We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay after landing in Cairns if next driving to Daintree region”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good place to stay after landing in Cairns if next driving to Daintree region”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Self-catered small apartment is clean and comfortable, well-priced, and convenient to airport. Simple continental breakfast is tasty. Sherry and David are very nice owners. Nice 30 minute walk to the wharf area, or can of course drive. We stayed here as an easy place to land before driving the next day to the Daintree rain forest, but it would also be a good place for family to base if they opted Cairns as a a base without a car. Internet is available. Stairs to second floor rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerSFBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed your time in Daintree. The weather has been a little challenging with some rain lately which was not expected however the rainforests are looking marvellous. Am still sitting here in Teeshirt and shorts although I must confess to putting on a sweatshirt the other night for the first time in 18 months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    202
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
137
267
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Arriving after midnight from overseas a quick taxi ride found me at the Reef Palms Motel. I followed the helpful directions for those arriving after hours and was soon in my room enjoying a good night's sleep. The room/apartment had everything I needed. I am surprised by the reference to the staff being rude. The husband and wife owners were at all times helpful. I was both delighted and surprised by the free lift to the airport for my ongoing flight. The lift was provided by the owner who seemed genuinely delighted to be of service to guests. The motel is located in a peaceful part of Cairns within easy walking access to the city. Although known more for its outdoor activities visitors interested in history will enjoy the local museum and the unique stain glass in the Catholic Cathedral.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for writing. Yes, David loves taking our guests in our shuttle, it gives him a chance to have a chat which he thoroughly enjoys. When you are on business in the region again, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The stay in the hotel was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. Rooms are big and tidy. The breakfast is nice. My stay was comfortable and relaxing. It is near the coast and drops are easily available.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaniz1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
It is always a pleasure to have guests stay with us from India and we thank you for writing. David and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Cairns with us and hope that you enjoyed your time in Australia. If you or your family come to Cairns again, we would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The room was fine, clean and reasonably well-equipped (except the first room were given did not have a room safe in a ground floor room, adjacent to the parking lot and with a window that did not lock). The communal bbq area was nice, and it is a short walk to the shore and the boardwalk that leads into town. It is located in north Cairns which is a tired area without much in the way of amenities. There were 2 of us, so walking outside after dark was fine, but I am not sure I would have walked alone there after dark. It is also in the flight path of the airport (for take-off), but there are not that many flights per day.
When we asked for a room with a room safe (as advertised, and paid for), we were subjected to a verbal tirade by Sharon, the owner. The young lady who works there in the evenings seemed to be embarrassed by this unprofessional outburst, and it was she who subsequently "talked" to Sharon and miraculously they did find another room for us that was fully-equipped.

As a paying customer, I did not find the owner's behaviour to be acceptable. While her behaviour was decent during the rest of our stay, she never apologized for her rude outburst, and in future I will take my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhodnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Normally, I take all comments on board and try to respond in a positive way however in this instance I am going to talk about how guests sometimes approach us at check in. I found you rude and agressive. When I advised that the safe had to be removed to be rekeyed because a previous guest had lost the key and we could put your valuables into our house safe as we were fully booked that night you were less than pleasant. Sometimes these situations arise and are beyond our control. After you went to your room, I checked our arrivals who had not checked in yet and upgraded you to a Spa Studio that did have a safe. I understand that guests sometimes are tired by the time they arrive and can be upset when they cannot have what they want however we do our utmost to try to accommodate all requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a great value self catering motel. Reception can t do enough for you and we were there at a busy holiday weekend. The rooms are spotlessly clean and plenty big enough, and they don t charge the earth. Parking is free. There s a small pool but you re only 2km from Cairn s lagoon and minutes away from the Esplanade. The airport is just 5km away so no long hauls back and forth. Very good value.

Room Tip: They re all good. Quiet location but just two blocks back from Captain Cook Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for writing, Dave and I are glad you had a nice stay with us and hope that you will come again. The weather has been a little windy and rainy which has proved a bit of a challenge for our guests trying to see the Reef, hopefully the next few days will see the wind die down. The rainforests have had a good drop of rain now and are looking fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I can't go on about how friendly and caring this staff was during our short stay. I was ill during this time and they assisted with finding medical help and offering comforts during this time. I really appreciated the staff-- I'm sure they were ready for me to leave :). It is decently far from the city center- so do not plan on walking-- plan on a taxi or taking advantage of their shuttle service. The rooms were extremely clean and suitable. I loved the kitchen and how large the 3 person rooms were-- it gave us room to spread out and kept me from getting anyone else sick! If you're looking for somewhere to stay before your overnight dive trips, I'd say this is a great location as long as you are not planning on staying out super late and needing a taxi cab-- it costs about $20 to get back from the city center

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for writing. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and weren't sick again. You made the most of your stay with trips to the Reef and drives into the rainforest so you certainly got to see some great places while you were here. Take care and hope you enjoy fond memories of your stay in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The place was ok we stayed there for 2 night in one room that I did not like so much then another night before flying back home and that one was a bit better.
But... but... too far from the city... 20-30- min of a good walk.... and I like being in the middle of the action.
The staff was okay a bit bitter...
Best recommendation... stay north of Cairns in a smaller town.

Room Tip: Trial and error...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
David and I found your review a little confusing, you were disappointed that you were not staying in the hub but then recommend staying north of Cairns even further away from the centre of town. On all our sites where our motel is offered, we do advise that we are 2km from the city centre and that it is a 20 minute walk into the city or a 5 minute bus ride. If you want to stay right in the city centre then there are a number of large hotels that offer rooms however their room rates reflect their central position.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing