We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, affordable place for a stopover”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, affordable place for a stopover”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a one-night stopover between Cape Trib and a flight to our next destination. While we arrived early evening and left by 9am the next morning, it was a wonderful choice for our needs.

The Reef-Palms is not "fancy" but the charm and friendliness of the owners and great location are what is important. The rooms are mini-apartments, with basic cooking facilities. Had we stayed for a few days, it would be an excellent choice to use as "home" while we took day trips.

I realized that I needed to go to the front desk to get the code for internet access. The office was closed for the evening, but one of the owners (?) was kind enough to open and give me a code right away.

It is a bit away from the "center" of town, which seems to be the Lagoon. However, this is a major "plus." We went into town for dinner and the area is typically touristy, with the local teens hanging out. It might be too noisy and busy to be right in the middle of it all.

If we are lucky enough to be back in the area, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you, we'd love to have you come back and stay and we are pleased you liked your visit to Australia. Take care and come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    209
    50
    11
    13
See reviews for
141
279
46
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I recently had 2 nights here, and it really is a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean, and nicely decorated. Our room had a double and single bed, and I would love to know what sort of beds they are, because they are soooo comfortable! I also must say that I loved the pillows too, as I find many places the pillows are way too thick and give me a sore neck. The location suited us well, as we were doing a course near the airport, and then flying out the following day, and I think being a little distance away from the esplanade make for a quiter stay. My only criticism would be the shower...... Although it is quite large (which I love), the lack of water pressure and inconsistent water temperature made showering a bit of a pain. Had it not been for this small problem, I wouldn't hesitate to give this place a 5 out of 5, because it is still really good value for money. Thanks David and Sharon, I'm sure we'll be back :-).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
We believe that sleep comfort is what a motel should be about, after all if we don't give our guests a good night's sleep, they wouldn't be happy in the morning. The secret of our comfortable beds is our mattress toppers - we recently have put these on all beds at Reef Palms and many guests comment on them. Sorry about the water pressure, I guess because David and I get up so early to shower we haven't noticed a problem, we'll get our plumber to have a look at the pressure in the complex to see if we can fix any problem. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
majorca
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a nice place to stay. Its only 10 mins from the airport so very handy if your on a stopover. The rooms are clean and comfortable and a really nice size. There is a kitchette. laundry and a lovely little pool. I would definatly recommend this place,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seychelles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We try to make our guests as comfortable as we can. David and I hope to see you again in the future if you pass our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

this hotel was a good size for our family of 4. 2 double and 1 single bed. the rooms were well equipped. Bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, soap and shaving cream. Kitchen had washing up liquid and cloths. very comfatable and quiet. Coffee and tea provided. Very friendly staff.
Only downside is its a good 20 minute walk to centre, but they do provide a free shuttle bus . Its a lovely walk back along the Esplanade.
Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the end by the pool, very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, David and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room. We have recently replaced our cane lounges with modern leather seating which has certainly changed the look of our rooms. We hope we can welcome you back to stay again when and if you travel to Cairns again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Reef Palms in mid April. The rooms were tidy and maintained. The air con worked well, as did the fans. Basic cutlery and crockery were supplied and washing up equipment. The beds were made, even when I didn't ask and were very comfortable. David was happy to drive a shuttle into town at specified times and this was appreciated as it is a bit of a walk or ~$10 taxi.

A great pub....The Cock n Bull is a 6 minute walk away and served great food, with good ambience and well attended by families, couples, tourists and locals.

The BBQ looked great and smelt yum when people used it, on several occasions. The pool looked good, tho smallish but we never used it.

The tours offered were pretty much what was on offer elsewhere and they were happy to book them for you.

I thoroughly recommend the Reef Palms for families, couples and anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the west side (main road side) though its about 200m away, noise wasn't a drama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for writing, David and I really appreciate it. We'd love to have you come back to stay again. We have just returned from a couple of days break on the Atherton Tablelands so we could visit some of the attractions up there. We had a great time visiting the Herberton Historical Village and some of the Dairies making their own cheese and chocolates - YUM!! We also visited one of the large coffee plantations and the view from the deck as we sipped our coffee was amazing. We will definitely be encouraging our guests to hire a car and visit this amazing region or book on one of my favourite trips - The Food Trail Tour
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooloo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at Reef Palms during a conference, having stayed in the CBD on previous trips we knew we wanted a quieter place and found it at Reef Palms. One bed studio apartment was extremely clean and well appointed and a very comfy bed. Loved having a balcony to sit outside and unwind. Excellent pool and a VERY powerful spa. Some slight traffic noise, however we prefer to sleep with windows open - if we had used aircon then noise would be much less - it was not an issue and we slept well here!
Friendly and welcoming hosts, very helpful and accommodating. Walk into town took around 25 minutes along the esplanade, the hosts offer a free regular shuttle service into town several times a day which we used when it rained. David and Sharon also offer an airport shuttle service - you don't get that everywhere, and you definitely do not get the friendly service we experienced at Reef Palms everywhere.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, it offers unbelievable value for money - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always our wish to provide our guests with a home away from home and friendly service. We find when travelling, while exciting, it can be tiring to keep moving from place to place so we love to try to make everyone feel like they are coming home when they arrive with us. We love to hear about your day and are very interested to learn about your home. We have met some wonderful people who have stayed with us and have enjoyed many a shared experience with our guests. Take care and if you travel this way again, we'd love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The second hotel on our trip to Australia with a 10 out of 10 score. We were welcomed like old friends and made to feel completely at home.
The reception area had loads of tourist information and trip details. The owners knowledge on trips and recommends was second to none.
We had a most wonderful time and someday I am sure we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for writing. Honestly, David and I just like to treat all our guests the same way we would like to be treated when we travel. Our aim is to make you feel like you are coming home each evening and we love to hear about your day. It is always great when we have booked a tour that you have enjoyed. We hope to see you again if you visit Cairns. Take care and it was lovely to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing