We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reef Palms accommodation, highly recommended. We had a great time while staying with David, Sharon and rest of the crew.”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reef Palms accommodation, highly recommended. We had a great time while staying with David, Sharon and rest of the crew.”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in Reef Palms for 7 nights for the first week of March 2013, to start with what you would write at the end of a review; "Yes we will return, great value and very friendly".
The room we had (ground-floor) was great, everything what you need is there, in general very quiet and relaxing.
Location wise "yes, it is a bit out of town 15 minutes walk for middle aged people (50+) but the motel offers courtesy drop-offs to the city several times a day and public transport is only ~5 min away ($5.60 for couples will take you to the bus transfer station) or a taxi ride ~$12.
The drop-off service to the airport on the day of departure (which is sad on its own) takes the stress away for organising shuttle services or taxi's, once more a great service offered by Reef Palms.
The pool is great to cool down especially when you go in the first three months of the year when temperatures and humidity are high, we made use of it every day.
Tours can be organised via Reef Palms, David, Sharon and the other ladies at the reception desk are very knowledgeable and helpful, the train trip to Kuranda and back with the Sky Rail are recommended it was a great day out and well worth the money.
A big thank you to David and ????? (sorry forgot your name), for looking after my wife when she was bitten by sandflies, that makes you choose Reef Palms above any of the other motels/hotels...they look after their customers as they would look after there own.
Belinda (daughter of David and Sharon) and Nick (partner) are a positive addition to the outstanding crew of Reef Palms, with lots of smiles, laughter, kindness and patience we wish you both the best while settling into your new surroundings.
It's great to have this experience with Reef Palms as it makes organising our next trip to Cairns so much easier because we know where we will stay .....at Reef Palms Motel.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the pool on the ground-floor, great location in and out of the pool quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wissefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just like to treat our guests the way we would like to be treated when we travel. Our tropical weather means that subburn and mozzies are a way of life here so we always keep a range of remedies for our guests. The weather has cooled down now and we are heading into the Easter Weekend with some lovely mild weather. It was wonderful meeting you and David and I are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. Have a wonderful 2013 and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    202
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
137
267
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Reef Palms for 5 nights, and found that all the positive reviews were right, with David and Sharon being warm, friendly, helpful and efficient. Since they took over the motel only 2 years ago, you can ignore any older less positive reviews.

Sharon gave us good advice in getting us the best combination of deals for our visits to the Great Barrier Reef and Kuranda Rail / Skyrail, and I would recommend booking through the motel.

We had a Spa room on the 2nd floor (no lift - not advised if you have issues with stairs) which was large, clean and fully equipped with kettle, fridge and microwave, and serviced every couple of days.

The motel is situated out of the main city area in a semi-residential street in Cairns North, which is a $10 taxi ride from The Esplanade. There are regular buses on Sheridan Street, one block away by the Bendigo Bank (with ATM), and cost $2.80 per person for a ride into the centre of Cairns.

David & Sharon run a minibus service from the motel into central Cairns at set times during the day, as well as to the reef terminal for tours organised through them, and a morning shuttle to the airport for your outgoing flight, unless it's very early in the morning like ours was.

As has been previously mentioned, there was aircraft noise from early in the morning, as the location is close to the flight path from the airport, but was not sufficiently intrusive to wake us fully.

We are happy to have made the right choice for us by staying at Reef Palms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloopjohnb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hello from Australia and thank you for your comprehensive review. It is always good to receive this type of feedback as David and I are always trying to refine guest services to better serve our client's needs. We recently increased our city drop off services to drop guests into the city more often and it is via our trip advisor site feedback that helps us make things better. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. David labels me the Tour Queen because I am passionate about making sure our guests get to see exactly what they want while they are here. There are so many different ways to see this beautiful region and I can pretty much arrange anything. Take care and we hope that you will again have the opportunity to visit Australia in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at reef palms January 2013 owners Sharon and Dave could not do enough for their guests.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Shuttle into cairns centre runs 4 times daily also shuttle to airport.
Sharon can book trips to the reef for you , had a fantastic time on the silver swift boat, highly recommend this trip!
Overall friendly atmosphere and excellent accommodation and services.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Travel254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
It is always lovely to have our UK visitors come stay with us, it is very hot in Cairns at present so the weather can be a little bit of a shock for visitors who have come from the winter chill of UK, USA or Europe at this time of year. A cold beer and a swim in our warm water seems to relax most guests. The trips to the Reef and Rainforests are wonderful at present, we have had just enough rain to refresh the rainforests so everything is lush and beautiful. I just love Cairns, David and I have lived here for two years now since we bought the motel business and we love the scenery, people and the relaxed lifestyle here. David and I really enjoy helping our guests make the most of their stay and encourage them to see as much as they can in the time available. After all, you can always sleep when you go home! Hope to see you again in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Reef Palms in mid Nov 2012 for a week while on a 6 week tour of Australia . This was by far the best stay of our trip . We were made to feel right at home and our every request was met in a friendly , efficient professional manner . Whether it was a free shuttle to downtown , car rental arrangements , recommendations for dining , or arranging for a visit to the Great Barrier Reef ... all done to perfection . We are very experienced world travellers and not often do we extend praise as we expect service for money paid but at the Reef Palms they go over and above what is expected . Do not bother to look further while in Cairns .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you, your comments mean a lot to us. This is exactly the atmosphere we hope all our guests feel when they stay at Reef Palms, our guest's comfort, welcome, and the way our staff interact with them is the most important aspect of our business. Too many times David and I have stayed in resorts and motels only to feel like a nameless face, travelling is a wonderful adventure but it can also be daunting to land in a foreign location and try to figure out what to do and where to go. To say Reef Palms was like a home away from home is the highest praise you could extend to us - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights in an spa suite on the top level with a balcony, room was well appointed with cooktop & microwave for cooking needs, Bed was very comfy and the aircon was a definate plus as temps sky rocketed during our stay! Location was good,only a 5 min drive to the cbd, Restaurants are close by and within walking distance. Sharon & David where probably the friendliest and nicest Hotel owners we have met!! So easy to talk to and always offering advice on places to eat,tours and value for money. In such a cut throat market where the customer is spoiled for choice for accomodation in Cairns the Reef Palms stands out as great value for money and service that is VERY rare these days! Well done Sharon & David!! . people could learn alot from you as you definatly set your place apart from others!!

Room Tip: The only slight and i mean slight let down was the planes flying over head but you get that no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank guys, it was great to be able to help you make the most of your stay and we really appreciate your review. Our philosophy is that we want to make sure our guests get value for money. We won't recommend expensive tours when you can hire a car and drive places, we'd rather you spend your money on a great reef trip - after all, you cannot drive on water to see the coral! We are stilll finding fantastic local eating places, just this week one couple brought back a fantastic local Thai menu for us - we love it when our guests help us increase our local knowledge as this benefits everyone who stays with us. Take care and come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proserpine
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife Carmen and I recently stayed at the Reef Palms for a couple of nights and were very happy with every aspect of the motel. When I am looking for somewhere to stay I always read the reviews as that usually tells you about the place. We were not disappointed, Nice people and handy to everything. Have no hesitation in recommending David & Sharon's motel to anyone.
Paul & Carmen Flanagan.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you Paul and Carmen, it's always good to know that we are satifying our local guests needs as well as our international clientale. We like everyone to feel Reef Palms is a home away from home and you are not just guests but new friends to be welcomed back each time you stay with us. P.S. how is the weather in Proserpine?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Great apartment for three. Comfortable double bed and well-equipped kitchen. Our college-age daughter had a single bed in a separate area near the apt door. She enjoyed the semi-privacy. Groceries 10-min walk away; we ate dinners in. Need bus to center city or 30-min walk along ocean walkway. Pick-up right out front for any day trips you have planned. Free shuttle to (but not from) airport. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Best place we stayed during our 4-city tour of Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
It was great to have the three of you stay with us and thank you for your kind words. January has been a very busy month at Reef Palms with many international guests coming to escape the their cold climates. Because it is hot, we have increased our shuttle drops to the city centre and our new 2.30 and 4.30 service to the city is very popular. I imagine the weather back in your home is considerably colder than here! Thank you again, everyone's reviews, good or not so good only help us improve our service. Take care and have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing