We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was the best motel we found during our 2 month tour from Sydney to Cairns. Large rooms with balcony, well furnished, well equipped kitchenettes and excellent laundry facilities. Staff were very helpful and thoughtful, even served us a breakfast tray for our 4am departure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

It is always nice to know that our lovely guests have had a great time with us. We are always looking at ways to improve our property. Thank you for writing and we hope your extended stay in Australia was a memorable trip. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Reef Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a great place to stay. Kudos to Dave & Sharon and all that they do for you when you are staying there (and their darling daughter) ! Sharon lined us up with Tusa Diving and also a trip
to the rain forest to Kuranda. Highly recommend to all !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseDirectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

It was great to meet the four of you and learn about your travel business! You travel and stay in a lot of places so your review is valued by David and I. We hope that you visit us again in the future and that the Great Barrier Reef captured your hearts as it has ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, we would have stayed here longer if we had been staying in Cairns. as it was we stayed here one night as the stArt of our trip through Queensland. The room had everything you would need and more. The finishing touch was chilled glasses and wine glasses in the fridge and a jug of chilled water! the room had efficient air con and a ceiling fan. the swiMming pool was beautiful- natural rock formed pool surrounded by lovely greenery.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

It was lovely of you to write and we thank you, we do try hard to provide a comfortable environment for our guests and it is appreciated very much when you take the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Reef Palms overnight at the start of a trip across Queensland. The only regret that we could not stay longer at this lovely little hotel.

The hotel was bright and very welcoming as we're the owners. It was only a few minutes walk to local shops and the room had plenty of facilities to avoid the need to eat out. A surprising bonus was the swimming pool; small but beautifully appointed with tropical trees.

This will definitely be our first choice next time we visit the equally surpassing and lovely Cairns. I cannot honestly think of anything negative to say!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank stevecornforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you, David and I hope you are enjoying your trip around Queensland. The weather has been very wet and windy here but it looks like it is clearing now so hope it hasn't impacted on your visit too much. We hope you will stay with us again when next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Reef Palms is a wonderful motel to stay at whilst travelling in Cairns. The rooms are clean and tidy, they're also very spacious, and are self contained, so you have the facilities for making dinner etc if you wish.
From the motel its about a 5-10 min drive into town, and approximately the same to the airport.
Sharon and David the owners of the motel, are more than wonderful. They go out of their way to help you choose the right tours, catering to your interests and needs. Its nice to come back to the motel, or to head to brekkie in the morning, and see a smiling face to say hello.
I really cannot give enough praise to Sharon and David, they really made the experience wonderful, and I would definitley recommend this motel to anyone travelling to Cairns.
I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

And it was lovely to see your smiling faces each day! You made the best of the weather conditions and made the most of your trips each day and we enjoyed hearing about your adventures. You certainly helped the local economy by shopping up a storm at the glass shops, hope all your purchases made it home OK. Hope mum's back is holding up, she was a definite trouper though I think you she will need a holiday from her holiday. We'd love to see you again, there is always a warm welcome for you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a one-night stopover between Cape Trib and a flight to our next destination. While we arrived early evening and left by 9am the next morning, it was a wonderful choice for our needs.

The Reef-Palms is not "fancy" but the charm and friendliness of the owners and great location are what is important. The rooms are mini-apartments, with basic cooking facilities. Had we stayed for a few days, it would be an excellent choice to use as "home" while we took day trips.

I realized that I needed to go to the front desk to get the code for internet access. The office was closed for the evening, but one of the owners (?) was kind enough to open and give me a code right away.

It is a bit away from the "center" of town, which seems to be the Lagoon. However, this is a major "plus." We went into town for dinner and the area is typically touristy, with the local teens hanging out. It might be too noisy and busy to be right in the middle of it all.

If we are lucky enough to be back in the area, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you, we'd love to have you come back and stay and we are pleased you liked your visit to Australia. Take care and come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I recently had 2 nights here, and it really is a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean, and nicely decorated. Our room had a double and single bed, and I would love to know what sort of beds they are, because they are soooo comfortable! I also must say that I loved the pillows too, as I find many places the pillows are way too thick and give me a sore neck. The location suited us well, as we were doing a course near the airport, and then flying out the following day, and I think being a little distance away from the esplanade make for a quiter stay. My only criticism would be the shower...... Although it is quite large (which I love), the lack of water pressure and inconsistent water temperature made showering a bit of a pain. Had it not been for this small problem, I wouldn't hesitate to give this place a 5 out of 5, because it is still really good value for money. Thanks David and Sharon, I'm sure we'll be back :-).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

We believe that sleep comfort is what a motel should be about, after all if we don't give our guests a good night's sleep, they wouldn't be happy in the morning. The secret of our comfortable beds is our mattress toppers - we recently have put these on all beds at Reef Palms and many guests comment on them. Sorry about the water pressure, I guess because David and I get up so early to shower we haven't noticed a problem, we'll get our plumber to have a look at the pressure in the complex to see if we can fix any problem. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers for now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing