We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Cairns accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cairns accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My friend and I stayed a total of 6 nights and found it a great place to stay. The room was clean and spacious and the outdoor pool very useful during the hot days! Although it is a small distance out of town, there is pick up service throughout the day and the owners are more than happy to explain the bus routes. Both Sharon and David were extremely friendly and helpful, we booked our reef and rainforest tours through them, both of which were brilliant and good value. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
David and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the local buses are very easy to catch and the bus stop is just around the corner, less than a 5 minute walk away. This is a great alternative when in between our guest shuttle times and a great way to see the Northern Beaches such as Palm Cove, The Botanical Gardens or the Cairns Zoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    198
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
125
263
44
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The owners were very nice and accommodating. They made recommendations for alternative reef exploration when they found the one we had chosen was full. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank retiredvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for writing, it is alway nice to know that guests have enjoyed their time with us and especially great when we can get them out on a great reef trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The room was large and clean. Plenty of room for the 3 of us not falling over each other. Sharon and David could not of been more helpful checking the weather conditions so as not to send you out on the reef on a windy day. There are a couple of pub's within easy walking distance for dinner so we didn't bother cooking the entire time we stayed. Reasonably priced accommodation I would stay again if back in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs suite if available if you do not like stairs !!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travaler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather for the Reef can be tricky which is why we recommend that our guests book on arrival so we can check the weather for them. The weather this week has been wonderful for the Reef, calm water and no wind which was in direct contrast to last week with 25 knot plus winds making Reef trips challenging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Large clean room with everything I could have needed for my stay. Nice swimming pool area too. Less than a 20 minute walk from the town centre made it a lovely place to stay. Sharon, David and all the rest of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I was too early to check-in on my first day but it was no problem atall to freshen up, leave my baggage and go into town. I was even offered a beach towel to use at the Lagoon and was given a map and directions. Sharon helped me booked all the trips I wanted to do and always enquired how my day went. I had an early domestic flight but it was not a problem for David to take my to the airport earlier than the advertised time for the free shuttle bus they provide. The personal service really made it for me and was touched that David said that his guests being happy makes him happy. Really excellent stay and I would definatly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishlover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
I admire guests who travel the world on their own and David and I love to hear about their days out on tour, it not only gives us feed back on the tours we are recommending, but also allows us to share in the experience you have had. David was happy to accommodate your slightly earlier departure to the airport as we didn't have any other 8am drop offs to do. We hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nice clean rooms and good size. Kitchen has two hot plates, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. Signs warn that you are responsible for the fire service fee of $987 if you set off the smoke alarm with your cooking and as it is located in same room this may not be too difficult. The Motel is on the flight path of the airport (as is much of Cairns depending on the wind direction) so early morning flights seem to start about 06.00 but we didn't hear any after 22.00. Cleaners do not wash up dishes but cleaning materials are provided. The rooms are not serviced either apart from replacing clean towels, tea and coffee and taking out the rubbish (rubbish is not cleared at weekends either) so this may be a problem for longer stays. Fresh milk is provided on check in. Free parking is available but not enough for all rooms so in peak season you may have to find a spot on the road which shouldn’t be too difficult. Good location for airport and a nice walk along the sea front is only 100m away. The guest laundry has 3 machines and costs $3 to wash and $3 to dry. The windows are not double glazed so there is some noise from the road especially from 07.00 as people go to work. Ceiling fans and air con worked well to keep room comfortable.

Room Tip: Second floor room we had seemed to have been refurbished and had a leather couch. We noticed some fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Just to clarify the servicing arrangements at Reef Palms, we service Monday - Saturday. Our housekeepers replenish room supplies, replace towels if required, remove rubbish and make beds if no personal belongings are on the bed. We do not service Sundays or Public Holidays however we keep fresh towels etc at reception in case they are needed. We provide detergent and teatowels to allow guests who are self catering to wash up their dishes as you are correct, this is not a service we provide in self contained studios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The room was spacious and clean, with a kitchen and a spa. You have to walk 3 km to be in Cairns center, but there is a free pick up to go there.
The woman (Sharon) at reception was not nice, and unprofessionnal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Our spa rooms are very nice, so even though you were only with us overnight, I am please you enjoyed your room. Unfortunately, we were not able to offer a pick up service from the airport and I am sorry if you were annoyed about this however it is not something we have ever offered in the past. We do offer an airport drop off service at various times during the day as shown on our board in reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

A very comfortable venue in Cairns about a twenty minute walk or $12 taxi ride into the city centre. We stayed one night on the way to our next destination and two nights on the way back, both were comfortable and clean; we did lack living space as an extra bed had been placed into the room to accommodate three singles but this was fine for us for the short time frame. Its not fancy but is a really good place to stay.
Service over all was great though there were some glitches that were surprising but overall really pleasing.
A very nice pool and a rather cramped but pleasant BBQ area.
We went out to the GBR and had the best day on one of the big cruise boats, but were told by one very helpful taxi driver that you can head out to Fitzroy reef and snorkle for around $50 not confirmed...we will check that out on our next Cairns stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your email. David and I are happy you enjoyed your stay and your trip to the Great Barrier Reef. Ferry transfers to Fitzroy Island are $69 pp, I haven't heard of any for $50 but will do some investigating as well. Hope you can come back and stay again in this great part of Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing