of course it is not the Ritz Carlton but it is not the rate of the Ritz Carlton either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranckJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
57
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

There are many words used here in Australia that are used very loosely by advertisers to lure customers. Luxury is one of them.
I stayed at Villa Vaucluse recently on a trip to Cairns. The apartment was adequate, but by no means luxury. It was tired and in need of a lot of attention. The furniture has seen better days, the air con only worked on 24c or above and the washing machine was not working due to a broken hose. The overall cleanliness was ok but I did have to wash some cutlery before I used it as it was dirty. The location is excellent, especially if you are on buiness and it was very quiet at night. From the outside it gives an impression of grandeur ( as seen on the internet) but it is let down once you go inside. There is underground parking which is
free ( another word used loosely in Oz) but you have to carry your luggage up the stairs
as there is no elevator. With a little TLC this could be a little gem as the rates are very keen for this part of the world. But as I said earlier it is adequate, but definately not Luxury

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazza1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Nice sized, functional apartment lets you feel like a local. Convenient to everything in Cairns, and an incredibly helpful host (Brett) makes this an ideal place to stay. Brett booked our trips to the reef and rainforest, and pointed us in the right direction for anything else we needed/wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipfan14224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing little apartment hotel with rooms that have everything you need. Fully equipted kitchen, washingmachine, tumbler, aircondition. Very quiet and still with only 10 min walk to the Laguna and the centre. Very helpfull owner og fast WiFi. Charming poolarea.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Perfect location, spotlessly clean, nice pool and barbeque area. The manager Bret is very happy to book tours, car hire etc and provide maps and advice to help tourists make the most of their holiday in Cairns. We would definitely stay at Villa Vaucluse again and "maybe" take a trip on the Skytrain!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a great accomadation in cairns, perfect location easy walking to all the main areas within 10 minutes
They are well maintained and very very clean apartments, well run and presented including washing machine and dryer.
The manager Bret was very helpfull and will advise and arrange all your requirements.
They also have a facility that people leave things like sauces, salt, pepper,T bags! whatever when they leave for others to use

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked the apartments 'on line' mainly because of the closeness to the centre of Cairns, which enabled us to keep our car parked, unless travelling outside the city.
We had a top floor apartment which was clean and comfortable, although looking a little 'tired'
We eventually found the microwave in a cupboard under the sink and this proved a little awkward to use and we also had to clean it before use. Kitchen utensils were in short supply and included an unusable split wooden spatula. We also had a chipped plate and a couple of other items which required washing before use. The pans were not good to use as everything stuck to the base. We have no aversion to washing dishes and would never leave dirty dishes when vacating a property. However, as there was no dishwasher provided, It can only be presumed that on our arrival these had been washed by the previous occupant, using the tea towel used during their stay, which would not have been completely clean. As we had to do the same, we wonder if and when they ever get a good clean. The watered down washing up liquid did not help.
The manager was very pleasant and helpful and did bring us fresh towels midway through our ten night stay and offered us new bedding which we declined.
We appreciate these apartments are cheaper than many, but their standard is reflected in the price. Apparently booking directly on the website gets a slightly cheaper rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlegopher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#37 of 64 in Cairns
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#48 of 84 in Cairns
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vaucluse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vaucluse Apartments

Property: Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Address: 141 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vaucluse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vaucluse Apartments are located in Cairns' inner city - you are just seconds away from shopping, restaurants, entertainment, culture and business. The vibrant city of Cairns is in the heart of tropical North Queensland and provides the ideal base from which to explore in all directions. It combines the sophistication of cosmopolitan restaurants, boutique shops and casual pavement cafes with colorful open air markets in a relaxed and informal environment perfect for the intimate holiday for couples, if traveling alone a singles paradise or if on business the privacy of a self-contained apartment room with secure under cover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Vaucluse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing